We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finca Luna Nueva” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Luna Nueva Lodge to your Saves list
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finca Luna Nueva”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hi, the property is very pretty and offers some nice walks. The staff are also kind and attentive, but I feel that the hotel is overpriced and disappointing for a few reasons. The food, in particular, was not very good. Dinner was too expensive for the quality and the breakfast was less than stellar. Given that the setting was a farm, we expected something reflecting what is grown or raised on the farm, but that was not what we got. The cooks need to be better trained as well. The room we had was very dark and a trek from the rest of the property, and far from local activities requiring a car and a drive of 30 or more minutes.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the trip to Hotel Baldi hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, General Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello Calgaribaldi,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with our friends on Trip Advisor, we like to hear all the comments and suggestions from our guests.
However we would like to tell you that most of our vegetables, fruits, and herbs are from our certified organic biodynamic farm and our menu varies depending on our weekly harvest.
A selection of meat from our pasture raised animals when is available and when not we buy from the local farmers around the town.
Also we are outside of the Fortuna area and we want to offer what can be found on an organic certified Biodynamic farm with primary rainforest as an alternative to the mainstream tourism found elsewhere.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    30
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
65
87
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my favourite experience in all my 2 weeks of vacation in CR. Beautiful and peaceful surroundings which allowed me to let go and indulge in my vacation. Loved the accommodations, the food and the whole vibe of the place. Ismael a.k.a the rain forest whisperer, is an amazing tour guide and after the farm tour we hired him to show us around Arenal. We had an amazing time here and look forward to returning.
Tip: the farm is 30min from Fortuna and Arenal so its advised to have a car if you plan on staying here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hello Travellaklb,

Thank you very much, it’s amazing that you share your experience with us, we are happy that you enjoy our accommodations and the food.
Also we are very proud of Ismael , we're pleased to see travelers are happy with Ismael too.
We look forward to having you back again someday!

Best Regards.
Your friends from Finca Luna Nueva Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The entire farm(lodging, dining, seed sanctuary, spa, personnel) were 5 star. My husband and I are both interested in organic gardening. We found not only organic, but biodynamic methods being used at Finca Luna Nueva. We spent a wonderful 2 weeks in beautiful Costa Rica. All the places we visited/stayed were tourist friendly ... but Finca Luna Nueva stands out among them. They are on Facebook if you subscribe to such and they update their information daily.

Room Tip: There is no person-made fitness center, but there are many marked trails and guides are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaLunaNueva, Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we love your comment.

Its really nice that you learn about organic and biodynamic methods. Our idea is that you learn and enjoy in our farm. We like to offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest here at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge.

Looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We can confirm the prior reviews: the facilities are beautiful and the people are friendly and helpful. Finca Luna Nueva is an extraordinary combination of a relaxing vacation spot and serious research center. Don't miss the night tour of the rain forest with Ishmael.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an awesome experience! My friend and I came here during the "rainy" season in October. While it did definitely pour at times, I did not feel that the rain impeded our good time at all. In fact, most of the weather was gorgeous. One night it rained and thundered and we sat in the observation tower and listened to the storm. Long story short - do not avoid the "green" season - there is plenty to offer.

The farm itself is great. The whole area is full of birds and plants and looks well manicured. We stayed in a bungalow, which was clean and well kept. It was bigger than I thought and very comfortable. There are countless things to do on the farm during the day. We explored the trails and visited the pigs and other animals. We even saw a sloth up in a tree on our free farm tour.

The food was pretty good, nothing too special for the price. I will say, though, I usually have stomach problems and all of these were completely gone while staying at eating the food at the farm. It is fresh and much of it is actually from the farm or at least close by. Try the tumeric dressing. They grow the tumeric on the farm and I think I put that dressing on everything, even pancakes. It's awesome. If you dont want to eat at the farm, you can drive to La Fortuna for dinner, but it is also a little pricey/touristy.

The location is great. Rent a car and explore the hot springs, hanging bridges, Arenal volcano... if you are up to it hike Cerro Chatto. It is super hard (for a New Yorker at least...) but worth it. If you are not a tour person, you can do most of the "tours" they offer on your own by going on the trails or having a car and driving to the nearby attractions. It is nice to have someone pointing out things to you, but if you are on a budget or don't like groups it is good to have the option.

All in all, come here! We spent 4 days at the farm and exploring the nearby areas and it was GREAT GREAT GREAT.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my 3 night stay in Luna Nueva, in great part thanks to the people working there, both permanently and as interns. It seems that everyone connected to the farm is passionate about what they are doing, and very open about explaining about it as well.

The farm and gardens are absolutely magnificent, and the produce coming out of it even more so. This is what is served at the restaurant and you can taste how rich and fresh it is. In fact, everything from fauna, flora, food and people is fresh and beautiful. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at Luna Nueva In September and loved it. Was there for three nights and left feeling there was so much more to explore and experience. The food was fantastic, fresh and healthy, everyone was more than accommodating, and the commitment to sustainability was serious and well done. It was all simply fantastic. Oh, and I could LIVE in that pool - not only was it well designed aesthetically, it's so rare in the states to find a pool without chlorine. What a way to stay refreshed and invigorated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Luna Nueva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Luna Nueva Lodge

Address: San Isidro de Penas Blancas, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 158-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Luna Nueva Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge is a sustainable rainforest eco-lodge hotel, offering an intimate experience of primary rainforest together with a certified organic biodynamic farm and also we have Certification for Sustainable Tourism in Costa Rica. N 2003 we decided to take our promotion of sustainable practices to the next level by building several beautiful eco-lodges using fallen timber from the farm. Since then we have added a 50 foot high observation tower, a solar heated Jacuzzi, an ozonated swimming pool, and a handicapped accessible rainforest trail. Now you can experience the Costa Rican rainforest, learn about our farm's sustainable practices and relax in our rustic yet luxurious accommodations. Walk through well-groomed rain forest trails on our guided farm tours and hikes, eat gourmet meals prepared from our fresh organic garden produce, and witness the majesty of the Arenal Volcano. For adventure activity enthusiasts, we are located only 30 minutes from La Fortuna, the adventure capital of Costa Rica, and home of world famous Arenal Volcano. La Fortuna is a must see destination for anyone seeking a thrill, and our experienced staff will be more than happy to schedule all of your activities and tours for you. With 14 rooms and 40 beds, accommodations can be made for both the traveler looking for an intimate getaway as well as housing for large groups and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Finca Luna Nueva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Luna Nueva Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.