We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 miles of beauty and scenery.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Arenal

Lake Arenal
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
8807-4954
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lake Arenal like an insider
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Kayaking Tour on Lake Arenal
Attraction details
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“30 miles of beauty and scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The driver needs to pay attention to driving on this lake terrain hugging road. Its hard given the breath taking views along the way. We drove from La Fortuna on the way to Liberia. Activities on the lake are plentiful, but parking can be rare. The Toad Hall signs can keep you amused along the way. The town itself is quaint as you enter, but has a lot of services to your left as you get further into it. We ate at the German Bakery where Bratwurst on dark bread was excellent. More tour opportunities on the western side of the lake and some great shots of Arenal Volcano as you cross the northern point of the lake. Give your self plenty of time if driving from La Fortuna to Liberia, very scenic, very easy, but need to keep speed in check and watch out for wildlife and unexpected things around every curve.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    203
    68
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We discovered the little tour boats by the side of the Arenal dam by accident. We were offered a private one hour tour....it was one of the highlights of our trip to Arenal. You can see the Arenal volcano best from the lake, Our guide had a binocular and showed us the various inhabitants of the lake - the birds and animals. Then we pulled up by the shore of the volcano itself. The view against the water, clear sky and meadow was stunning. I will always have this edged in my mind when I think of Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The water is crystal clear, scenic views of the volcano, almost completely uninhabited. Absolutely amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Truly a rain forest :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an amazing park with beautiful flora and fauna. We hired a guide, and he was able to point out much that we would have otherwise overlooked or not known. We were able to go to the lava flows. It was breathtaking. I'm glad we packed ponchos, because we got rained on a couple of times. It was a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake...amazing history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lake has some amazing views and interesting things to do. It was wet season, but the mornings were clear. Everything was green and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lake Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.