We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We love this hotel! The cabins are roomy, clean, comfortable, and made of beautiful local wood. Each cabin has a deck that it's surrounded by tropical plants and Guava trees. The views of the Volcano are amazing. This place is near the city of La Fortuna, La Fortuna Waterfall, and the entrance to the El Cero del Chato Park. This is a Family owned hotel and they are wonderful hosts. You can choose to have breakfast specially made for you! Delicious!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This quiet hotel (4 cabins) is a couple of kilometers from La Fortuna. It's close enough that you can take taxis into town, but it is much easier to get around if you have a car. They were "upgrading" the road while we stayed there, so the owner let us park in his yard across the street. His wife also made us coffee in the mornings, and they were both wonderful to deal with and told us about all of the great things to see in the area. The hotel is on the road to the La Fortuna waterfall, which is definitely worth the entry fee (it goes to a non-profit that protects the area). The cabins had A/C, plenty of hot water, and good beds. Overall, the rooms were nice, the view was beautiful, and the owner was awesome. Ask him about the path to the river- a quarter of a mile to a secluded spot where you can relax in the river in peace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

This is a small family-run place located a few minutes outside of La Fortuna (taxi ride is a little over $2). The owner was very friendly and gracious, and our cabina was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The back patios are pleasant and private and the landscaping is lovely with flowers everywhere. You can walk down a little path through the woods to get to a beautiful little river. We sat on rocks in the river and enjoyed the cool refreshing water washing over us. It was totally private, romantic and a really special part of our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private cabin while four of his friends stayed next door in another cabin, and all of us agreed it was an excellent choice. For us it was romantic, with enough privacy from the other cabins to enjoy the hammock on our back patio in peace. The landscape is beautiful and the property is very well manicured. The owner was super helpful, giving us tips on what to do and where to eat (Soda el Rio was cheap and good, as well as the soda up the road on the way to the waterfall). The rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the service friendly. We joined his friends last minute on the trip and were able to book our room literally a day before arriving, with the staff returning our email within an hour and calling us to confirm. Five stars! *****

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of these cabinas on our honeymoon, and it was a terrific choice. It's not touristy there, but it's still close enough to everything (especially the waterfall climb and swim, which you don't want to miss unless you have physical limitations) to make it a great spot. If you want to privacy, beauty, nice owners, and your own back porch and hammock that overlooks unspoiled paradise with horses grazing nearby, this is your place. They offer a simple breakfast at a picnic table in front of the owner's house.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Hotel - well cabins - are located outside the touristic town of La Fortuna, and you will probably need a car to get here (or maybe get a taxi).
The cabins are almost brand new, and there is two big beds, a hammock, fridge, balcony, A/C, a big bathroom and free WiFi.
The host is very nice, and he will fix almost everything for you and he will tell you stories from his choldhood when Arenal "exploded" for the first time. Order breakfast! It is served at his house located at the opposit side of the road.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torntojimmy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stumbled across this cute hotel late at night after a long drive from San Jose. I think it only has 4 cute cabins. It is located on a quiet sideroad just south of La Fortuna. (It's maybe 4-5 minutes to La Fortuna from here). The view from the cabins is amazing from what I can see in others reviews, but when we were there it was too cloudy to see the volcano. The cabins were very clean and orderly, well appointed, with a/c etc, even free wifi !!!

The cabins rear doors opened onto a nice raised porch with a great view of a forest and other hills with lots of wildlife and birds.

The one thing stood out about this place, more so than any other place we stayed in CR,( some costing a lot more), and that has to be the owner and his family's hospitality.
They immediately made us feel right at home, and bent over backwards to our sometimes grumpy and road-weary requests.

When it came time to plan and organize different things we wanted to do,, our host took time out to assist us with arranging everything.

A great host and family

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.