We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place was better than expected. Alvaro and staff's hospitality was 1st class. Tatianna was so helpful with everything, thank you. Great place, must say hello to Luna and her son. Sim in the river and relax the night away. The free wifi was a nice bonus. I normally don't eat breakfast but I am glad I did when I was there. The best value in fortuna area. Last time I stayed I was at the fortuna inn, never again. Hotel Cerro azul all the way

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    21
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
114
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were only able to stay one night here due to prior reservations they had, but it was a very wonderful place. The cabins are quaint and clean and the location (amidst the lovely forest) is spectacular. It was very quiet at night (aside from the rain which was awesome to listen to), and the breakfast they served us in the morning was delicious! The girl at the front desk was extremely helpful and went out of her way to help us out. We would definitely return here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights and plan to return! The cabinas are basic, well appointed, and clean, and the grounds and location are lovely. We loved the porch with the hammock facing a lush forest and listening to the sounds of the wildlife and birds. Alvaro and his family are fantastic hosts, they helped us make reservations for a couple of activities and get directions. Breakfast on the porch each morning was fresh and delicious and made our first stop in Costa Rica one of the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment, it´s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed in our hotel, regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for just two nights and would have loved to stay more. As others have written, this is a perfect location, just outside the town, very peaceful, but a short taxi ride or walk into La Fortuna itself. The gardens are absolutely stunning with hummingbirds flitting between the beautiful flowers just outside the balcony and the breakfasts on the family patio are amazing. Alvaro, the owner, and his family are the perfect hosts. Not only do they look after you extremely well, but they also give advice on where to go and will book taxis and packages for you - a trip to the Baldi Hot Springs in the evening is a must! As we waited for our shuttle bus on the last day, Alvaro even came out with a jug of cold fruit juice to cool us down. What a wonderful stay it was. Thank you, Alvaro.

Room Tip: Only four cabins, any one of which is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Has been a honor to host you in our hotel, from all my family and me, we would to say thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first time staying here and we were glad it was located outside busy La Fortuna but within walking distance from town. Alvaro is an excellent host and keeps close security of the grounds. His wife makes an excellent breakfast which is enjoyed just across the street at Alvaro's home. The garden had many birds that entertained us while we ate. The cabin had a fridge and it needed repair but was repaired and back by the end of the day. Alvaro is quick to respond to his customer's requests and make things right. Many people walked to the La Fortuna waterfall from here but we chose to drive there. The beds were comfortable and it was a pleasure listening to the river flowing and birds singing while lounging in the hammock on the private balcony.

Room Tip: All cabins seemed similar. One couple in a cabin mentioned they had a TV but we didn't have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are glad to know that your stay was memorable, our family always work for that goal, thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Center, Ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights here. The grounds are very green and lush, with many plants in bloom. There is a little river 5 minutes behind the cabin. The area is very quiet and peaceful. There are 4 cabins. Each one has both a front and back porch with patio furniture and a hammock. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are big with plenty of hot water. Each room has a small refrigerator. The cabin and grounds are very well maintained. Everything was spotless.

Alvaro, the owner was very helpful. He gave us great suggestions on where to go and where to eat. His wife made breakfast each morning for the guests across the street at their home. She was able to accommodate our vegan diet. We looked forward each morning to Breakfast. Her fried plantains were especially good.

We will definitely go back. Everything about our stay here was perfect. This family puts a lot of effort into providing a nice place to stay. The rates are more than reasonable. The location is perfect. Not too far from Lake Arenal. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time staying here and we will definitely be back. The location was perfect- far enough from town to avoid noise and tourism, but close enough for food and such. We rented a car, which was great for trips to town and for exploring the area. You could walk to town if necessary.

Alvaro is the best host ever! He was so welcoming and informative. He showed us around and gave really valuable input throughout our stay. Breakfasts at his house were delicious- better than going into town to a soda! If Alvaro was not available, a family member was always there to help.

The cabins are comfortable and well furnished. Big bathrooms and plenty of storage for luggage. Refrigerator was great for storing snacks and drinks for our outings. We spent lots of time down at the river at the back of the property. Close & very relaxing! Also spent many hours out on the back deck, enjoying the view and nature.

You can immediately tell that Alvaro cares about his business and his guests. We were so grateful for his friendliness, helpfulness and generosity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list