We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arenal Carmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Arenal Carmela to your Saves list
Hotel Arenal Carmela
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stayed there for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has a good location, good building, very good breakfast, nice spacious bathroom, it has a fridge and a small but interesting pool. But it has a couple of things that I think can be improve. For example, the sheets on the beds were not very good, the cable tv wasnt the best (did not have channels like discovery or warner), and costumer service can be a little improve as well. If manager of the hotel took care of this things the hotel could be improved a lot more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We went with our kids and enjoyed it. The pool is small and shaded. The room was clean and the service good. The tour operator in the lobby is friendly. The breakfast was solid if not exceptional. It's conveniently located right by the central park and a supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I spent the night of Dec 15 in a room on the second floor and think it was great for what it is- a basic, budget hotel room in a convenient location. My room was clean, the a/c worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was tasty and served very quickly. The bathroom appeared to have been very recently and nicely renovated. I didn't use the pool but it looked clean and maintained.

It is just around the corner from the bus station so is great for people travelling by bus. The location is a bit noisy as would be any "convenient" location but it didn't keep me awake.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of the hall on the second floor and I would stay in it again. I don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located. The lady at the reception is very friendly.
Travelling with a group as only single traveller I was assigned room 11 directly at the restaurant. A very depressing, dark and smelly room. Then they showed the other single room, 1, equally depressing. Now I have room 23 which was originally for the travel guide. The room is directly at the parking lot and somewhat lighter than the other forementioned rooms. However, the light is blocked by the bus parked directly in front of the window. There is no closet for clothes. There is only very bright light at the ceiling, no light near the beds. The room is smelly. The old airco without remote makes a lot of noise. The shower is dirty: mould at the wall. The shower itself is ok although you can not regulate the temperature. Free wifi, which is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Three nights in a room, where the smell of mold is the least problem. The electric heating of the shower resembles the switch of an electric chair and is probably equally dangerous.
There may be rooms in higher floors that are more recent, but the two rooms we and our children occupied on the ground level are not recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on April in the Carmela and was a terrific experience!!! Clean rooms with A/C, nice pool, wi fi, a computer for guest use, great security, parking and also breakfast included!!

Staff was so kind and nice, pending of our needs, location is great, just cross of the park and meters away of excelent restaurants such La parada.

If you are looking where to stay for a reasonable price then this is your place!!!
Fully recommended!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a few nights checking out the area. The family that runs this place is great! So kind and willing to help with everything. One of the best experiences I had during my visit to Costa Rica. Great for travelers using "public" transport - like the bus. Right in the middle of Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arenal Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Carmela

Address: Costado Sur de la Iglesia Catolica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arenal Carmela 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel arenal carmela is located in the center of la fortuna town,arenal volcano area,we have 25 standar rooms all with private bath,hot water,a/c,mini bar,safety box,cable tv,coffee maker and also private balcony,also we have swimming pool,lobby area,breakfast area,parking,tour desk,souvenir shop,internet and also we have wifi in all hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Arenal Carmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Carmela Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arenal Carmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.