We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza Guest House to your Saves list
La Terraza Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Grecia B&B and Inns
Liberia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

For those who love beautlful gardens; the sound of water trickling over river rock; classy accommodations; friendly innkeepers and great food; La Terraza is the place for you. Charles and Jeanetta Owens are great hosts with a down-home spirit that welcomes you into their family. Every aspect of the grounds, rooms and other facilities are immaculate. The staff is well-trained to provide high quality service. I've stayed in B&Bs costing 4 times the price, but they didn't come close to my stay at La Terraza.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
94
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etiwanda California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

My husband and I vacationed in Costa Rica for a month. Of all the places we stayed, La Terraza was the most pleasant experience. Charles and Jeanneta's hospitality is second to none. A very peaceful and serene enviroment. The breakfast is outstanding. the best in Costa Rica. The sound of the river, the relaxing evenings in the jacuzzi were wonderful. Great location, and top shelf service. They helped provide one of the best vacations we have ever experienced. We highly recommend La Terraza. We will stay here again.

Ray and Mona

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

We stayed in La Terraza for 5 days, though initially we planned to spend only 3. Yes, we liked it that much! Don’t be fooled by "B&B": it feels like a 5-star hotel. The room was immaculate, as if from a designer’s catalog. You have everything you need: your own entrance, bathroom, balcony, microwave, coffee maker, satellite TV, and even some popcorn if you need a snack. There is an outdoor hot tub.

The warm and kind owners Jeanetta and Charles immediately made us feel at home. We loved listening to their stories over a delicious and plentiful breakfast. We enjoyed their company a lot. If you plan to do sightseeing, they will gladly help you with that, too. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained. We especially enjoyed the soothing sounds of a river cutting through the property.

We are sure La Terraza will exceed your expectations! We can’t wait to return to Costa Rica and stay in La Terraza again.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

Located 30 miles from the San Jose (Costa Rica) airport, on the ridges of Greca is a small paradise called La Terraza. The view over the gardens and across the babbling brook was gorgeous. From our room we left the sliding deck door open to hear the babbling brook as we slept. We enjoyed meals on the back porch over looking the beautiful flowers, and enjoyed seeing the colorful birds and butterflys that are not present at home. The food was great and the company of Jeanetta and Charles, the owners was great. When I asked Charles to let me know if he was going to sell the place anytime within the next 5 years, he laughed and said, "I'll put you on the list". As we plan our next trip to Grecia, we are still reminiscing about this little slice of heaven. See you there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, Ca.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

Such a great place to stay. Very Clean and Comfortable Spacious rooms with Cable TV, Hot Water, and outside sitting areas on each room with wonderful views. The grounds are so beautiful and are immaculatly maintained. The breakfast with all the fresh fruit and great food was terrific. Jeanetta and Charles are wonderful people and make you feel right at home. I would recommend La Terraza to anyone and certainly would not even consider staying anywhere else when I return.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

We have just returned from a 3-1/2 week trip to Costa Rica. Although we had already booked and paid for two private homes, we wanted to visit the Grecia area and absolutely visit the La Terraza B&B.
It was everything and more than we had anticipated.
Nestled away in a small area, no one would expect such a beautiful home. The gardens were spectacular.
We arrived tired and weary, but we were welcomed with a wonderful dinner prepared by Jeanetta's cook, Christina and her housekeeper, Xinia.
The next day we were to leave, but had problems
with our rental car, so we stayed another day.
Jeanetta and her gardener, Carlos, drove us around
to see Escazu and Santa Anna. We had so much fun.
We stopped at PriceClub and ate lunch at TGIFs.
Breakfast was prepared on two days during our stay.
It was fit for a King.
We can't say enough about the caring staff and Jeanetta's hospitality.
This Bed and Breakfast is truly a rare jewel.

Clifton and Jessica, Plano, Texas

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
I am a romantic, anniversaries celebrating life together is just something very special for us here. You should see how we flip out when a guest tells us they are on their honeymoon. What was nice about this anniversary celebration is that we could take part in it. We staged it real good by inviting friends over. In Costa Rica we always find a reason to celebrate.

My staff and I enjoyed serving you and we hope that God grants you many, many more years. Thanks for allowing us the priviledge of helping you to celebrate a very special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

Upon arriving at LaTerraza we were greatly surprised with Charles' and Jeanettas' willingness to take us in and feed us and make us feel at home as we recovered from 12 hours of travel.
Christina, Seinya (sp?) and of course Carlos (Employees) were more than attentive to our needs in helping us get settled in and relaxed.
The down to earth Owners of LaTerreza as well as the help exceeded our expectations !!

Sign me,
Satisfied!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House

Address: Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast with mini guest suites and a vacation apartment. We are located very close to the San Jose Airport. Our guest house features Luxury accommodations, great views, privacy, good service. Each suite is furnished with Nicaraguan wicker and Bamboo, the beds have semi-orthopedic mattresses. Unlike other guest houses our in suite bathrooms are furnished with large fluffy towel sets, tropical scented large bars of soap. Open the sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. Enjoy the views of the gardens and river. Upon arrival to the guest house we will prepare a meal or a snack for you. We are conveniently located just 2 km from Grecia Central. Airport transportation is 35.00us each way. A full breakfast is included in the price, other meals can be prepared upon at an additional cost upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Costa Rica/Grecia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.