We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, people, farm, pool, and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Luna Nueva Lodge to your Saves list
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, people, farm, pool, and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. Every aspect of the Orel is exceptional. You arrive to a beautiful spread of bungalows, an outdoor dining area adjacent to a gorgeous salt water pool. The farm is an organic, biodynamic farm and the owner/farmer holds a wealth of information regarding Costa Rica's ecosystems and his vibrant farm. I 100 percent recommend that you stay here for at least two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    30
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
65
86
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This lodge is such a unique experience. It is convenient to tourist attractions in La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano area, but it is an attraction all its own. The farm tour was one of the highlights of our trip to Costa Rica. Steven, the farm's owner, is incredibly knowledgeable and a great host. It is not very often that you are given the chance to stay on an organic ginger and turmeric farm, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Self sustaining farm. Thoroughly enjoyed the fresh fruits and vegetables served daily. Friendly, accommodating staff. Very clean rooms. Certainly could hear at night the environmental sounds.
Steep walking paths. There is a golf cart to move you about if necessary. Can loose yourself, with the no stress. Showers, toilets,, expected accommodations for rain forest environment.

Room Tip: Stayed in main lodge. Need to be respectfully quiet as walls are shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My son and I just visited this quiet, serene bio dynamic farm and loved every minute of it. We arrived just in time for dinner which was fresh and wonderful. There are only a few rooms and separate cabins so you get to meet like-kind folks very easilly. The accomodations had two beds and were very clean. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub for relaxing on site, The staff is very friendly and hekpful. If you like they will give you a tour of the farm which we found very educational. Ishmael was our guide and we left feeling like he was family. All staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying here to get away from the crowds.
Cheryl S
Durango, CO

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge because there were just two of us. It was perfect for my son and I. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful, eco friendly environment. Great very high treehouse with outrageous views. Our large family group booked 3 bungalows and all 4 rooms of the lodge. Below the 4 rooms is a communal open air area, perfect for our group gatherings. There's a kitchen, bar, wifi, computer, seating, tables and lots of room. Who says you can't party on New Year's Eve in the rainforest? Loved the very helpful staff. The location was close enough to enjoy all the activities available in the surrounding areas...hot springs, rafting, canyoneering and zip lining. It was a memorable experience in a beautiful setting....but bring the bug spray if you're sensitive to bites.

Room Tip: #2 and #3 are slightly larger rooms of the 4 in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family (two adults two teens) spent three nights at Finca Luna Nueva, a working organic farm in the rain forest just a few hours from San Jose. We toured the farm with the owner Steven, a walking encyclopedia on tropical plant usage and biodynamic culture. Ishmael led us on a night walk to discover frogs and insects. We lounged at the pool and ate healthy meals prepared from meat and produce grown on site. We felt at home.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Lanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

(positives)
+ Amazing staff, super friendly, helpful, great at their job
+ Food!! Best food we have had in a long time, healthy, tasty, organic, large portions, sooo fresh
+ Animals everywhere! We spotted countless frogs, sloths, toucans an iguana, and tons of birds right on our porch.
+ Ismael was our tour guide for the on-site rainforest tours, amazing man, always smiling and full of knowledge.
We recommend the night rainforest walk
+ Great value - For dinner we paid $15 and got 4 courses...Not sure what others are saying on this site regarding food, it was fantastic and always more available just by asking, (never paid any more.)
+ Facilities - spa, jacuzzi, pool. An no chemicals at all. Ozone filtered.
+ They supply organic shampoo and conditioners.

This is for a different type of holiday, if you want to relax, be secluded & be surrounded by nature, this is for you.

(negatives)
- A bit tricky to get around, unless you have a rental car or you book tours to pick you up.
- The walls are pretty thin in the main lodge (you can stay in cabins around 5 minutes walk away from the reception/restaurant)

Overall an amazing experience, could easily live there for months :) You would be crazy not to go and experience this!

Room Tip: Room 1,2,3,4 are in the main lodge, all have wifi and close to everything you need. Cabins are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Luna Nueva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Address: San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Luna Nueva Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge is a sustainable rainforest eco-lodge hotel, offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest together with a certified organic biodynamic farm and also we have Certification for Sustainable Tourism in Costa Rica. N 2003 we decided to take our promotion of sustainable practices to the next level by building several beautiful eco-lodges using fallen timber from the farm. Since then we have added a 50 foot high observation tower, a solar heated Jacuzzi, an ozonated swimming pool, and a handicapped accessible rainforest trail. Now you can experience the Costa Rican rainforest, learn about our farm's sustainable practices and relax in our rustic yet luxurious accommodations. Walk through well-groomed rain forest trails on our guided farm tours and hikes, eat gourmet meals prepared from our fresh organic garden produce, and witness the majesty of the Arenal Volcano. For adventure activity enthusiasts, we are located only 30 minutes from La Fortuna, the adventure capital of Costa Rica, and home of world famous Arenal Volcano. La Fortuna is a must see destination for anyone seeking a thrill, and our experienced staff will be more than happy to schedule all of your activities and tours for you. With 14 rooms and 40 beds, accommodations can be made for both the traveler looking for an intimate getaway as well as housing for large groups and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Finca Luna Nueva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.