We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, Amazingly Beautiful, Would Recommend to Everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Denver, CO
1 review
“Private, Amazingly Beautiful, Would Recommend to Everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private cabin while four of his friends stayed next door in another cabin, and all of us agreed it was an excellent choice. For us it was romantic, with enough privacy from the other cabins to enjoy the hammock on our back patio in peace. The landscape is beautiful and the property is very well manicured. The owner was super helpful, giving us tips on what to do and where to eat (Soda el Rio was cheap and good, as well as the soda up the road on the way to the waterfall). The rooms were clean, the showers hot, and the service friendly. We joined his friends last minute on the trip and were able to book our room literally a day before arriving, with the staff returning our email within an hour and calling us to confirm. Five stars! *****

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    21
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
115
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, U.S.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed in one of these cabinas on our honeymoon, and it was a terrific choice. It's not touristy there, but it's still close enough to everything (especially the waterfall climb and swim, which you don't want to miss unless you have physical limitations) to make it a great spot. If you want to privacy, beauty, nice owners, and your own back porch and hammock that overlooks unspoiled paradise with horses grazing nearby, this is your place. They offer a simple breakfast at a picnic table in front of the owner's house.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

The Hotel - well cabins - are located outside the touristic town of La Fortuna, and you will probably need a car to get here (or maybe get a taxi).
The cabins are almost brand new, and there is two big beds, a hammock, fridge, balcony, A/C, a big bathroom and free WiFi.
The host is very nice, and he will fix almost everything for you and he will tell you stories from his choldhood when Arenal "exploded" for the first time. Order breakfast! It is served at his house located at the opposit side of the road.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torntojimmy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stumbled across this cute hotel late at night after a long drive from San Jose. I think it only has 4 cute cabins. It is located on a quiet sideroad just south of La Fortuna. (It's maybe 4-5 minutes to La Fortuna from here). The view from the cabins is amazing from what I can see in others reviews, but when we were there it was too cloudy to see the volcano. The cabins were very clean and orderly, well appointed, with a/c etc, even free wifi !!!

The cabins rear doors opened onto a nice raised porch with a great view of a forest and other hills with lots of wildlife and birds.

The one thing stood out about this place, more so than any other place we stayed in CR,( some costing a lot more), and that has to be the owner and his family's hospitality.
They immediately made us feel right at home, and bent over backwards to our sometimes grumpy and road-weary requests.

When it came time to plan and organize different things we wanted to do,, our host took time out to assist us with arranging everything.

A great host and family

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

This hotel is made up of four new cabinas (only 3 years old), which include 2 double beds, a small fridge, huge bathroom and two porches, one with a hammock. It is located on the walk/route to the La Fortuna waterfall and Cerro Chato trailhead. It's only about a 15-20 minute walk from the town center, but easily doable with backpacks and DEFINITELY worth it. We had a wonderful time there and got to bird watch right from one porch and volcano watch from the other. The family that owns the cabinas are super friendly and even drove us to do the Hanging Bridges (for an extra fee) and made us a delicious breakfast for $5. The owner can help you arrange tours and activities all around the area. There is access to a river nearby with a private swimming hole on their property. The cabinas are kept in excellent condition and I would recommend anyone to stay there. Since most of the activities in the Arenal area are a drive away, a lot of tours can pick you up from the hotel.

  • Liked — Charming and private
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Cerro Azul is a great place to stay when visiting La Fortuna and Arenal. The accomodations are very quaint and welcoming. Each guest has his or her own cabana with gorgeous views of the volcano. Each cabana has a front and back porch with a hammock, and it is perfect for experiencing the fresh nature around you. The owners/staff are the kindest family and live across the road. It is also important to mention that the rooms are very clean! That includes the bed sheets, the floors, and the bathroom. We are all around pleased with our stay and the traditional breakfast cooked for you each morning is just icing on the cake!

  • Liked — Privacy and beautiful, exotic nature surrounding
  • Disliked — Honestly nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

We found this place on accident. We didn't want to spend an arm and a leg in Arenal so we drove through La Fortuna and werent impressed with the hotels there. I saw a sign for the La Fortuna Waterfall and thought that would be a good way to go. Took a right off the main road and another right following the signs and it's on your left. Alvaro Aragon and his son run the property of four cabins and do tours. They were so sweet, and accomidating. It was a simple cabin, but it was air conditioned, had a fridge and was very clean. Everything seemed pretty new. Not a five star by any means, but it was such a wonderful experience and only $40 in high season for two big beds. Definately worth every penny! Our view of the volcano was breath taking!

  • Liked — The view, the owners, the waterfall tour they set up for us
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.