We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel with excellent spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Potrero, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
“Nice modern hotel with excellent spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Nice pools and bar, very comfortable modern rooms, excellent massage. Son (9) slept very comfortably on sofa bed in master suite. Convenient to la fortuna if you have a car. Restaurant is fine but make sure to go into town for at least one dinner. Enjoyed ecoglide zip line, pure trek canyoning, and unique mini golf - fun for three generations of family - on left as enter la fortuna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    279
    48
    16
    14
See reviews for
298
668
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights here as part of our Collette Vacations tour of Costa Rica. The rooms were very modern with a great shower. Happy hour was very good and the bartender was very accomodating. The restaurant was good but not spectacular. The various pools were wonderful with different temperatures and all fed by the hot springs. But on our last night there was a private holiday party and the noise form this party was deafening. The staff apoligized but did nothing to end the "music".

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had great views of sunrise over Arenal volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visited Costa Rica during the green, or "rainy" season, which I highly recommend. Nothing was too crowded, we got great deals, and we didn't have too much rain throughout the trip. The one negative part about coming during the rainy season is the fog- particularly because the fog prevents you from enjoying the beautiful Volcano views. This is in no part the fault of the hotel- but I'm not sure I would have gone to great lengths to find a room with a view, if the view wasn't even available.

The room was nice- spacious, clean, comfortable- and overall the hotel was good- nice hot springs fed pools and very helpful staff. The one negative was the food- there was one full service restaurant with a restaurant/bar upstairs that we didn't choose to visit, and a pool bar. The full service restaurant left a lot to be desired. It was not close enough to town to walk, but we were able to take a cheap cab to town for lunch a couple of days and to walk around, as well as across from Baldi Hot Springs, which we visited one rainy day.

Definitely a good choice- and a great value for what you get during the off season.

Room Tip: All rooms have a volcano view- can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just left the Royal Corin after two nights there, and we could have stayed longer. The hotel is relatively new and very beautiful. It has a spa-like feel throughout. The rooms are very modern with sleek interiors and spacious bathrooms. We got a master suite, which is a very special room. There is a king bed, a modular couch, a desk, a sunken jacuzzi with a tv in it, and a fireplace in the center with a large flat screen tv that can swivel around so that you can watch it from the living room area or bed. It looks exactly as it does in their pictures.

The bathroom in the suite was very large, with two sinks, a separate toilet area, and a huge shower with a rain shower head and side jets. I am personally not a big fan of that type of shower head, but it looks beautiful and gives plenty of water for the shower head. My only complaint is that the lighting was terrible for a woman who wants to be able to put on makeup. Also, the blow dryer is tiny, so you may want to bring your own.

Our friends had a junior suite, and it was a little smaller, but also spacious and lovely. I peeked at a regular room as housekeeping was cleaning and it looked nice, but just a regular-sized room. The suites were not much more expensive, so if they are available, I recommend them.

The staff was very nice and helpful. Julio, at the front desk, was especially helpful in arranging tours for us. Weather was definitely an issue--it rained almost the entire time we were there--so we appreciated his guidance, and he changed our plans several times with a smile. FYI--take his advice--he knows what he is talking about.

We did the Sky Trek/Sky Tram zip line, which was crazy!!! It is an incredible setting, and we were actually able to see the volcano for a brief stop in the clouds/rain, and it was quite beautiful. The zip lines are not for the faint of heart. I was very close to backing out because they are very high and scary, but I am glad that I did it (with the help of one of the guides--we went tandem). The guides are wonderful there and make you feel very safe--thanks Milton!!

The rest of our group (the men/boys) also did the Ecoglide Canopy tour, too, and they said it was very fun, but much more tame. That one was much closer to the hotel, too, although the views were not the same.

We also did the horseback riding up the volcano, which was fun, but we couldn't see the volcano because it was pouring rain by the time we reached the viewing area. Better to do that when the weather is better.

Others at the front desk arranged for reservations and transportation into La Fortuna for dinner. Nene's was a much more authentic Costa Rican dinner experience than the hotel restaurant. There was a mix of tourists and locals, and the food was pretty good overall.

The hotel restaurant was okay, but uneven. The service was lacking just about every time we were there. At one lunch, half our group (of 7) got our food, and then the rest didn't get the food until 15-20 minutes later, and we ended up late for our transfer. Some of the food was good, but one of the dinners was inedible and sent back (they removed it from the bill).

The pools/hot springs really made this a special place. First, the tile work in the pools (and all over the hotel) was really incredible. The hot springs were wonderful after coming back in from the rain (and cold!). We went at night, too, which was great. The swim-up bar was so nice, and we even ate a quick lunch there one of the days. As others have said, there are different pools of different temperatures, plus many hot tubs. We even discovered a giant sauna near the upper hot tubs, which was the largest I have ever seen.

If you have time, you should definitely try the spa. The massages there were great, and there is a more private jacuzzi in the changing area. Make sure you hit the Lava Bar on the 5th floor, too. It's a cool room with great views.

As many others have said, you often cannot see the volcano because you are in the middle of a rainforest, but if you can, you are perfectly situated right across from it.

All in all, I highly recommend the Royal Corin.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a master suite!! All the rooms look at the volcano, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed one night at the Royal Corin, and it was fantastic. In the words of my husband "best pool ever". After a day of hiking and ziplining, we were exhausted and sore - so it was amazing to get into the main pool which was basically a large hot tub. There were other pools of different temperatures, but we liked the main one best. We almost fell asleep because it was so relaxing!

The room was very modern and had nice views of the hotel pools/springs. The room was quite comfortable, and the bathroom was gorgeous with a large shower with several options for jets or rain flow showerhead.

The maids left a dessert for turndown service, which was a nice touch. I thought the staff in general was very helpful and friendly, at least at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel staff was indifferent from the start but the restaurant was awful. They gave us the wrong sandwich at lunch and shrugged it off when we told them and charged us for it. We did not complain to management but while at check out they asked us about the stay we did tell them. At which point a manager named Roy came out from back, stopped the person at front desk from issuing us a credit and then went on to attack us about why we had paid earlier and had we not noticed it relier. He was rude and given that we spent $300 per night on the room, very petty and combative about a 12 dollar sandwich. It definately ruined our morning and we would not recommend this hotel to anyone as the service is a big part of a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, General Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are really sorry that you felt offended by Mr. Roy Cerdas, he just wanted to solve the inconvenience with the extra charge of $12. He just made the normal procedures for a refund and he did not commit any disrespected act to you.

Randall Araya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, Calif
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we entered the hotel and were greeted with a delicious refreshing drink, we knew this was going to be the hotel for us. The open air lobby is beautifully decorated and maintained with views of lush gardens and pools. The front desk concierge provided all the benefits of our stay including breakfast (Costa Rican style dishes) and wi-fi or use of their computers. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated and clean. The view of the volcano from our room and patio was breathtaking. The warm pools are beautifully designed throughout the huge property to appear as if they are natural. Each one has different temperatures and experiences. The restaurant dishes were all well prepared although a bit pricey, however the convenience after an exhaustind day was worth it. The location is a short $8 taxi ride to town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.