We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I upgraded to a master suite, which was fantastic. All of the hotel facilities were very good. Many prior comments refer to lousy service, but I felt that everyone was quite friendly. I didn't think much of the restaurant - we both felt that they were shooting for a five-star menu but only managed to pull off mediocre. Unfortunately the prices reflect a five-star restaurant for the area. We wound up eating in Fortuna every day after our first, and were much happier with that arrangement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    284
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
305
680
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardena, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with beautiful heated pools and spas. I loved the ability to swim at night and stay warm. The swim up pool bar was great. Staff were friendly and very tried their best to make things comfortable. I appreciated the free wifi. The restuarant was okay. Breakfast was good, but dinner was a bit overpriced and did not have as much variety as I would have wished. Would have been better if some of the lunch items could also be on the dinner menu.

I also wish that there had been a shuttle to the town.

However over all I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Location was great, only a $7 cab to town. Rooms and grounds were very clean. Pools were wonderful. Service was very lacking. Not sure what all the other reviewers saw when rating service so highly, however EVERYONE we spoke with said same thing about not so good service. One other traveller made the following statement, "the service is reactive not proactive." I could not agree more. This was a consistent theme from bartenders to front desk to waiters. However, the one amazing stand out was the spa staff.
One night a bartender overcharged and then when I brought it up he "corrected" by overcharging another item. We paid bill and deducted difference from his tip. Was too tired to keep going through it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We really appreciate your comments, it is very important to know the feedback from our clients to improve in all the areas. One of the strong points of the hotel is the customer service and since the hotel open this has been the reason why many clients visit the hotel, we are sorry that you feel the opposite during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and the service was excellent. We stayed for our honeymoon for 3 nights and spent 2 full days relaxing by the pool and enjoying the view. We we not interested in doing any excursions just a relaxing time. (however there were many excursions offered if interested).This place was perfect! The pool and landscaping was beautiful. Our favorite part was the pina colada's...best we ever had! The restaurant food was very good and we would highly recommend this place for couples looking for a few days of relaxation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

excellent hotel and staff! location is magnificent, highly recommend! plenty of outdoor activities for the nature lovers out there in the arenal volcano region, sports like kayaking, canyoning, river rafting, zip lining , etc., are plentiful here, we were pleasantly surprised with the natural beauty,also the locals are very hospitable and pleasant, we felt safe the whole time we were in the country, not always the case as i have been to several other less developed nations, the only con's i would say is be prepared to drive on tiny winding roads if you are driving, and choose the season well, as we experienced non-stop drizzle, rain and cloudiness on our 4 day trip to this beautiful country, the do accept dollars as well and payment with credit/debit cards are widely accepted in most locations :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After staying in Montezuma for 8 nights of wonder and awe, my husband decided to leave our vacation home a day early to go hike the Arenal Volcano and we stayed at this wonderful hotel. We have no complaints at all. Service was exceptional as soon as we parked. The staff helped with our luggage in the parking lot and then proceeded to give us a warm towlet to wipe our hands with and a complimentary fruit drink served in a champagne glass. The hot pools fueled by the volcano were wonderful as also was the complimentary breakfast the next morning that was made for a king. Room was totally modern including how to use the shower, lights and toilet. We also ordered an appetizer from room service and it was extremely quick and delicious. Thanks, Jen

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room available which happened to be on the 3rd. floor looking directly out at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel royal Corin-excellent service, great happy hour 6-9pm everyday. Sweet treat in room every evening. Every room with a magnificent view of the Arenal Volcano. Staff very attentive with helping us book excursions. Food was delicious in the hotel. Recommend booking the atv tour with Augustine. All excursions were booked through the hotel. Very professional, punctual, and let me not leave out friendly. The swim up bar is beautiful. This hotel gets 5 stars!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.