We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$295 (USD)
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was our honeymoon so we booked a Master Suite room. I believe there are only 6 rooms of this type in the center of the building. We were on the 4th floor so we did hear the bar above cleaning up from around 10pm to 10:30pm. It wasn't overly loud, but if noise is of concern book on the 3rd floor. The master suite generally costs between $175 to $263. Both prices are worth it. We booked the room with frequent flyer miles for 4 nights. The room was truly amazing. The two person tub really does take a whole hour to fill. It's unfortunate that there isn't two faucets to increase fill-up time. The tub tv sound wasn't great either, but the tub was a nice touch.

The bathroom shower was amazing. It was huge and had colored lights and jets. In the past I read reviews that people couldn't figure out how to work it. I found that it couldn't have been more easier. The shower really was one of the nicest assets of the room.

We never could figure the maid out because she only left us towel art the first check-in day despite tipping her every day. The room only had intermittent wifi. Maybe another reason to book on the 3rd floor if the wireless router is on the ground floor. It did have a hair dryer and safe.

We got a couple's massage at the spa and it was one of the best massages I've ever had. The prices were like 25% off and we found that for $135 for a 70 minutes couple's massage to be a great bargain. You will find the prices in Manuel Antonio to be nearly twice the price.

The outdoor pool/springs were nice. Behind the pools they had about 5 hot springs. All the signs said they were supposed to be 104f. I found them to be more like 99f and not quite warm enough and just as warm in the larger pool with the swim up bar. The only staff member that was not friendly was the pool bartender, which seems to be the trend if you've read other reviews on the hotel. The staff at the front desk were always very nice.

We didn't have a rental car and took a taxi everywhere and found it super easy and cheaper then having a rental car. It was always $7 to $8 into town and never a problem catching a taxi back.

The included breakfast had great variety and was yummy. It's not exactly free though as they seat you and pour your coffee and then expected a tip. We would have rather just seated ourselves and got our own coffee, but oh well.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book 3rd floor, center of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    319
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
345
738
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located at the base of Arenal. The room had an amazing view of the volcano. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. They have a very nice breakfast which was included. We used bookit.com to make our arrangements and everything was perfect. The hotel staff was excellent, especially when asking for directions to Manuel Antonio, they took the time to make sure we were completely comfortable with the route. My family and I cannot wait to return to Arenal and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: To me, every room had a awesome view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a little haven which, as has been said, is just the right size. You could enjoy people watching in the lobby or pool. This hotel is best for end of day relaxing after busy activities during the day.

We were very pleased with our choice, the staff were amazingly helpful, rooms were clean and spacious, food was good, especially the breakfasts. We also ate luch and dinner too, although not the cheapest was excellent.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room so can't comment. This had a bed, chair, balcony and amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Corin for 6 days with our two sons 12 & 8. The hotel is well located, appropriately sized and with a staff that went out of their way to be helpful. The inclusive breakfast was good. Lunch and dinner were pricey and menu was not suited for kids. The hot springs with the pool was was a great relaxation place after a tiring day. Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two kids (7 and 8 years old). The hotel is just the right size, not too big, and not too small, and right off the main road. The property is beautiful and the rooms are nice. The front desk staff was friendly and very accomodating. The staff worked with us (and didn't charge us any fees) when we decided to check out one night early to head back to Liberia. We really enjoyed the hot springs, especially after a long day of sightseeing and hiking to the waterfalls. The free breakfasts were good and very convenient to have before heading out each morning. We had a very comfortable stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Junior Suite is definitely worth paying a little extra for, much more space and comfort. The Hotel is very clean and the Spa is nice. They should add a fitness center. Service is lacking in a few areas which certainly requires attention and perhaps re-training. Springs are very relaxing but sometimes not enough space for everyone to get a chair. Only a few minutes by car to downtown.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is definitely worth paying a little extra for, much more space and comfort. The Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night here and well it was pretty nice, i've never been to San Carlos before and it was a nice experience. We stayed on a Master Suite and it was a nice room, we used the spacious 'living room' to had dinner with some family memebers. The pools have different temperatures. The one on the center is scalding hot: it is kept between 39 and 40 degrees (celsius) thankfully the one on the left hand side is cold, and the one on the right is warm-ish it was a nice stay. But today we went to have breakfast but it was bland and the buffet variety was not as other reviews put it. I ordered a hot chocolate and neither was it hot and it didn't taste like chocolate, well it didnt taste like nothing at all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.