We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Carmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Arenal Carmela to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Carmela
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed in La fortuna at this hotel for 2 nights. Arenal Carmela is in a great location, very clean and our suite had a walk out balcony which had two chairs and a table. This hotel had a secure gate at the front which the concierge had to prompt for exit and entry. Our room was super clean, had clean towels, clean bathroom, room had A/C and a safe with a lock. The TV had local cable which had some channels in Spanish and some in English. Overall this hotel is in a great location. Close to wonderful markets, restaurants and a park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a middle of the road experience. The purpose of our trip was to experience the adventures in Costa Rica, so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. For the time that we did spend there however, it was GREAT! I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in early May. As far as locations go, we couldn't have asked for better. Located smack-dab in the middle of town across from the church, it was easy to get around.

The rooms were small, but clean. Nothing luxury here, but still a pretty nice little place to sleep. There was a certain charm to the place and we felt very safe there. Gated overnight parking is available if you ask the front desk...we just parked on the street, though.

The included breakfasts were pretty darn great...the people were nice...all around a nice place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We were here about a year ago but this time I returned with my family including my two grandchildren. We had two rooms. One room had a view of the pool and the other room had a view of the street. The rooms were clean and comfortable as before. My grandchildren really liked the pool and I found myself in the pool with them. We liked the location of this hotel because it is located in the center of town and easy to get to everything. The kids like having the TV and I liked the safe in the room for our passports etc.

Miguel made sure our rooms were ok when we arrived and we all enjoyed the breakfast which is furnished at a nearby restaurant.

I have enclosed a photo that I took of Arenal one morning about 7:00 AM from the room on the street side balcony.

This is a good place to stay and I look forward to returning soon.

Dan

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not having wireless internet in the rooms.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

When we arrived in La Fortuna to find our reserved hotel still UNDER CONSTRUCTION, our driver took us to the Hotel Arenal Carmela and Jose Quiros, the manager helped check us in with no problem. This nice hotel is right on the main street of La Fortuna across from the main park square. We had a second story room in the rear of the hotel. Very nice room with hot water, good bed and linens for a very moderate price -even in high season. During our stay, Jose also helped us book two tours and gave us excellent advice about dining and walking tours. The hotel has a small pool and secure, gated parking - not regularly available in Costa Rica.

  • Liked — Room value and service
  • Disliked — No restaurant on site, but many very near
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#34 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Carmela

Address: Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Carmela 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel arenal carmela is located in the center of la fortuna town,arenal volcano area,we have 25 standar rooms all with private bath,hot water,a/c,mini bar,safety box,cable tv,coffee maker and also private balcony,also we have swimming pool,lobby area,breakfast area,parking,tour desk,souvenir shop,internet and also we have wifi in all hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Arenal Carmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Carmela Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Carmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.