We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon and it was perfect for us. The cabin and grounds were beautiful and great to be out of the main area with a short drive into town for dinner, etc. The rooms were comfortable and Alvaro was very helpful. We had breakfast each morning at their home and it was delicious. Highly recommend this to anyone who wants a more rustic and very nice place to stay. The views for the back porch are lovely and we saw the horses and many birds daily.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

How can you beat $50 per night for your own cabina, complete with front and back porch with hammock and chairs. This charming family run business has only 4 cabinas, perfect size. The grounds are lovely. Some of the best bird watching on our two week trip right from the back porch. A gentle walk to the river right out the back gate. Approx a mile from Fortuna town. Best for those with a car, but still doable with a taxi. Loved being outside the town centre with a more natural setting.
The owners wife will cook breakfast and serve on their outdoor patio(family home is right across the street). $7 per person.
Nice restaurant, decent pricing at Casa Luna hotel, walking distance (5 minutes) right up the road. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for end cabina for more privacy. I think it's number 4, best to double check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose Hotel Cerro Azul for our La Fortuna accommodation based on their Trip Advisor reviews and were SO glad we did! Everything about this beautiful little place was excellent-- the setting, the cabins, the amenities, and definitely the owner/manager Alvaro-- and we'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay that's a little out of town and right in the middle of the Costa Rican wildlife!

First, the setting. Hotel Cerro Azul is located about 1.5km out of the town of La Fortuna, on the road to the Rio Fortuna waterfall. We didn't hire a car during our stay, and while we were initially a bit put off by the distance into town, we found it to be an easy 20 minute walk with stunning views of the volcano. I'm sure we would have been able to get taxis easily enough, had we wanted to, but we didn't even bother, it was that easy a walk. As mentioned, the hotel lies on the road to the Rio Fortuna waterfall, a road which also takes you to the start of the challenging (though rewarding) Cerro Chato hike. We never made it to the waterfall (we were too exhausted after the Cerro Chato hike to handle the thought of the stairs down!), but we heard many great things about it and I'm sure we would have appreciated its proximity to our hotel.

Being just that little bit out of town also meant that we were able to right in the middle of the Costa Rican countryside. The grounds of the small hotel (with only 4 cabins and a reception desk) are green and lush, decorated with many native plants. Next door/behind the cabins is a huge paddock with a beautiful horse, and we spent many hours lying in the hammock of our balcony, watching the many birds and squirrels go about their day. The small number of cabins meant that the place was always extremely quiet and peaceful, which is what you want to truly enjoy Costa Rica!

The rooms themselves are great. The beds were comfortable, TV had lots of cable stations, the fridge was nice and roomy, showers were clean and strong; everything was perfect!
And then there was Alvaro. The man is brilliant! So sweet and helpful, he was always happy to accommodate our every desire. He can arrange any excursion or activity you want, and gave excellent recommendations as to the best things to do during your trip. He was sweet enough to let us leave our things in our cabin for almost a full day after we checked out, and then organised for his son to drive us to our next hotel, just outside of town! He really is such a sweetheart.
Overall, a fantastic place to stay, if you want to get a true taste of Costa Rica (instead of being caught up in the mini-America that is La Fortuna), and highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We ended up staying here because I could not get a reservation for one of the nights of our stay. What a wonderful surprise! The cabin was immaculate. The owner is so nice! It is quiet and in the woods, so you really feel like you are in nature. (Unlike the large hotels with pools in the area). He provided us breakfast in his home across the street, which was great. It was also very convenient to see the waterfall and we went swimming there. Also convenient to the main area for dinner. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay away from the crowds and large and fancy hotels. The bathroom was huge by the way!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Cerra Azul and couldn't have been happier with our arrangement. The owner, Alvorro (sp?), was exceptionally hospitable. You could tell he takes a great deal of pride in his property....as well as his Trip Advisor rating. That goes a long way. He was quite concerned with our satisfaction, and as a result, we were quite satisfied!

There are four private cabinas on the well-maintained and nicely landscaped property, which is located just a minute or two outside La Fortuna, which was perfect. Our other option was a hotel in town, which looked nice, but we didn't have to contend with street noise at Cerra Azul. A big plus. Yet we were close enough to town to pop in and out of town as we wished (we had a car). The cabinas are located on the road that leads to the waterfall--a very worthwhile excursion. You can hike straight up from the cabin (maybe add 30-45 minutes), or drive up and hike from there (20 minutes?). Wear your swimsuit and take a dip in the pool under the falls.

If you're up for a more ambitious hike, be sure to head up the road, and when you get to entrance to the falls, take the road to the right to the Cerro Chato trailhead. It's a 2-hour hike straight up the side of the mountain (and then 1 to 1 1/2 down). No switchbacks--it's very intense, but the reward is worth it: a swim in a bright green lake that was once a volcano.

Those are two excursions readily accessible from Cerra Azul. Of course, the many, many adventures the Arenal area offers are well documented, so I won't go into those.

The cabinas were quite nice. Nothing fancy, but very nice. Satellite TV (satellite didn't always work), A/C, hot water, decent bed, nice back patio with hammock (and vegetation made it feel isolated, even though the next cabina wasn't far). The bathroom was surprisingly large.

Breakfast was included and served on the owner's front porch, directly across the street, each morning. Eating at their home made the experience feel that much more hospitable. I'll be honest, we grew tired of typico food by our vacation's end, but her typico breakfast was fantastic!

We'd stay at Cerra Azul again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights (could of stayed so much longer). The cabin was perfect for the four of us. The small porch with hammock was a nice touch. The room was very clean and the flora and fauna outside your room was beautiful. There is an air conditioner that worked great and a mini frig which came in handy There is a great view of Arenal right outside your cabin. Alvaro was a great host along with his wife who made us a delicious breakfast each morning. We had commented our first morning how much we loved their plantains and the next morning she comes out with extra for us all!! The personal touch and friendliness made this place wonderful. Highly recommend staying here. Close to downtown Arenal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family of four stayed here during a vacation in July 2012. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we stayed at Cerro Azul for the first 3 nights. What a fabulous first impression of this welcoming and beautiful country! The cabins were spacious and clean and the air conditioning kept the room cool and DRY - very inportant to us as the climate is extremely humid and we're not fond of damp feeling sheets & pillows! Each cabin is surrounded by beautiful flowers and greenery, making each one seem private even though they are quite close to one another. The back deck with hammock was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or sneak in a quick nap between outings. Alvaro, the owner, is very friendly, hospitable and helpful. He even treated our family to a short hike to a beautiful river on his property, pointing out all sorts of interesting plants and animals along the way. His wife makes the most delicious breakfasts - the best we had while in Costa Rica. We found the location to be just perfect for us - close enough to make a quick 5 minute trip to town but far enough away to escape the noise of the busy little town of La Fortuna. Overall, we were very happy that we chose to begin our vacation at Cerro Azul and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list