We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A challenge to make it all the way around but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Arenal

Lake Arenal
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
8807-4954
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Alajuela
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A challenge to make it all the way around but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you drive around the lake as we did, you had better have a 4x4. It's a challenge to make it all the way around but worth it, as the views of the lake along the way are breathtaking. Or maybe it was the bumpy road that was breathtaking?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    164
    58
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

this lake is so beautiful... i had such a great time on the lake. i cant believe more dont come out on the lake and spend their time. in the USA this lake would be crawling with people everywhere.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beatiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

One of the most amazing scenic views I have ever seen. We passed the lake on the way to and from our hotel and it was so beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun boat ride - great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Came over the mountains from Monte Verde & took 1+ hour boat ride to la Fortuna side of lake. Serene - but difficult getting luggage to and from boat. No real dock or walkway. Pay a local to haul it for you.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a lake with great views of the Volcano. We took a boat across this lake to get to Monteverde.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lake Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.