We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Arenal

Lake Arenal
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
8807-4954
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We discovered the little tour boats by the side of the Arenal dam by accident. We were offered a private one hour tour....it was one of the highlights of our trip to Arenal. You can see the Arenal volcano best from the lake, Our guide had a binocular and showed us the various inhabitants of the lake - the birds and animals. Then we pulled up by the shore of the volcano itself. The view against the water, clear sky and meadow was stunning. I will always have this edged in my mind when I think of Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    163
    58
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The water is crystal clear, scenic views of the volcano, almost completely uninhabited. Absolutely amazing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Truly a rain forest :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was an amazing park with beautiful flora and fauna. We hired a guide, and he was able to point out much that we would have otherwise overlooked or not known. We were able to go to the lava flows. It was breathtaking. I'm glad we packed ponchos, because we got rained on a couple of times. It was a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake...amazing history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lake has some amazing views and interesting things to do. It was wet season, but the mornings were clear. Everything was green and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This man made lake and the surrounding towns, not to mention the volcano, are treats that should not be missed. Stop in Fortuna for lunch, visit the hot springs and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lake Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.