We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Los Guayabos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Save
You added Cabinas Los Guayabos to your Saves list
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Arrived after 8pm, after along drive to find office closed, knocked on door of house attached to office and we're greeted by a very friendly lady. She apologized for our long trip! Cabin was very nice, clean and roomy. Even in the dark it had great views. Big window with fab view of Arenal and a nice patio. The manager/owner was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and I want to help draw attention to this place because we were so happy with everything about it. First thing, we were traveling from Manuel Antonio to La Fortuna and experienced tortuous amounts of traffic and would be arriving close to midnight. We called and Karen, the owner of the property, was so sweet and told is it would be no problem to arrive late and she would give us the key when we arrived. We finally did and she was gracious enough to give us our key and told us we would take care of the paperwork in the morning. Our room was clean, spacious and very private. Shower was huge!!! We had a nice little patio and if there wasn't an overcast, we would have had a view of the volcano. The property is close to town, and close to the volcano and the park. It's also much cheaper than some of the other hotels in town. Probably not a great place for kids however.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel is pretty basic--but kind of cute--and a great value. The rooms are clean and simple, but we did have a view of Arenal right from our back patio--that is, we would have if the clouds had lifted! Instead, we saw a couple of horses in the neighboring pasture and a group of territorial hummingbirds feeding in the evening.

The rooms can be a bit damp, but we discovered that if we ran the dehumidifier that's part of the A/C unit, especially when we showered, we could dry it right out.

We loved the location, too--on the road between Fortuna and Arenal, so not right in the city but close enough to restaurants and other attractions. You probably would want a car here, though.

Karen, the owner/manager, is friendly and helpful. Her English isn't strong (but it certainly was better than our Spanish), but that wasn't a problem at all; if you get stuck, her very bright and personable son helps out.

A filling breakfast is also included.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf, Germany
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights in Los Guayabos, a Inn in La Fortuna.
A good value for the price you pay. Karen, the Owner is REALLY friendly and helpful, the place is clean, the location good with an excellent view on Arenal. We came with small children and it wasn t a problem at all. We come back at our next visit. Even though located at a street it is very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We started out our trip with our first stop near the Arenal location and found Cabinas Los Guayabos on Trip Advisor and based on the reviews we were sold on checking out this hotel.

Location, location, location...We thought that the hotel was perfectly located (especially) if you have a rental car). The hotel is pretty much located smack-dab in the middle between La Fortuna and the volcano, lake, and various other parks and Badli Hot Springs.

The room was great and the bathroom was large and had a large shower. In fact, I think that the bathroom that we had at this hotel was the biggest we had on the entire trip. The room was very clean and was cleaned very promptly once we had left for our adventures for the day.

Although, the room was very clean and rather spacious (especially for only $50/night), I will say that the bedding wasn't the best, but of course this isn't a 5 star hotel and I wasn't expecting Egyptian Cotton sheets or anything.

We especially liked that we could park our car right next to our cabin. This was definitely a plus. In addition, we had a view of the volcano, which is pretty spectacular. Unfortunately, we weren't able to see the lava during our stay because it had rained for a good majority of the time.

The service is great here and Karen did a wonderful job. She had good recommendations and and was very helpful. We were also able to buy discounted tickets for dinner and admission to the Baldi Hot Springs for only $26/pp. Definitely, take her up on the offer.

I am looking forward to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We felt very safe here and loved our location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was a great place with an amazing view. The owner and her son are among the nicest and most helpful people I have ever met. If you are old and fat, I would suggest renting a car or having a private driver chauffeur you around if you want to go to the town (not much to see there-unless you are after 'nightlife'). There is a soda within walking distance and if you are planning on visiting any of the hot springs in the area, they are all within walking distance or a short (albeit expensive) taxi ride away. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We have stayed at many B&Bs and picked this place due to the reviews so we were SHOCKED once we saw the room. The bedding was very low quality, the mattress bumpy and old and NO mattress pad, you could see the mattress design through the cheap sheet and the pillows were tiny. The bathtowel was so small, it didnt even fit around our waists - plus it had stains. The bathroom was disgusting, when sitting down your right shoulder touched the cheap plastic shower door and your left shoulder touched the sink counter, broken tiles, areas that looked like they never had tile. We even called in advance so it wasnt like it was the last available room, in fact, it looked like only 2 or 3 rooms were rented out. We left the next morning and stayed elsewhere. This is the worst review I have ever given.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Los Guayabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Guayabos

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Guayabos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cabinas Los Guayabos Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Los Guayabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.