We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family staff, basic but clean and nice garden with pool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Rabfer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Rabfer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Rabfer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 mts north of Banco Nacional de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly family staff, basic but clean and nice garden with pool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Friendly family staff, basic but clean rooms. Small but nice garden with pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

This family run hotel was recommended by a tour guide in La Fortuna. Two blocks from main street, lovely quiet hotel. Good clean pool and facilities. We were made extremely welcome for our one night stay. Breakfast cooked freshly for us; we were allowed to keep our room well after check out time. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are in the La Fortuna area and looking for a great place to call home in between all your adventuring, I recommend staying at Hotel Arenal Rabfer! It's within a short walk to restaurants, shops and vendors. It's a family owned hotel with great home cooking every morning for breakfast...YUM! They are from the area, can connect you with some wonderful adventures, very accommodating and recommend wonderful local flavors for dinner (NeeNee's was our favorite). The rooms are sparse but extremely clean. They take great pride in their business and it really shows.
They welcome feedback during your visit in order to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on balcony overlooking the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

A sewwt family hotel with very helpfull staff. Nice rooms and a very personal touch. Located very close to the center of Arenal

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We decided go to Costa Rica very spontaneously during the peak season- late December 2010. I found arenal rabfer from wiki travel and called them using Skype... they were extremely nice and helpful over the phone and gave us a reservation without a credit card. When we arrived they gave us a discount for paying with cash (only 100$!! For 4 people). The room was clean and had a double and two single beds. Very modern. The swimming pool is beautiful, and breakfast was free. The staff is a friendly couple and their three sons- who speak English very well. The service was excellent, and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We loved our stay at the Rabfer.

A very nice family runs the hotel.

The rooms are spotless. The hotel feels brand new. And it's in a great location, right near the center of town.

Also, the pool is heated, which our kids loved!

We would definitely stay there again.

Also, the breakfasts are good. But they aren't large. I could have eaten more.

We think it's a wonderful place to stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This is a great family run hotel and the staff would do anything for you. They can book many tours for you including the jeep-boat-jeep (which isn't actually a jeep but a mini bus!!) transfer to Monteverde.
It's in a good location just off the main square and near to plenty of places to eat, souvenir shops and a bank.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, perhaps a little on the small side and there was great shower in the bathroom with hot water (Not always the case in Costa Rica!!!)
The pool looked really nice but unfortunately we didn't get to try it as it was pouring with rain for most of our 3 night stay!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Rabfer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Rabfer

Address: 150 mts north of Banco Nacional de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arenal Rabfer 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Rabfer born as a family project, hence its name derived from the initials of the names of the children: Randy, Brayan, Felipe and Roberto (Rabfer) _ In a familiar environment and in harmony with nature. owners and partners hope to give special treatment making it feel like casa._ We have a great location, a few meters can find banks, pharmacies, supermarkets, souvenir shops, restaurants and gas stations between otros._ invite you to visit us and who knows scenic beauty and recreation offered by the majestic La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arenal Rabfer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Hotel Arenal Rabfer Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Rabfer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.