We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, and large cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, and large cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We ended up staying here because I could not get a reservation for one of the nights of our stay. What a wonderful surprise! The cabin was immaculate. The owner is so nice! It is quiet and in the woods, so you really feel like you are in nature. (Unlike the large hotels with pools in the area). He provided us breakfast in his home across the street, which was great. It was also very convenient to see the waterfall and we went swimming there. Also convenient to the main area for dinner. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay away from the crowds and large and fancy hotels. The bathroom was huge by the way!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    22
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
48
121
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Cerra Azul and couldn't have been happier with our arrangement. The owner, Alvorro (sp?), was exceptionally hospitable. You could tell he takes a great deal of pride in his property....as well as his Trip Advisor rating. That goes a long way. He was quite concerned with our satisfaction, and as a result, we were quite satisfied!

There are four private cabinas on the well-maintained and nicely landscaped property, which is located just a minute or two outside La Fortuna, which was perfect. Our other option was a hotel in town, which looked nice, but we didn't have to contend with street noise at Cerra Azul. A big plus. Yet we were close enough to town to pop in and out of town as we wished (we had a car). The cabinas are located on the road that leads to the waterfall--a very worthwhile excursion. You can hike straight up from the cabin (maybe add 30-45 minutes), or drive up and hike from there (20 minutes?). Wear your swimsuit and take a dip in the pool under the falls.

If you're up for a more ambitious hike, be sure to head up the road, and when you get to entrance to the falls, take the road to the right to the Cerro Chato trailhead. It's a 2-hour hike straight up the side of the mountain (and then 1 to 1 1/2 down). No switchbacks--it's very intense, but the reward is worth it: a swim in a bright green lake that was once a volcano.

Those are two excursions readily accessible from Cerra Azul. Of course, the many, many adventures the Arenal area offers are well documented, so I won't go into those.

The cabinas were quite nice. Nothing fancy, but very nice. Satellite TV (satellite didn't always work), A/C, hot water, decent bed, nice back patio with hammock (and vegetation made it feel isolated, even though the next cabina wasn't far). The bathroom was surprisingly large.

Breakfast was included and served on the owner's front porch, directly across the street, each morning. Eating at their home made the experience feel that much more hospitable. I'll be honest, we grew tired of typico food by our vacation's end, but her typico breakfast was fantastic!

We'd stay at Cerra Azul again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights (could of stayed so much longer). The cabin was perfect for the four of us. The small porch with hammock was a nice touch. The room was very clean and the flora and fauna outside your room was beautiful. There is an air conditioner that worked great and a mini frig which came in handy There is a great view of Arenal right outside your cabin. Alvaro was a great host along with his wife who made us a delicious breakfast each morning. We had commented our first morning how much we loved their plantains and the next morning she comes out with extra for us all!! The personal touch and friendliness made this place wonderful. Highly recommend staying here. Close to downtown Arenal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family of four stayed here during a vacation in July 2012. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we stayed at Cerro Azul for the first 3 nights. What a fabulous first impression of this welcoming and beautiful country! The cabins were spacious and clean and the air conditioning kept the room cool and DRY - very inportant to us as the climate is extremely humid and we're not fond of damp feeling sheets & pillows! Each cabin is surrounded by beautiful flowers and greenery, making each one seem private even though they are quite close to one another. The back deck with hammock was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or sneak in a quick nap between outings. Alvaro, the owner, is very friendly, hospitable and helpful. He even treated our family to a short hike to a beautiful river on his property, pointing out all sorts of interesting plants and animals along the way. His wife makes the most delicious breakfasts - the best we had while in Costa Rica. We found the location to be just perfect for us - close enough to make a quick 5 minute trip to town but far enough away to escape the noise of the busy little town of La Fortuna. Overall, we were very happy that we chose to begin our vacation at Cerro Azul and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a couple of nights in July during our 8-day vacation in Costa Rica, but I wish we would have spent our entire vacation here at Cerro Azul!! We stayed in our own personal cabin, which was spacious and comfortable. The rooms were very clean with air conditioning and a mini fridge. The back porch was amazing with a table, hammock and a beautiful view of the La fortuna flora and fauna! Every morning we saw tons of beautiful birds, including humming birds and toucans. In the late afternoons we would see a mama and baby horse that would graze behind our cabin and we'd also see coatis (basically Costa Rican raccons) right before nightfall.
The owner of the Cerro Azul was another absolutely wonderful aspect of this place. He and his family were very warm and welcoming. The owner provided free breakfast for all of his guest every morning at his home. His wife made the best breakfast! Cerro Azul is also down the road from a beautiful waterfall. It is a bit of a trek but if you are up for it, it is well worth the walk.
We used Nature Air Adventure Tours while in La Fortuna, which was incredibly convenient because they picked us up from Cerro Azul for our tours and brought us back when they were over.
My stay in La Fortuna at Hotel Cerro Azul was by far the best vacation experience I've ever had and I can't wait to return to Cerro Azul next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights in La Fortuna at the Hotel Cerro Azul. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Alvaro, the hotel owner. He showed us to our modest cabin, which was tidy and cozy. Although our cabin didn’t have a TV (we were told the other three do), it did have a bar fridge and an AC unit. The back porch of the cabins were a great place to just relax. Unfortunately, like another trip advisor reviewer, we did find some mould in the bathrooms, and there was only cold water from the showers (something we kind of expected). We didn’t bring a laptop with us (they do have wifi connection), but internet cafes were easy enough to find in town when we wanted to send emails.


Alvaro was very friendly and in his simple English was able to book for us a tour to hike around Arenal National Park. He also recommended some restaurants in town - we liked eating at Soda Visquez, and ordered the casados from there more than once. Breakfast prepared by Alvaro’s wife was delicious. We loved the traditional pinto (beans cooked with rice) with cheese and sour cream, scrambled eggs and an assortment of fresh fruit. We still think the breakfast pinto here was the best that we had on our entire trip.

The hotel was located approximately 2-3 outside of the main town of La Fortuna. Everything was within walking distance. We simply walked into town for lunch and dinner. It was also just as easy to grab a red cab (which was nice during the rainy season downpours), and it cost only a few dollars for the ride. From the hotel, we walked to the waterfalls (it’s definitely do-able), but chose to take a cab to the Eco Termales hot springs.

For reasonably priced accommodations in La Fortuna, we would definitely recommend Hotel Cerro Azul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is great! I really liked it, it's cute and cozy, but you need a car. Not that this place is far from town, but there aren't any amenities. So once you are in, without a car, you are staying in your room the rest of the time. The shower water pressure can use some help, and there is a little mold in the shower. Alvaro and his wife are very welcoming. Do not attempt to walk to the waterfall. It's only 2 miles away...but it's a brutal 2 miles up a hill.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arenal Blue Hill Hotel is located in an ideal area for rest. It is surrounded by tropical gardens and great scenic views; just the perfect place to relax and make the most of a memorable timeOur spacious cabins are equipped with hot water, two queen size beds, a mini bar, and terrace. They also have air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.