We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and charming family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and charming family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I really enjoyed Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal. The family is charming and very helpful, the breakfast delicious, and the cabins clean, spacious and comfortable with good showers and air conditioning. I really liked that there was a front and back porch. The back porch had two chairs, a small table and a hammock and had a beautiful garden view.
As some have said, it's a short distance out of town (about 1 mile) but a cab ride is only $3 or it is a pleasant 15 minute walk which we felt comfortable doing even late at night. Also, the host Alvaro had a menu for the best soda (Costa Rican term for restaurant) in town and would happily order for us when we didn't want to go into town and the delivery fee was $2.
It is on the road to the waterfall and the Cerro Chato hike, two of the best attractions in the La Fortuna/Arenal area.
What I liked about Cerro Azul was that it was close to town but a little out of town so that I felt that I was in the countryside where there was peace and quiet.
There is access to the river at the back of the property which I enjoyed swimming in.
It would have been perfect if there was a TV to watch at night!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
113
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The roomy cabañas (a HUGE cut above the typically small and very sparse cabinas of Costa Rica) served our needs perfectly. My wife and I took one, our 3 young-adult sons slept in the neighboring one, where rather than share the queen-sized beds they took turns (and loved) sleeping on the hammock on the back porch.

Dorm-sized refrigerators and cutlery borrowed from the owners helped us save time and money as we ate in an exquisite setting on the back porch with only the sounds of birds and the river. Roomy bathrooms with plenty of hot water, air conditioning, and comfortable queen-sized beds were obvious plusses. We didn't try out the TVs (why would we?), but the wireless and cable internet were both fast and welcome.

We opted for the breakfast at $5 p.p., típico and very tasty.

Surrounded by numerous flowers (including orchids) and blossoming and fruiting trees which attract hummingbirds and other delightful avians, the cabañas have a perfect view of Cerro Chato and the green side of Arenal.

While no glowing lava is visible from this side, you can hear eruptions and see plumes of smoke from the volcano. I wouldn't trade the relaxing atmosphere of Cerro Azul for a direct view of the lava side -- and the congestion it entails. To spend time there take a walk on the Toucan Trail near the Arenal Observatory Lodge (a bit strenuous hike for the less fit -- lots of stairs) or eat else a late afternoon / early evening meal at Linda Vista in El Castillo (lake plus volcano view).

A few minutes' walk behind the cabañas there's a peaceful river with a modest swimming hole. Resident pooch Cookie will guide you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

all you hear is the volcano, not the traffic. It worth staying here because you are away from the main road in town. Also the owner of the hotel is a great guy, very helpful and friendly. Each bungalow has a hammock on the back porch so one can sleep outside and there are very few bugs to bother you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We love this hotel! The cabins are roomy, clean, comfortable, and made of beautiful local wood. Each cabin has a deck that it's surrounded by tropical plants and Guava trees. The views of the Volcano are amazing. This place is near the city of La Fortuna, La Fortuna Waterfall, and the entrance to the El Cero del Chato Park. This is a Family owned hotel and they are wonderful hosts. You can choose to have breakfast specially made for you! Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This quiet hotel (4 cabins) is a couple of kilometers from La Fortuna. It's close enough that you can take taxis into town, but it is much easier to get around if you have a car. They were "upgrading" the road while we stayed there, so the owner let us park in his yard across the street. His wife also made us coffee in the mornings, and they were both wonderful to deal with and told us about all of the great things to see in the area. The hotel is on the road to the La Fortuna waterfall, which is definitely worth the entry fee (it goes to a non-profit that protects the area). The cabins had A/C, plenty of hot water, and good beds. Overall, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful, and the owner was awesome. Ask him about the path to the river- a quarter of a mile to a secluded spot where you can relax in the river in peace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This is a small family-run place located a few minutes outside of La Fortuna (taxi ride is a little over $2). The owner was very friendly and gracious, and our cabina was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The back patios are pleasant and private and the landscaping is lovely with flowers everywhere. You can walk down a little path through the woods to get to a beautiful little river. We sat on rocks in the river and enjoyed the cool refreshing water washing over us. It was totally private, romantic and a really special part of our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private cabin while four of his friends stayed next door in another cabin, and all of us agreed it was an excellent choice. For us it was romantic, with enough privacy from the other cabins to enjoy the hammock on our back patio in peace. The landscape is beautiful and the property is very well manicured. The owner was super helpful, giving us tips on what to do and where to eat (Soda el Rio was cheap and good, as well as the soda up the road on the way to the waterfall). The rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the service friendly. We joined his friends last minute on the trip and were able to book our room literally a day before arriving, with the staff returning our email within an hour and calling us to confirm. Five stars! *****

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list