We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, and Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Terraza Guest House to your Saves list
La Terraza Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Grecia B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, and Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Hubby & I stayed for one night in the first floor apartment. We were picked up by Gerardo from domestic airport and driven back to the Inn. When we arrived Christina had made us a very healthy and delicious lunch of babeque chicken, rice, beans, and salad. She had even made banana bread for us! Yummy! Later that evening Jeanetta ordered us a pizza to snack on and it tasted really good! The pizza had hearts of palm on it! The apt. was very clean & comfortable and we felt safe and relaxed! We had to leave La Terraza at 6:00 am to catch our flight back home to US. Christina and Jenetta were up and at the breakfast table to serve us and talk to us before we left! Talk about going that extra mile! We loved La Terraza for all that it had to offer and we'll be back next time with friends! BTW the river out back was soothing and relaxing and noise put us right to sleep!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for the review. I am glad that we were able to be of service and we look forward to you both returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
90
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Coming for a stay at La Terraza is like visiting a special relative who pampers you and makes you feel like a queen (or king). It starts with a wonderful authentic welcome by the owner, Jeanetta Owens that is heartfelt and sincere. Jeanetta makes you feel as if you can hand all your troubles over to her and she will fix them. The property is magical, with a wild assortment of tropical flora and fauna designed to dazzle the eye and calm frayed nerves. A wonderful spirit fills every inch of this space with peace, calmness, serenity and joy. Yes, joy! The fluttering of the hummingbirds or the sound of water trickling over the stones makes for a joyous start or ending to the day.
The service is outstanding, with a team of folks catering to your every whim. Breakfast is when you want it, the way you want it, and any reasonable demand is met. My request for avocado for breakfast was met with other fresh in-season fruit and the best coffee I’ve ever had. One could use La Terraza as a jumping off point to someplace else, or one could just walk the grounds, find a calm spot near a babbling brook and let go and relax.
The hostess, Jeanetta, is really who makes a stay at this bed and breakfast a delight. She is a wonderfully intuitive woman, with a playful spirit who almost knows what you want before you ask for it. Whether you want to isolate in your room all day and enjoy the quiet or hang out and chat, Jeanetta will meet your needs. Her staff of Christine and Geraldo also carries this wonderful spirit of helping to make your stay a pleasant memory that you will take with you forever. Pack your bags and go now and welcome in advance to paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the running stream for a peaceful night's sleep. This room includes a pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We also thank you for all the tips you gave us about herbs and other vegetation. It was quite an experience having you here. We enjoyed giving you service so very, very much and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

First of all, a warm thank you to Jeanetta for the warm hospitality and conversation! We had a wonderful time at LaTerraza just resting and watching all the beautiful hummingbirds flying around. I would picture LaTerraza as the Garden of Eden, as it was so beautiful to sit and stare at the beautiful landscape and hear all the sounds of nature! What is so nice about LaTerraza is that Jeanetta really cares about your well-being. She wants to make your stay as welcoming as possible. I had a cough while I was there and Christina, her cook, made me a glass of honey and lemon to take to bed with me every evening! It's little extra's like this that make LaTerraza charming! We stayed in the apartment, which had all the amenities, and we had Christina cook dinner for us while we were there, and she put it in the refrigerator and we just heated it up when we came home! It was a pleasant surprise to see fresh-baked blueberry bread on our counter when arrived home!
I look forward to revisiting LaTerraza time and time again! It was truly a blessing to meet these wonderful people and now call them friends! Thank you all for making my husbands and my vacation a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment with a kitchen, which was nice to have so much room. I have seen the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Kathy sorry it took so long for me to respond to your beautiful review. We sure enjoyed your husband and your visit with us and are looking forward to your return. We thank God for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had an opportunity to send another week at La Terazza. As always the food was good, follow guests interesting and a hoot with Jeanetta. Chris, Jackie and Geraldo added extra services and touches that made me feel right at home.

I had an opportunity to enjoy several days in the spacious apartment and then in massive suite in the main house. Every need was met by the staff without hesitation. The gardens and squirrels and birds also provided some relaxing entertainment. All-in-all a top notch visit.

Room Tip: Suite in the Main House is great place to relax and refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Sorry it took so long for me to respond to this review. Thank you so much. I sure hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I picked La Terraza for our 46th anniversary celebration. Jeanetta really has a wonderful property, and her warm personality, enthusiasm, and desire to make our stay as perfect as possible were appreciated.

We stayed for 11 days in the apartment. It is well furnished and comfortable. three ceiling fans keep it comfortable during the warm part of the day. I enjoyed sitting on the patio in the morning, sipping coffee, reading, and listening to the birds and the river.

Cristina prepared the meals, and was happy to tailor the menu to our tastes. Jeraldo provided taxi service when we wanted/needed to go into town.

My wife is in a wheelchair, so she appreciated the grab bars in the walk-in shower. And the staff all went out of their way to accommodate anything my wife needed (including making a ramp so we could get the wheelchair in and out of the apartment door).

For all the features, I felt the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The apartment was wonderful. We didn't see the suites, so I cannot comment. when we go back, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many times when we get customers who have mobility difficulties its hard to guess what they need. We want to thank you for supplying us with all the information we needed to be able to provide you with the best of service. It was your input that gave us guidance as how to not only serve you and your wife but also in serving others that may have the same difficulties. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We decided to spend the first night and the last two nights of our honeymoon at La Terraza, and we are grateful that we did. Jeannetta was an incredible host and Christina (while speaking just a little bit of English) was amazing as well.

We arrived after a long day of flying and were immediately in awe of the property. The grounds were perfectly landscaped and it was so quiet that we instantly felt completely relaxed. Our first night was the day before Good Friday, so everything in Grecia was closed for the holiday. Taking this into account, Chris prepared a tasty dinner for us and had it ready in our rooms to eat at our leisure.

Breakfast all 3 mornings was delicious and made to order. If available, anything we desired was prepared for us.

At the end of our trip, we returned for the final two nights. A couple celebrating their 46th wedding anniversary was also visiting and Jeannetta and Chris threw a joint party for us complete with southern style BBQ chicken and ribs, potato salad, and chocolate cake. After eating throughout Costa Rica for 12 days, this was a welcome reminder of home.

All in all, we are so glad that we began and ended our trip to Costa Rica at La Terraza. Jeannetta and Chris were amazing hosts and seemed genuinely excited to help us, answer questions, and make us feel at home.

Positives:
1) great hosts and tasty food!
2) wifi was available in our room even though we thought it would only be available in the common areas. This was great as we were able to look into things before venturing out into the country.
3) amazing garden and grounds
4) short and easy drive to and from the airport.
5) very reasonable price for what you get.

Negatives:
1) The bed was a little hard and uncomfortable, but we were so tired (from a long day of flying at the beginning of our vacation and just general travel weariness at the end of the trip) that sleep was not an issue.
2) The ceiling fan was very loose and made a lot of noise when turned on. We also couldn't feel any air coming from it at all so we just slept with the sliding patio door open. The weather was so pleasant so we decided not to bring this up during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So my bed was hard, the word is firm (smile). We had a blast with you both. It was very exciting talking to young people, getting the scoop on what is really happening in our world. You both have such a bright outlook of the future and that was so good to hear. We would like to take credit word your marriage success since you started your honeymoon with us and ended it with us. Sorry about the fan, we did not find out about it until the next customer. Sure wish you would have told us. The next person that came got a little shocked. It's up and running now. That was a great chocolate cake Chris baked for your celebration, she gave me a slice of it Sunday. That cake was almost worth breaking your diet for. Thanks for including us in your honeymoon plans. Come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Jeannetta is a modern " Auntie Mamet". Just fabulous. Na booming voice, an all encompassing personality, with a fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Her rooms and gardens are imacculate and her breakfast is superb! Stay! You will enjoy everything about La Terrazza!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
This review has to be a classic review. I'm lost for words really and that does not happen very often. What a wonderful comparison, it is to bad that Chris can't fully understand it but I tried my best. We are so pleased that you were pleased. The fact is God has just tremendously blessed us with some of the worlds best clients. We appreciate you and sure hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House

Address: Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast with mini guest suites and a vacation apartment. We are located very close to the San Jose Airport. Our guest house features Luxury accommodations, great views, privacy, good service. Each suite is furnished with Nicaraguan wicker and Bamboo, the beds have semi-orthopedic mattresses. Unlike other guest houses our in suite bathrooms are furnished with large fluffy towel sets, tropical scented large bars of soap. Open the sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. Enjoy the views of the gardens and river. Upon arrival to the guest house we will prepare a meal or a snack for you. We are conveniently located just 2 km from Grecia Central. Airport transportation is 35.00us each way. A full breakfast is included in the price, other meals can be prepared upon at an additional cost upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Costa Rica/Grecia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.