We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & clean room at reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant

Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
| 300 Meters West of the Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good & clean room at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed two nights at end Oct here. Room was clean, with TV, AC, free Wifi, private bathroom and reasonably priced. Got a room for just paying a bit more of a dorm bed.

Some tour price was really competitive when compare with others agencies in downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Can't comment on their rooms, but I had lunch there, as the restaurant was situated right opposite from where I stayed. It was possibly the worst Chinese food I've ever had anywhere (the best thing I could say about it is that it took them about three minutes to "prepare" it). When in addition to what was already way overpriced they applied a 10 % service charge, I couldn't help but to tell the lady who had apparently prepared it that it hadn't been to my liking. She shrugged it off - as long as I paid she clearly didn't give a sh** whether a customer was satisfied or not. This place is a tourist trap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We chose this place for one night (no reservations, just walked in off the street) because we got into La Fortuna late and needed a place to stay quickly. We were traveling with our 19-month-old daughter and needed to get her to bed after a long day. The staff were friendly, and the price was reasonable. However, the room seemed a bit stale and old, and the bedding looked like it needed replacing. While the beds were comfortable, the room was sparse on features (like a chair), and the window coverings needed updating. All in all, it served our purposes as a place to crash for the night, but if you are going to base yourself in La Fortuna for a while, I wouldn't stay here for long.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

This place was terrible. The people that own it are should not be in the hotel or service industry. We needed to have our bags held for the morning until our bus came for us to leave and they wanted to charge us the rpice of the room for the day! Then the rooms smelt, the walls were paper thin so sleeping was not an option and there were spider webs and spiders in all corners. Not very friendly or clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Clean room, minimal decoration, but the price was really good, we were not going to stay in our room most of the time, there are so much to see and do, so that was fine for us. not far from town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We had had a horrible day prior to arriving at Pura Vida, but luckily it turned around then. Our bag had been stolen on the bus from San Jose to La Fortuna (NEVER leave your bag in the overhead shelf on a bus), and when we got to town, we had to search for the police station to submit a report. The police directed us to a hotel across town that was fully booked, and they directed us to the hostel next door which was also booked. Luckily they directed us to Pura Vida. It was exactly what we needed. We paid $40 for a nice room with a huge shower with hot water. There was also cable TV. We had dinner here twice, and both times were excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even let us make phone calls about our stolen bag. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from "downtown" La Fortuna (I use the term loosely) so it was a bit quieter here, though there are still some noisy trucks and dirt bikes that speed by. But overall a great place to stay.

  • Liked — big, clean room with big shower
  • Disliked — the noise from the road
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here because this hotel was the Lonely Planet Costa Rica editor's pick for mid-range hotels. What a huge mistake! The bed coverings were digusting and looked like they hadn't been washed for years. We *hoped* at least the sheets were clean. Our room was poorly lit with one tiny overhead light and a tiny bedside lamp, so we always came home to a dark and dank room. The worst part was the inconsistent water temperature. Lonely Planet made much of the hot showers, which are important in Costa Rica after a long day of rafting or hiking. During our first few showers, the hot water would come and go, forcing us to wait about 5 minutes between each temporary spurt of hot water. By the time we left, the shower water only ran cold. We paid $60/night in the low season, and after comparing notes with other travelers who went to La Fortuna at the same time, seems like you can get a much better hotel for about $35-$40/night.

  • Liked — The locations was great; close to La Fortuna for food and tours but far enough to be quiet
  • Disliked — Pretty much everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
2.8 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant

Address: | 300 Meters West of the Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.