We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights (could of stayed so much longer). The cabin was perfect for the four of us. The small porch with hammock was a nice touch. The room was very clean and the flora and fauna outside your room was beautiful. There is an air conditioner that worked great and a mini frig which came in handy There is a great view of Arenal right outside your cabin. Alvaro was a great host along with his wife who made us a delicious breakfast each morning. We had commented our first morning how much we loved their plantains and the next morning she comes out with extra for us all!! The personal touch and friendliness made this place wonderful. Highly recommend staying here. Close to downtown Arenal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    22
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
124
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family of four stayed here during a vacation in July 2012. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we stayed at Cerro Azul for the first 3 nights. What a fabulous first impression of this welcoming and beautiful country! The cabins were spacious and clean and the air conditioning kept the room cool and DRY - very inportant to us as the climate is extremely humid and we're not fond of damp feeling sheets & pillows! Each cabin is surrounded by beautiful flowers and greenery, making each one seem private even though they are quite close to one another. The back deck with hammock was a great place to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or sneak in a quick nap between outings. Alvaro, the owner, is very friendly, hospitable and helpful. He even treated our family to a short hike to a beautiful river on his property, pointing out all sorts of interesting plants and animals along the way. His wife makes the most delicious breakfasts - the best we had while in Costa Rica. We found the location to be just perfect for us - close enough to make a quick 5 minute trip to town but far enough away to escape the noise of the busy little town of La Fortuna. Overall, we were very happy that we chose to begin our vacation at Cerro Azul and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a couple of nights in July during our 8-day vacation in Costa Rica, but I wish we would have spent our entire vacation here at Cerro Azul!! We stayed in our own personal cabin, which was spacious and comfortable. The rooms were very clean with air conditioning and a mini fridge. The back porch was amazing with a table, hammock and a beautiful view of the La fortuna flora and fauna! Every morning we saw tons of beautiful birds, including humming birds and toucans. In the late afternoons we would see a mama and baby horse that would graze behind our cabin and we'd also see coatis (basically Costa Rican raccons) right before nightfall.
The owner of the Cerro Azul was another absolutely wonderful aspect of this place. He and his family were very warm and welcoming. The owner provided free breakfast for all of his guest every morning at his home. His wife made the best breakfast! Cerro Azul is also down the road from a beautiful waterfall. It is a bit of a trek but if you are up for it, it is well worth the walk.
We used Nature Air Adventure Tours while in La Fortuna, which was incredibly convenient because they picked us up from Cerro Azul for our tours and brought us back when they were over.
My stay in La Fortuna at Hotel Cerro Azul was by far the best vacation experience I've ever had and I can't wait to return to Cerro Azul next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights in La Fortuna at the Hotel Cerro Azul. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Alvaro, the hotel owner. He showed us to our modest cabin, which was tidy and cozy. Although our cabin didn’t have a TV (we were told the other three do), it did have a bar fridge and an AC unit. The back porch of the cabins were a great place to just relax. Unfortunately, like another trip advisor reviewer, we did find some mould in the bathrooms, and there was only cold water from the showers (something we kind of expected). We didn’t bring a laptop with us (they do have wifi connection), but internet cafes were easy enough to find in town when we wanted to send emails.


Alvaro was very friendly and in his simple English was able to book for us a tour to hike around Arenal National Park. He also recommended some restaurants in town - we liked eating at Soda Visquez, and ordered the casados from there more than once. Breakfast prepared by Alvaro’s wife was delicious. We loved the traditional pinto (beans cooked with rice) with cheese and sour cream, scrambled eggs and an assortment of fresh fruit. We still think the breakfast pinto here was the best that we had on our entire trip.

The hotel was located approximately 2-3 outside of the main town of La Fortuna. Everything was within walking distance. We simply walked into town for lunch and dinner. It was also just as easy to grab a red cab (which was nice during the rainy season downpours), and it cost only a few dollars for the ride. From the hotel, we walked to the waterfalls (it’s definitely do-able), but chose to take a cab to the Eco Termales hot springs.

For reasonably priced accommodations in La Fortuna, we would definitely recommend Hotel Cerro Azul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is great! I really liked it, it's cute and cozy, but you need a car. Not that this place is far from town, but there aren't any amenities. So once you are in, without a car, you are staying in your room the rest of the time. The shower water pressure can use some help, and there is a little mold in the shower. Alvaro and his wife are very welcoming. Do not attempt to walk to the waterfall. It's only 2 miles away...but it's a brutal 2 miles up a hill.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our party of six rented three cabins for a 3 night stay in La Fortuna. Alvaro greeted us with a warm welcome upon our arrival. It is a small property with 4 cabins and we rented 3 of them. They have front and back porches with local wood furniture, hammocks and sweet hummingbirds outside your window. They have 2 double beds and lots of room in the bathrooms. Basic but charming. (A/C, Wi-Fi, sky TV in 3 of the cabins). The only thing more charming than the cabins themselves were Alvaro and his lovely wife who live directly across the street. We had a home cooked breakfast each morning on the porch of Alvaro’s house. We had a choice of a local or American menu; both including a plate of fresh fruit for $5 per person. We arranged daily excursions of zip lining and white water rafting with Desafio and they picked us up each morning from the cabins. Alvaro was in his hammock watching over the cabins each night when we returned. He recommended good “Tico” restaurants nearby. We suggest Vasquez Soda for personalize service by the owner and delicious rice pudding for dessert. The cabins are a 5 min drive to the town, markets and an AMAZING waterfall.

Room Tip: Three of the four cabins had TVs with Sky Satellite, so check with Alvaro if you need a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We checked in on Sunday July 15th after a long ride through the country from San Jose to La Fortuna. We were welcomed warmly by the owner/host of the property Alvaro at the reception desk which is located near the 4 bungalows. He gave us some information with his modest english skills, and mentioned that he lived right across the street if we needed anything after the reception desk was closed. He sold us on a visit to Baldi Hot Springs which was about 15 minutes away because the entrance was cheap and it was open late. The net morning we ate breakfast in the patio outside his house (an extra $6US charge per person and well worth it). The two breakfasts we had while we were there were some of the best meals we had in the area which is not known for good food. The room was clean, well maintained and had an remote controlled A/C, mini fridge, wi-fi, and outdoor deck with a table and a hammock. It also overlooked a nice farm area which we were told had animal which we may be able to see at night. We found out the first night that animals meant insects and birds. On the morning of check out, Alvaro helped with a cab and sent us on our way to the Caribbean coast. Please note that you should double check any information you get from Alvaro (or anyone for that matter) because he gave us the wrong bus information for our trip to Puerto Viejo which resulted in an 11.5 hour trip on 5 buses. We found out later it is better to use Interbus not the public buses for this route.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and all of them are pretty nice, but we stayed in room 2 if that helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerro Azul Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.