We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We traveled to La Fortuna with a group of 4 couples. We were so happy to find Cerro Azul. They have four bungalows which worked out perfect for us. We occupied the entire place. The owner and his family are great. They gave us some excellent ideas on things to do their. We loved their "typical" breakfast each morning. The rooms were very clean and each has a private balcony with beautiful views. We found this to be an excellent value in comparison to other places we have stayed in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to relax and enjoy the Costa Rican forrest. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. There are 4 small cabin type rooms. Each has a back porch with amazing views and a hammock to relax and listen to the birds. Breakfast was amazing. I suggest the "Typicol" breakfast. We had a group of 4 couples and had the entire place which was awesome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are essentially the same but two have a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a great experience.. Alvaro runs a very good family business. Cabins are beautiful, well appointed.. They feel private and the back door opens to a small sit out with a hammock and cane chairs, his horses graze there.. All very idyllic I must say .. We ended our busy days with a glass of wine, totally chilled out and relaxed after our hiking trekking rafting etc expeditions of the day. The costa rican breakfast in the mornings was so good.. Toast, eggs, juice, great coffee, rice with pinto beans, a local cheese and sweet plantains. Great start to each day. Showers in the bath could be better - the fittings are a bit old and should be changed I think to keep pace with the quality of the rest of the property. Everything else is great. It's a wonderful choice for La Fortuna on the road to waterfall.. First day we walked up the 3kms to the waterfall for a swim. Was ideal choice as a base in Arenal for us..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Alvaro and Tatiana are all about making you feel welcome and are eager to help assist you in any way they can. Despite my asking numerous (probably repeated) questions, Tatiana patiently explained or informed me as to what I needed to know in a friendly manner. The breakfast served by Alvaro's wife is outstanding! We enjoyed eating in a relaxed way in the open air, across from a pasture. There is a river to explore in the rear of the property. La Fortuna Waterfall is located close by. The sheets on the bed did not fit well, and kept coming off and the bed was soft (in my opinion), but some people may like soft beds. We wish this family much success -- they are making many travelers happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

First of all. The owner of this property is great. We missed the hotel, how could we? the sign is so big!!!, and after a phone call the owner was waiting for us at the entrance so we couldn't miss him. Ater a warm welcome, including a welcom drink, we checked in. We were early and the room would be ready in 30minutes. They stored our lugguage and we went for lunch in La Fortuna, 3min by car. After we returned they put our luggage in the room and we where suprised. The size of the room much bigger then we expected. With a veranda on the front and back porch, 2 queensize beds, airco, satelite tv, fridge, great bathroom with real shower ( not one of those electroc once you see in CR a lot) and enough stortage space. On the back porch you have lots of nature, a hammock and lots of animals. We didn't, but our neighbours got up before sunset to see al the annimals. Breakfast the next morning is across the street, and was wonderfull. Just your typical american breakfast for one. The owner has plenty of knowledge of the arrea and has discounts with some spa's/hotsprings.

We where offered a discount if we would pay cash so keep that in mind. With onky 5 rooms this is the place to stay in la fortuna. We would recommend everybody to stay there and enjoy like we did. We wold love to have more time there, but are trip was moving forward.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naucalpan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lots of very good things have been written about this place. But even after reading some of the excellent reviews, we are amazed by the place, the calm, the charm, the harmony with the environment and the great service. Unfortunately it was at the end of our trip and we only stayed 1 night, but will will be back. Thanks to Tatiana and her familly, they are very kind and provide and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place was better than expected. Alvaro and staff's hospitality was 1st class. Tatianna was so helpful with everything, thank you. Great place, must say hello to Luna and her son. Sim in the river and relax the night away. The free wifi was a nice bonus. I normally don't eat breakfast but I am glad I did when I was there. The best value in fortuna area. Last time I stayed I was at the fortuna inn, never again. Hotel Cerro azul all the way

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.