We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel complex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miradas Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miradas Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miradas Arenal
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   La Palma, de la Fortuna. | 7 km al Oeste de de la Fortuna., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013. This was the perfect place to spend our first couple of nights in Costa Rica. The hosts of this small and low key hotel were very welcoming, and spoke excellent English (good for us lazy Spanish speakers). Our room was lovely, with perfect unobstructed volcano views, nice porch area, and huge shower. The kids enjoyed cooling off in the pool one afternoon. The included breakfasts were a highlight, with a choice of Gallo Pinto, American style waffles, or Continental.

Room Tip: All cabins have views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a small resort lovingly managed by the owners Estrella and Roberto who made much effort to connect with their guests to make them feel welcome. We had a bad experience with another hotel nearby (they gave our room away) and we ended up in this hotel unexpectedly and we’re quite pleased with the end result. Each of the dozen or so cabins (quality built though on the small side) is spread out to provide privacy in the beautiful landscaped lot and each has a nice view of the volcano. The inside is furnished with lots of wood and it’s clean and comfortable. The bathroom though new and clean could benefit from a better layout and the wash basin is a pedestal sink which provides little space to put down the toiletries. Breakfast is served in a nice open space dinning lodge and the choice is adequate consider the size of the resort. Our Costa Rican breakfast cooked to order was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were planning to stay 2 nights, but decided to do 1 night:
- Cabins are small, 6*8meters, with too much furniture inside and bad "airplane" small, no screens on windows and doors. Restroom is so small so you need to close the door to use it.
- Breakfast wasn't good at all. You need to pay additional "dollar" for toast, juice and coffee.
- No garden, you have plenty of grass and some plants around. It is not like you surrounded by garden.
- Boy who opened the room was hardly able to speak english, owner is not fluent in English as well. Mattresses are bad.
- No promised WiFi in the room. Tiny TV, bad conditioner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just spent two nights at Hotel Miradas in Arenal Costa Rica.
The owners Estrella ( Star) and her husband Roberto are super sweet and accomodating.
The hotel is perfectly located between La Fortuna and Tabacon, on your right at about 7 klms. after Fortuna.
The individual cottages are clean, comfortable, nicely spaced. ( No cabin looks into any other, you feel very private.)
All have an outstanding view of Arenal Volcano, and even though it is not active, it is still amazing to look at, and every room has an outstanding view of it. ( Both from the huge king size bed, or your two sitting chairs on your private balcony.
Breakfast is included, with a choice of options and is served in the Rancho by the pool overlooking the grounds with the volcano looming in the front of you. Spectacular!!
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone coming to the area.
It's a short drive to La Fortuna, a longer but unbelievable drive around the Lake to Neuvo Arenal, and good restaurants are within three minutes of the hotel.
Estrella is more than willing to advise you where to eat, where to take tours and what you should see with an eye on saving you money, not earning big commisions for herself.
The main thing I liked was how quiet it is, it's set back from the highway. You do not hear the highway, just birds!
To wake up in the morning with the magnificent view and the sounds of birds reminds one of why Costa Rica is such a great tourist destination. This place is special, well located and very well priced and the breakfast (either American, Continental or Costa Rican) is delicious.


Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask if one of the new cottages are available as they have sliding glass doors and windows, but the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for a resort or 5-star hotel, this is not it. It is more of a cottage and B&B feel! We really enjoyed our stay there for 3 nights. The little cabin is so cute and the porch is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the scene! Estrella not only made our breakfasts every morning to our order, she even offered to dry all my wet clothes for us! The shower can use a little more pressure but it did not ruin our stay at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

There are no words to express the gratitude we feel towards the two great people that own Miradas Arenal Hotel. Estrella and Robert welcomed us to this beautiful home-like environment that allowed us to enjoy our 10 days vacation to the fullest. Both were welcoming from day 1 and guided us to assure we spent our money wisely (by choosing the best, but must affordable experiences we wanted to accomplish in 10 days). But before I get to that point, let me start by describing the beautiful Boungalows Miradas Arenal provide tourist with. If you are a couple and you are trying to get away from your busy, hectic everyday life and therefore crave some time alone with the one you love, this is the place you have been looking for!!!! The Boungalows are beautiful well-equipped small cabins that will provide you with maximum comfort through your vacation. First of all, the view from your cabin to the Arenal Volcano is priceless. Just thinking of waking every morning and seeing this enormous Volcano from your small deck its just beautiful. Second, one of the most important things for any tourist is cleanliness where you are staying. We have absolutely no complaints when it comes down to that. Boungalows were always impeccably clean, which is a big +++++++ for us. We personally loved the huge, huge, huge, huge bed we slept in. When coming back home, we decided that we must buy something as big and as confortable. Like my partner will always say, YOU CAN SWIN ON THIS BED!!!

Breakfast was always exquisite homemade meals and the variety that was provided was really good (from typical Costa Rican breakfast to pancakes). There are no words to express the beauty of the surroundings. Everywhere you turn, banana trees, lemon trees, yucca trees, beautiful flowers, plants and palm trees which are adding touches for a perfect relaxing get away anyone. But the true +++++ of Miradas Arenal, is that the two owners Estrella and Robert are the sweetest most helpful individuals we meet in Costa Rica. They are definitely not there to try to take advantage of a tourist, try to sell you the most expensive tours in Costa Rica! To the contrary, they guide you to the most exciting and affordable but yet reliable (as far as where and what tour company) to use. Examples: Zip Lining, Horseback Riding, Volcano Walks, Hanging Bridges, Thermal Waters, White Water Rafting etc.

Again, We know this because before coming to Costa Rica, my partner and I did an intensive research about all the activities. Estrella guided us to the things that were more confortable, which fit our budget. Most importantly they told my partner and I when and where not to pay for a guide (trust me that saved us a lot a lot a lot of money) A LOT!!!!! If we were to rate our experience from a 1-10 scale, we would have to give it a 20. If you have a chance to visit Costa Rica, trust me, do it you would not regret it!!!!!!

P.S. Rent a car and a GPS, it will save you money and time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Miradas Arenal for 2 nights and we really hated to leave. Each cabana has a wall of windows that looks out to a magnificent view of Arenal. The grounds were beautiful and full of birds. We went hiking at Arenal but I definitely saw more birds sitting at the pool at the hotel (including tucans and parrots). The breakfast was great and Estrella was very friendly. We had such a relaxing and peaceful stay. I would love to stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miradas Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miradas Arenal

Address: La Palma, de la Fortuna. | 7 km al Oeste de de la Fortuna., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miradas Arenal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel ... you can enjoy tranquility and absolute privacy. We are located in a extrategica area near all the activities that you will want to make sure. Large windows with glamorous views. If you are looking for relaxation break and we have used by the Indians of our region and grandparents therapeutic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Miradas Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miradas Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miradas Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.