We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit at La Terraza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Terraza Guest House to your Saves list
La Terraza Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Grecia B&B and Inns
Liberia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Another great visit at La Terraza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had an opportunity to send another week at La Terazza. As always the food was good, follow guests interesting and a hoot with Jeanetta. Chris, Jackie and Geraldo added extra services and touches that made me feel right at home.

I had an opportunity to enjoy several days in the spacious apartment and then in massive suite in the main house. Every need was met by the staff without hesitation. The gardens and squirrels and birds also provided some relaxing entertainment. All-in-all a top notch visit.

Room Tip: Suite in the Main House is great place to relax and refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Sorry it took so long for me to respond to this review. Thank you so much. I sure hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
93
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I picked La Terraza for our 46th anniversary celebration. Jeanetta really has a wonderful property, and her warm personality, enthusiasm, and desire to make our stay as perfect as possible were appreciated.

We stayed for 11 days in the apartment. It is well furnished and comfortable. three ceiling fans keep it comfortable during the warm part of the day. I enjoyed sitting on the patio in the morning, sipping coffee, reading, and listening to the birds and the river.

Cristina prepared the meals, and was happy to tailor the menu to our tastes. Jeraldo provided taxi service when we wanted/needed to go into town.

My wife is in a wheelchair, so she appreciated the grab bars in the walk-in shower. And the staff all went out of their way to accommodate anything my wife needed (including making a ramp so we could get the wheelchair in and out of the apartment door).

For all the features, I felt the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The apartment was wonderful. We didn't see the suites, so I cannot comment. when we go back, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many times when we get customers who have mobility difficulties its hard to guess what they need. We want to thank you for supplying us with all the information we needed to be able to provide you with the best of service. It was your input that gave us guidance as how to not only serve you and your wife but also in serving others that may have the same difficulties. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We decided to spend the first night and the last two nights of our honeymoon at La Terraza, and we are grateful that we did. Jeannetta was an incredible host and Christina (while speaking just a little bit of English) was amazing as well.

We arrived after a long day of flying and were immediately in awe of the property. The grounds were perfectly landscaped and it was so quiet that we instantly felt completely relaxed. Our first night was the day before Good Friday, so everything in Grecia was closed for the holiday. Taking this into account, Chris prepared a tasty dinner for us and had it ready in our rooms to eat at our leisure.

Breakfast all 3 mornings was delicious and made to order. If available, anything we desired was prepared for us.

At the end of our trip, we returned for the final two nights. A couple celebrating their 46th wedding anniversary was also visiting and Jeannetta and Chris threw a joint party for us complete with southern style BBQ chicken and ribs, potato salad, and chocolate cake. After eating throughout Costa Rica for 12 days, this was a welcome reminder of home.

All in all, we are so glad that we began and ended our trip to Costa Rica at La Terraza. Jeannetta and Chris were amazing hosts and seemed genuinely excited to help us, answer questions, and make us feel at home.

Positives:
1) great hosts and tasty food!
2) wifi was available in our room even though we thought it would only be available in the common areas. This was great as we were able to look into things before venturing out into the country.
3) amazing garden and grounds
4) short and easy drive to and from the airport.
5) very reasonable price for what you get.

Negatives:
1) The bed was a little hard and uncomfortable, but we were so tired (from a long day of flying at the beginning of our vacation and just general travel weariness at the end of the trip) that sleep was not an issue.
2) The ceiling fan was very loose and made a lot of noise when turned on. We also couldn't feel any air coming from it at all so we just slept with the sliding patio door open. The weather was so pleasant so we decided not to bring this up during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So my bed was hard, the word is firm (smile). We had a blast with you both. It was very exciting talking to young people, getting the scoop on what is really happening in our world. You both have such a bright outlook of the future and that was so good to hear. We would like to take credit word your marriage success since you started your honeymoon with us and ended it with us. Sorry about the fan, we did not find out about it until the next customer. Sure wish you would have told us. The next person that came got a little shocked. It's up and running now. That was a great chocolate cake Chris baked for your celebration, she gave me a slice of it Sunday. That cake was almost worth breaking your diet for. Thanks for including us in your honeymoon plans. Come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Jeannetta is a modern " Auntie Mamet". Just fabulous. Na booming voice, an all encompassing personality, with a fabulous Bed and Breakfast. Her rooms and gardens are imacculate and her breakfast is superb! Stay! You will enjoy everything about La Terrazza!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
This review has to be a classic review. I'm lost for words really and that does not happen very often. What a wonderful comparison, it is to bad that Chris can't fully understand it but I tried my best. We are so pleased that you were pleased. The fact is God has just tremendously blessed us with some of the worlds best clients. We appreciate you and sure hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a solo traveler, I'm always looking for places that will cater to my need of feeling safe and secure. Although Ireland was my first choice for travel, I decided to stay closer to home. While searching the internet I stumbled across La Terraza Guesthouse in Grecia, Costa Rica, and after speaking with Jeanetta Owens, the owner, I just knew I was headed to "Pura Vida"! From the moment Gerardo, her accommodating driver, picked me up at the airport, until he dropped me off to leave, I thoroughly enjoyed the 7 days spent at this absolutely beautiful and well kept property. Even though this guesthouse was full, the owner made sure that each person was cared for royally! Knowing it was my 60th birthday, Jeannetta and her awesome cook, Christine made it a very special occasion with a birthday dinner and my favorite coconut cake. She also arranged a 2 day trip to Limon, and Cahuita for myself and two other guests. Except for not being able to sleep peacefully one night, because of barking dogs, I used the time to catch up on e-mail (free wifi). Reasonably priced, breakfast cooked to order whenever you make it to the beautiful outside seating area, awesome french toast, excellent staff, comfortable rooms, and private balconies. OMG! Everything you need is at La Terraza, and I highly recommend it for all travelers. I can't wait to plan my next trip as a repeat customer!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of water flowing from the river while you sleep, request a room on the west- s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
You know I never thought of it when you were here. You turned 60 and I turned 70 this year. So does that mean I'm wiser? We had a blast helping you to celebrate your birthday. I feel we have a friend for life. It's people like you that make my job exciting and rewarding. Thanks for sharing your special day with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed for one nite, should have stayed for 3-4. The room we were in was the absolutely best we stay at all trip, on the banks of the rio which splits the property, it is well maintained, green oasis in the heart of SAN ROQUE DE BAJO de grecia. In other words it is just in a neighborhood east of Grecia. EVERYTHING you need is there.: dishes, soaps, refrigerator, stove, a beautiful bedroom with linens and Jeanetta is very nice, matter of fact, and retired American who runs the house with a wonderfully happy hand. Dont miss it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your visit and most of all for the review. We appreciate your comments, we have a lot to live up to. Please come back again and maybe you will be able to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My sister in law and I are both nurses; she retired and me soon to be. We both needed a relaxing vacation. After reading the reviews posted here on trip advisor and a couple personal phone calls and emails to Jeanetta, the owner, we felt very comfortable taking our first out of country trip to Costa Rica. I can not say enough about her staff, her driver Gerardo and her cook Christina. Short of "Buenos Dias" and a few other words we learned from highschool and a little sign language, we managed to have a fantastic and memorable trip. We felt like we had our own private villa. Sitting out on our private balcony overlooking the lush beautiful grounds and going to sleep and awakening to the sounds of the rolling stream outback was priceless. If you are planning a trip to Costa Rica, make LaTerraza, a must for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applehead, Owner at La Terraza Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Speaking of a great time. We had an exciting time with you and your sister in law. We usually get couples, it was a nice change having single women visit. Perhaps your review will inspire other single ladies to come visit Costa Rica. We appreciate your review and hope you will miss us enough to come back again. Thanks for the corn meal mix, I enjoyed some today with my Swiss Chard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House

Address: Calle Salguero 50 meters antes de puente Salguero | San Roque Abajo, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terraza Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast with mini guest suites and a vacation apartment. We are located very close to the San Jose Airport. Our guest house features Luxury accommodations, great views, privacy, good service. Each suite is furnished with Nicaraguan wicker and Bamboo, the beds have semi-orthopedic mattresses. Unlike other guest houses our in suite bathrooms are furnished with large fluffy towel sets, tropical scented large bars of soap. Open the sliding glass doors leading to the private balcony. Enjoy the views of the gardens and river. Upon arrival to the guest house we will prepare a meal or a snack for you. We are conveniently located just 2 km from Grecia Central. Airport transportation is 35.00us each way. A full breakfast is included in the price, other meals can be prepared upon at an additional cost upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Terraza Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Costa Rica/Grecia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.