We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and unwind at this eco friendly lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Finca Luna Nueva Lodge to your Saves list
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Relax and unwind at this eco friendly lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful, eco friendly environment. Great very high treehouse with outrageous views. Our large family group booked 3 bungalows and all 4 rooms of the lodge. Below the 4 rooms is a communal open air area, perfect for our group gatherings. There's a kitchen, bar, wifi, computer, seating, tables and lots of room. Who says you can't party on New Year's Eve in the rainforest? Loved the very helpful staff. The location was close enough to enjoy all the activities available in the surrounding areas...hot springs, rafting, canyoneering and zip lining. It was a memorable experience in a beautiful setting....but bring the bug spray if you're sensitive to bites.

Room Tip: #2 and #3 are slightly larger rooms of the 4 in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    24
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
62
80
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family (two adults two teens) spent three nights at Finca Luna Nueva, a working organic farm in the rain forest just a few hours from San Jose. We toured the farm with the owner Steven, a walking encyclopedia on tropical plant usage and biodynamic culture. Ishmael led us on a night walk to discover frogs and insects. We lounged at the pool and ate healthy meals prepared from meat and produce grown on site. We felt at home.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Lanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

(positives)
+ Amazing staff, super friendly, helpful, great at their job
+ Food!! Best food we have had in a long time, healthy, tasty, organic, large portions, sooo fresh
+ Animals everywhere! We spotted countless frogs, sloths, toucans an iguana, and tons of birds right on our porch.
+ Ismael was our tour guide for the on-site rainforest tours, amazing man, always smiling and full of knowledge.
We recommend the night rainforest walk
+ Great value - For dinner we paid $15 and got 4 courses...Not sure what others are saying on this site regarding food, it was fantastic and always more available just by asking, (never paid any more.)
+ Facilities - spa, jacuzzi, pool. An no chemicals at all. Ozone filtered.
+ They supply organic shampoo and conditioners.

This is for a different type of holiday, if you want to relax, be secluded & be surrounded by nature, this is for you.

(negatives)
- A bit tricky to get around, unless you have a rental car or you book tours to pick you up.
- The walls are pretty thin in the main lodge (you can stay in cabins around 5 minutes walk away from the reception/restaurant)

Overall an amazing experience, could easily live there for months :) You would be crazy not to go and experience this!

Room Tip: Room 1,2,3,4 are in the main lodge, all have wifi and close to everything you need. Cabins are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We came to the lodge with many family members. Our immediate family shared family bungalow #6. The setting was lovely nestled up in the rain forest. We were able to see many birds along with sloths. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed being away from the city life and noise, but also the free WiFi! The pool as well as other recreation such as ping pong and Foosball were used by my family daily. We hired a shuttle to pick us up and take us to and from all of our various activities so found it no problem to be a little off the beaten path. My family are picky eaters but we did enjoy that the food that was served was all organic and that they grew everything there on their farm. We did not eat every meal there because of our pickyness - the price was too much for meals that we would not be eating everything, but we did eat several meals there. We found that staff to be very friendly and helpful to us. If we were to return to this area we would definitely stay here again. There were several beds in the bungalow and the twin beds were a little hard, but you can't have it all!

Room Tip: if you want privacy and don't mind a hike, the rooms 10-12 are away from everything. The family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hi, the property is very pretty and offers some nice walks. The staff are also kind and attentive, but I feel that the hotel is overpriced and disappointing for a few reasons. The food, in particular, was not very good. Dinner was too expensive for the quality and the breakfast was less than stellar. Given that the setting was a farm, we expected something reflecting what is grown or raised on the farm, but that was not what we got. The cooks need to be better trained as well. The room we had was very dark and a trek from the rest of the property, and far from local activities requiring a car and a drive of 30 or more minutes.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the trip to Hotel Baldi hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, General Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello Calgaribaldi,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with our friends on Trip Advisor, we like to hear all the comments and suggestions from our guests.
However we would like to tell you that most of our vegetables, fruits, and herbs are from our certified organic biodynamic farm and our menu varies depending on our weekly harvest.
A selection of meat from our pasture raised animals when is available and when not we buy from the local farmers around the town.
Also we are outside of the Fortuna area and we want to offer what can be found on an organic certified Biodynamic farm with primary rainforest as an alternative to the mainstream tourism found elsewhere.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my favourite experience in all my 2 weeks of vacation in CR. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings which allowed me to let go and indulge in my vacation. Loved the accommodations, the food and the whole vibe of the place. Ismael a.k.a the rain forest whisperer, is an amazing tour guide and after the farm tour we hired him to show us around Arenal. We had an amazing time here and look forward to returning.
Tip: the farm is 30min from Fortuna and Arenal so its advised to have a car if you plan on staying here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello Travellaklb,

Thank you very much, it’s amazing that you share your experience with us, we are happy that you enjoy our accommodations and the food.
Also we are very proud of Ismael , we're pleased to see travelers are happy with Ismael too.
We look forward to having you back again someday!

Best Regards.
Your friends from Finca Luna Nueva Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The entire farm(lodging, dining, seed sanctuary, spa, personnel) were 5 star. My husband and I are both interested in organic gardening. We found not only organic, but biodynamic methods being used at Finca Luna Nueva. We spent a wonderful 2 weeks in beautiful Costa Rica. All the places we visited/stayed were tourist friendly ... but Finca Luna Nueva stands out among them. They are on Facebook if you subscribe to such and they update their information daily.

Room Tip: There is no person-made fitness center, but there are many marked trails and guides are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we love your comment.

Its really nice that you learn about organic and biodynamic methods. Our idea is that you learn and enjoy in our farm. We like to offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest here at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Luna Nueva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Address: San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Luna Nueva Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge is a sustainable rainforest eco-lodge hotel, offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest together with a certified organic biodynamic farm and also we have Certification for Sustainable Tourism in Costa Rica. N 2003 we decided to take our promotion of sustainable practices to the next level by building several beautiful eco-lodges using fallen timber from the farm. Since then we have added a 50 foot high observation tower, a solar heated Jacuzzi, an ozonated swimming pool, and a handicapped accessible rainforest trail. Now you can experience the Costa Rican rainforest, learn about our farm's sustainable practices and relax in our rustic yet luxurious accommodations. Walk through well-groomed rain forest trails on our guided farm tours and hikes, eat gourmet meals prepared from our fresh organic garden produce, and witness the majesty of the Arenal Volcano. For adventure activity enthusiasts, we are located only 30 minutes from La Fortuna, the adventure capital of Costa Rica, and home of world famous Arenal Volcano. La Fortuna is a must see destination for anyone seeking a thrill, and our experienced staff will be more than happy to schedule all of your activities and tours for you. With 14 rooms and 40 beds, accommodations can be made for both the traveler looking for an intimate getaway as well as housing for large groups and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Finca Luna Nueva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.