We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Secluded and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

all you hear is the volcano, not the traffic. It worth staying here because you are away from the main road in town. Also the owner of the hotel is a great guy, very helpful and friendly. Each bungalow has a hammock on the back porch so one can sleep outside and there are very few bugs to bother you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We love this hotel! The cabins are roomy, clean, comfortable, and made of beautiful local wood. Each cabin has a deck that it's surrounded by tropical plants and Guava trees. The views of the Volcano are amazing. This place is near the city of La Fortuna, La Fortuna Waterfall, and the entrance to the El Cero del Chato Park. This is a Family owned hotel and they are wonderful hosts. You can choose to have breakfast specially made for you! Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This quiet hotel (4 cabins) is a couple of kilometers from La Fortuna. It's close enough that you can take taxis into town, but it is much easier to get around if you have a car. They were "upgrading" the road while we stayed there, so the owner let us park in his yard across the street. His wife also made us coffee in the mornings, and they were both wonderful to deal with and told us about all of the great things to see in the area. The hotel is on the road to the La Fortuna waterfall, which is definitely worth the entry fee (it goes to a non-profit that protects the area). The cabins had A/C, plenty of hot water, and good beds. Overall, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful, and the owner was awesome. Ask him about the path to the river- a quarter of a mile to a secluded spot where you can relax in the river in peace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This is a small family-run place located a few minutes outside of La Fortuna (taxi ride is a little over $2). The owner was very friendly and gracious, and our cabina was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The back patios are pleasant and private and the landscaping is lovely with flowers everywhere. You can walk down a little path through the woods to get to a beautiful little river. We sat on rocks in the river and enjoyed the cool refreshing water washing over us. It was totally private, romantic and a really special part of our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private cabin while four of his friends stayed next door in another cabin, and all of us agreed it was an excellent choice. For us it was romantic, with enough privacy from the other cabins to enjoy the hammock on our back patio in peace. The landscape is beautiful and the property is very well manicured. The owner was super helpful, giving us tips on what to do and where to eat (Soda el Rio was cheap and good, as well as the soda up the road on the way to the waterfall). The rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the service friendly. We joined his friends last minute on the trip and were able to book our room literally a day before arriving, with the staff returning our email within an hour and calling us to confirm. Five stars! *****

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of these cabinas on our honeymoon, and it was a terrific choice. It's not touristy there, but it's still close enough to everything (especially the waterfall climb and swim, which you don't want to miss unless you have physical limitations) to make it a great spot. If you want to privacy, beauty, nice owners, and your own back porch and hammock that overlooks unspoiled paradise with horses grazing nearby, this is your place. They offer a simple breakfast at a picnic table in front of the owner's house.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed here just one night, and had the place to ourselves. It was cozy, charming and quiet. It was a great bargain too! The owner is very friendly and gracious; his wife cooked us a fabulous breakfast the next morning right across the street at their home! They really made us feel welcome and showed us a true bit of Costa Rica's "pura vida."
The location has a great view of Arenal and is on the road to La Fortuna Waterfall...a must see. Our back porch afforded us great birding and butterflies, as did the entire property of Rancho Cerro Azul...we couldn't decide if it was better to hang out on the back porch or explore the front yard!
We are recommending this hidden gem to our friends, and we'll be back someday soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list