We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay in Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Rancho Cerro Azul in August 2014 and were extremely satisfied. It is located on a beautiful property and really does have a ranch-type feel. Alverro and the rest of the staff are very hospitable and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were all clean. There is an optional breakfast (American or typical Costa Rican style), which if you choose to take it, is very delicious.

Alverro is also very helpful in helping to find tours/guides for things to do in the Arenal area. I came away fully impressed and recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in beautiful Arenal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    43
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
72
182
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed there two nights. It was close to town with a great view of Arenal. My kids liked swimming in the river behind the cabins. The breakfast was very good although not cheap. I especially liked sitting in the hammock reading a book and watch the hummingbirds come and go from the gardens out back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

WOW. We were SOOOOOooooo relieved to arrive at our cabin here after two days of crazy travel . Our "mini house" was pristinely clean, the owners were incredibly nice, and breakfast was superb. So peaceful. We were secretly happy that it rained all afternoon so we could relax in bed and in our hammock listening to the raindrops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our family spent two nights at the Hotel Cerro Azul and enjoyed our stay overall. The staff were very friendly and the cabanas were nicely maintained and comfortable (if not huge). The back porches were especially nice for relaxing with a drink and a book. As it was very humid, we were glad to have air conditioning. The breakfast was definitely worth the $7 - good quality and delicious - especially considering that restaurants in La Fortuna are pretty expensive, overall. Actually, based on my research before leaving, a lot of the lodging in La Fortuna is fairly pricey (for a family of five) which made Hotel Cerro Azul a very good value indeed.

Lastly, the young woman with whom we interacted most at Hotel Cerro Azul had excellent English, and we were impressed that she had learned her English from the local high school and never lived in an English-speaking country - kudos to Costa Rican public schools!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place is remarkable. An oasis in its own right. We spent three weeks in Costa Rica and this was the best place we stayed. We walked to and from town every day, sometimes twice. The staff is small, professional, and very helpful in suggesting activities for anyone who wants an honest, local opinion. We stayed 13 out of our 21 days in C.R. and did not want to leave this gem!

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin furthest north.. #8. From the deck there is a great view of Volcan Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

What a great find that if not for Trip Adviser would not have found! We stayed 3 nights and the place was perfect for exploring La Fortuna. It is a bit out of town, but if I had to guess maybe only a 20 minute easy walk or so to the main downtown area and maybe 15 minutes to the nearest small grocery store and restaurant. We had a rental car but only used it for going into town for dinner as any tour we did picked us up at the front door. The owner was very helpful in addressing any needs we had and made it so easy to book tours in the area. We did the ATV and whitewater rafting tours recommended and both were wonderful. These are individual cabins that are very clean and comfortable and I would say a great value, I don't believe you will find a better value in Costa Rica. The breakfast as others have said was the best breakfast we had during our 11 day Costa Rica stay. The back porches of the cabins were wonderful to hang out in the chairs and hammock and just read and watch the local wildlife. The cabins were not huge, but had plenty of space for my boyfriend and I and 14 year old son. We also had a fridge in our room which was a luxury we did not have in any of the other more expensive places we stayed in Costa Rica and there was air conditioning. The owners want to make sure you have a great time and take care of their guests. There was not a view of the volcano from the cabin, but you could see it from the hotel grounds which was more than adequate. Would book again in a heatbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place was perfect for us. We visited Arenal with our three small children, and the separate cabins were perfect. Management was always very helpful: getting us taxis into town, recommending age appropriate activities in the area, and taking care of anything that arose. The location was great, being a 3 dollar taxi ride away from La Fortuna. The waterfall was a 7 dollar taxi ride away. It is also a short walk from a chocolate tour which we didn't have time to do. The flowers and trees on the property were beautiful. Not many bugs for a location right next to fields and a short walk to the river. There were butterflies and humming birds all around every day, and we even saw some toucans and other exotic birds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow on either end of the row. #1 or #5. We loved # 1!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.