We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in beautiful gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miradas Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miradas Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Miradas Arenal
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   La Palma, de la Fortuna. | 7 km al Oeste de de la Fortuna., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Foreigners in London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location in beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Located west of the town of La Fortuna, this little spot is set back from the main road (other hotels not always) in beautiful gardens. The owners are very friendly and helpful, giving us tips of what to do, where to go. The gardens are beautiful, and we did lots of bird watching just wandering around the garden, and particularly at the swimming pool.

The rooms are lovely, and we had an unobstructed view of the volcano from our bed - magic. The bathroom is very clean, with a large shower but no bathtub. The rooms are set far enough apart that you are never disturbed by other guests.

The breakfast was served next to the pool, and freshly made - very tasty.

Very good value for money!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I have just returned from Costa Rica. This marks my 13th time there. Years ago I would stay for three weeks and travel the entire country with a friend in a rented Helix, but now i am married to my wife and my work. We still go to Costa Rica at least once a year. This year we went with another couple for five days. I used Tripadvisor for some added advice. This site was great. There were several positive reviews for Miradas Arenal its owners. When we arrived after the 4 hour trip from Jaco the owner met us at the drive way and stated he had not received our payment with enough advance. Our driver contact his company and they informed us payment was made over 1 month ago. The owner went into his office and that was the last we saw of him. Miradas Arenal has several independent cottages that face the volcano and the location is good, but the owner did not want our money or us.Funny thing was there wasn't a sole on the property. He just didn't want to work that week for 4 of us. Anyway our travel company Anywhere Costa Rica was great and we made a seperate reservation at Los Lagos down the road. Great hotel with its own hot springs, waterslides, crock farm, and free breakfast. Slight inconvenience but things always seem to work out. As for Hotel Mirades Arenal never go! Please use caution when reading reviews because all of them speak about how great the owner was and that is what sold us. I do recommend this website for research - Anywhere Costa Rica for transportation - and Hotel Los Lagos for a great time. Miradas Arenal es MUY MALO

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Four of us travelled for two weeks in beautiful Costa Rica. My husband, two 17 yr. old guys and myself. We had a fantastic experience.

We stayed at Miradas Arenal for 6 nights, renting two bungalows. The bungalows are very clean with large beds, great covered decks with a spectacular view of Arenal. There is a nice clean pool to take a dip in and we were surrounded by beautiful well kept grounds.

Our family does not do the resort holiday, preferring to stay in smaller, privately owned and operated accommodations. Miradas is another reason why we'll continue to travel this way. The family that owns the property are laid back, helpful, we enjoyed sharing stories and they really helped us see parts of Costa Rica that we may not have by joining the commercial tours.

Estrella, our hostess, always prepared us a wonderful breakfast, based on a few choices from a small menu. Breakfast is served outside under a covered shelter, close to the pool. The family is very accommodating and help was always just a few steps away if needed.

We did day trips to local places like La Fortuna waterfalls, drive around the mountain to the bridge to view the lava flow in the evenings, visited various parks, including walking the hanging bridges. Toured the town of La Fortuna, hot springs...we tried Baldi because its more geared to the younger crowd. The teenagers LOVED it...so much that they returned for a second day while my husband and I drove to Tilaran. There are a number of hot springs in the area and had it been just my husband and I traveling we would have taken in Eco Thermals across from Baldi.

Tilaran is a quaint town and the drive from La Fortuna to Tilaran entertaining and challenging. We stopped at the Gingerbread Hotel for dinner on the way home. If you get the opportunity to try this restuarant it is wonderful food and drink! Although not exactly authentic Costa Ricans fare.

We relaxed, took our time getting to know the place a bit and would love to return again. We generally got caught in rain at some point in the day, but the rain is very warm and refreshing, so we just continued doing whatever we were doing in the rain.

Great place to stay....highly recommended for the traveller that prefers to avoid resorts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Unexpectedly enjoyable stay - the rooms are basic but very quaint with each one being a separate little bungalow with direct view of Arenal volcano. The family that runs it were incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious! Our kids had an absolute ball playing on the property and petting the horses, and swimming in the pool. The location is excellent - very close to Tabacon and La Fortuna, and Volcano Lava viewing.
Very reasonable rates for the quality of service that you receive, and the type of property that it is !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Miradas Arenal for 4 nights in Feb. '09. It was absolutely wonderful. The property is very well cared for. Every bungalow has a great view of the volcano!! Quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The family that own/runs it is wonderful and very friendly!! The breakfast they serve every morning(and it is free) is great, they give you a small menu with about 4 different choices. There is a pool with lounge chairs that is nice to relax by. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Liked — separate bungalows, quiet and relaxing, great views
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

The hotel consists of about 12 bungalows scattered around a beautiful property, very green with wonderful plants and landscaping. Each bungalow has an unobstructed view of Volcan Arenal.
Miradas Arenal is outside of the main town of La Fortuna and closer to the hot springs resorts (Tabacon / Baldi). So...you either need to have a car to get around, book a tour, hire a taxi (very easy), or be content with hanging out on the hotel property which is really nice.
The bungalows all have little porches facing the volcano and the hotel has a nice pool/jacuzzi.
There is a free breakfast - contintental (toast/eggs/coffee/juice/fruit) or typico (rice and beans, eggs, toast, fruit, coffee, juice).
The owners are wonderful and very helpful in arranging tours.
We paid roughly 45$ a night, might have been a bit more expensive due to Easter week.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miradas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miradas Arenal

Address: La Palma, de la Fortuna. | 7 km al Oeste de de la Fortuna., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miradas Arenal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel ... you can enjoy tranquility and absolute privacy. We are located in a extrategica area near all the activities that you will want to make sure. Large windows with glamorous views. If you are looking for relaxation break and we have used by the Indians of our region and grandparents therapeutic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Miradas Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miradas Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miradas Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.