We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Beautiful location with arenal volcano overlooking you.  Comfortable cabins. Great breakfast at very reasonable price. Alvaro was very helpful with suggesting places to visit, local restaurants and tours. We stayed three nights but should probably have stayed one more day to make the most of the area. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    32
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
153
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Nice, clean private cabin with front and back porch. Back porch has hammock and table with chairs and looks out onto the farm land for nice and relaxing evenings. Great view of Arenal Volcano from front steps. Amazing home cooked breakfast! Owner very friendly and helpful in making travel arrangements.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our family of four stayed in two cabins for two nights and found the location, cleanliness and service great. Alvaro and his family own 20-plus acres several miles outside of La Fortuna and just down the road from the waterfalls. The property has a fantastic view of the volcano, beautiful flowers, and hiking trails to the La Fortuna River. The cabins were made from trees on the property and feature both back and front porches...perfect for relaxing after a busy day. Our cabins had air conditioning, satellite tv, two queen sized beds and most importantly to me were very clean. Alvaro and Lorena take great pride in their hotel and go out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and "at home;" in fact they host a filling and tasty breakfast on the porch of their home, which is just across the street from the hotel. Alvaro booked a white water rafting tour for us with Agua Brava, which was one of the highlights of our trip. If you want the personal touch on your trip to Costa Rica, stay at Hotel Cerro Azul-- you will be pleased.

Room Tip: You have to ask for cabins with the televisions, if you want TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The cabins were just what we needed...a nice comfortable place with a great view and also close to the places we wanted to visit. Rancho Cerro Azul was just the place. The cabins are rustic but comfortable with A/C and a great hammock to relax in after a long day of hiking.

Alvaro and his wife are very sweet. We opted for the breakfast every morning and it was delicious. Cookie...their dog...is a cutie as well and participated in the breakfast.

This is your place if you are not looking for the opulence of a major resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Cerro Azul for three nights over Memorial Day weekend (May 28 - 31) as the first part of our Costa Rican vacation. When we visited the Arenal area we wanted to stay at a place where we felt like we could relax and it wouldn't be a resort with a bunch of tourists. Well, Alvaro and the Hotel Cerro Azul delivered! From making arrangements before we arrived to helping us plan (and getting us discounts on) which hot spring, canopy tour, or restaurant to visit Alvaro really was amazing. In addition to the lovely hospitality he and his family showed us, the accommodations were perfect and the setting was beautiful. We truly couldn't have asked for more.

Alvaro arranged all of our transportation ahead of time, but when our flight was delayed more than 2 hours coming in from the US we were worried that no one would be at the airport to pick us up. No problem; Alvaro was waiting with a smile at the airport in San Jose himself to pick us up. And when we arrived at the hotel his wife had coffee and snacks waiting for us. Such wonderful hospitality! Every morning we had breakfast on the front porch of Alvaro's house (across the street from the cabins) and it was so delicious!

As for the accommodations, they were great too. The cabins were built from trees on Alvaro's farm and they are really well made. They provided privacy and the back porch was so relaxing as it looked onto beautiful plants and flowers and a field where horses graze. They also have air conditioning which was nice to switch on while sleeping.

Just beyond the field where the horses graze is a path that leads down to the river which was another peaceful world itself hidden in the jungle. With such a great location, just outside of town with a wonderful view of the volcano and close to the LaFortuna waterfall which we walked up the road to, the Hotel Cerro Azul really exceeded all of our expectations.

We recommend this place to everyone and if we find ourselves in Costa Rica again we will be sure to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife, 5 young boys, and retired parents stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations and our overall experience. In order of importance to us; we felt secure, the air conditioners were icy cold, the shower's had endless hot water, the rooms were spacious, the wi-fi internet worked well, the resort is close to attractions, and last but certainly not least, the owner Alvaro and his dear wife were so friendly, accommodating and helpful. I even booked a tour through Alvaro because he offered a better price and it was convenient to do so. Also, like the pictures on their website, you have an excellent view of the volcano from their grounds. We took a family picture one morning without a cloud in the sky. My kids loved the hammocks, roaming the grounds, and playing in the stream behind the property. Notes: My parents saw a toucan from their porch. We took 3 rooms to house all of us and it was comfortable and affordable. I would have shared breakfast with Alvaro's family more than once but my children are so loud and restless that I didn't want to drive him crazy or disrupt others.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have televisions. If this is important then ask when scheduling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neot HaKikar, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here our last 2 nights in Costa Rica.The cabins are simple,super clean,and very roomy.Wifi,a small refridgerator ,and AC, along with 2 comfy beds....what more could you ask for.
The owner was very helpful and informative.
I highly reccomend their breakfast.
Location is very nice,not far from la Fortuna,and close to local activities.
We plan on staying here again when we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.