We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Los Guayabos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Los Guayabos
Save
You added Cabinas Los Guayabos to your Saves list
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Altdorf, Germany
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“We liked it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights in Los Guayabos, a Inn in La Fortuna.
A good value for the price you pay. Karen, the Owner is REALLY friendly and helpful, the place is clean, the location good with an excellent view on Arenal. We came with small children and it wasn t a problem at all. We come back at our next visit. Even though located at a street it is very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We started out our trip with our first stop near the Arenal location and found Cabinas Los Guayabos on Trip Advisor and based on the reviews we were sold on checking out this hotel.

Location, location, location...We thought that the hotel was perfectly located (especially) if you have a rental car). The hotel is pretty much located smack-dab in the middle between La Fortuna and the volcano, lake, and various other parks and Badli Hot Springs.

The room was great and the bathroom was large and had a large shower. In fact, I think that the bathroom that we had at this hotel was the biggest we had on the entire trip. The room was very clean and was cleaned very promptly once we had left for our adventures for the day.

Although, the room was very clean and rather spacious (especially for only $50/night), I will say that the bedding wasn't the best, but of course this isn't a 5 star hotel and I wasn't expecting Egyptian Cotton sheets or anything.

We especially liked that we could park our car right next to our cabin. This was definitely a plus. In addition, we had a view of the volcano, which is pretty spectacular. Unfortunately, we weren't able to see the lava during our stay because it had rained for a good majority of the time.

The service is great here and Karen did a wonderful job. She had good recommendations and and was very helpful. We were also able to buy discounted tickets for dinner and admission to the Baldi Hot Springs for only $26/pp. Definitely, take her up on the offer.

I am looking forward to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. We felt very safe here and loved our location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

This was a great place with an amazing view. The owner and her son are among the nicest and most helpful people I have ever met. If you are old and fat, I would suggest renting a car or having a private driver chauffeur you around if you want to go to the town (not much to see there-unless you are after 'nightlife'). There is a soda within walking distance and if you are planning on visiting any of the hot springs in the area, they are all within walking distance or a short (albeit expensive) taxi ride away. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We have stayed at many B&Bs and picked this place due to the reviews so we were SHOCKED once we saw the room. The bedding was very low quality, the mattress bumpy and old and NO mattress pad, you could see the mattress design through the cheap sheet and the pillows were tiny. The bathtowel was so small, it didnt even fit around our waists - plus it had stains. The bathroom was disgusting, when sitting down your right shoulder touched the cheap plastic shower door and your left shoulder touched the sink counter, broken tiles, areas that looked like they never had tile. We even called in advance so it wasnt like it was the last available room, in fact, it looked like only 2 or 3 rooms were rented out. We left the next morning and stayed elsewhere. This is the worst review I have ever given.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This was my 2nd stay at Los Guayabos and it was as I remembered it from 2006- very clean, has a great view, and the owners are uber friendly. The breakfast is made to order, the setting is tranquil (a few loud trucks on the roadway but not bad), and it is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

This was a great place for us to stay. It was clean, comfortable, and had a great breakfast included. The proprietor was very helpful when giving directions to local attractions. We highly recommend this place to anyone that needs a comfortable place to lay their head at night. The owner even let us use her personal computer to quickly check our email.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed in February and March with two different sets of friends, and their reactions were the same = glorious! The owner greeted me the second time as if we were old friends and the service and recommendations she gave were fantastic. We could hear Arenal rumble in Feb.. and in March we went around the side to watch the lava flow at dusk and dark. Very spectacular. Breakfast is very hearty, chihuahua puppies so sweet, family very friendly. They have horses, cows, chickens, puppies and warm hospitality. We had a light go out in the bathroom and they were there within minutes of us advising them to replace it. Great Service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Los Guayabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Los Guayabos

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Guayabos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cabinas Los Guayabos Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Los Guayabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.