We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Valley

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mango Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mango Valley
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First-rate hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Staying at Hotel Mango Valley set the tone perfectly for an amazing Costa Rican vacation. We arrived late at night, and were immediately met outside when we pulled up. Jose Luis gave us a great, warm welcome and showed us to our room, which was actually a huge, spacious cabina with full kitchenette (burner, utensils/dishes, refrigerator, microwave). In the morning, we awoke to find a beautiful view of the Costa Rican central valley from our private patio. Breakfast was served at the time of our choosing in a separate cabina, during which Jose Luis and Dovile would share stories and provide tremendously helpful advice and recommendations for things to do and see in the area. They gave us maps with detailed directions, suggestions for places to eat, and honest opinions about local attractions. The rooms are super comfortable and the price is a phenomenal value, but the warmth and friendliness of the owners are definitely what makes Hotel Mango Valley the wonderful establishment it is. We would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Grecia or the surrounding region, and we hope to have the opportunity to return soon ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
160
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Mango Valley for 4 days. We enjoyed every minute. It's a fairly quiet location & we weren't looking for the most busy of areas. It was a relaxing vacation. The owners and staff were more than helpful. We were interested in excursions and tours. Mango Valley offers packages for excursions that were very cost effective. My Spanish isn't the best, but they speak quite a few languages. The rooms were simple but had everything we needed. Also, the breakfast here was great. If you're looking for something simple and beautiful, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are a great choice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naranjo, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

take our recommendation and stay here. Jose Luis and Dovile are perfectly suited for the B & B business, hard workers, personable, helpful in every way, they will make your stay one to remember. When we left, it was like leaving family. The scenery is beautiful and the surroundings serene. We promise, you'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoValley, Owner at Hotel Mango Valley, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and for your stay with Mango Valley. Its our pleasure to serve our guests and accommodate their wishes and needs. If we have made your stay pleasant, it makes our day. We hope to be able to welcome many of our guests back pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Too bad this was my first location to stay in Costa Rica because all the other B and Bs could not compare. The best place to stray and see the real Costa Rica. Near small towns and on the bus route. Quiet, clean, great staff and beautiful scenery.
Kitchenette bath was more than I expected . I will be back.

Room Tip: Schedule in off season and in advance, and stay longer to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Mango Valley is a good place to relax and enjoy the green nature at the mountains in Grecia Costa Rica. Jose Luis and Dovile are friendly young couple owners, they are specially interested to make you stay happy in a ecological enviroment. If you look a good place to stay in Grecia Costa Rica, Mango Valley is really a great option. Eugenia from Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Jose and Dovile are the new owners and were great hosts. We had breakfast every morning in one of the best hotels in Grecia. Mango Valley over looks Poas Volcano and with the hummingbirds outside our patio you couldn't ask for a better venue to stay. Thank you so much for making us feel welcome and comfortable at your wonderful cabins. Next time we come we look forward to the new pool and hot tub. Pura Vida :)))))

Room Tip: very clean and comfortable. A must to have a cabin with a patio. Great view!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport-Bossier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Mango Valley B&B in the Carbonal section of Grecia, Costa Rica and were very pleased with our stay. Everything about this place is really nice, the cabinas are practically new; ours had a small kitchen w/fridge, a whirpool tub in bathroom, satellite TV and a great view overlooking the valley. This B&B is located among a grove of coffee trees and is a quiet place.
We didn't rent a car but the B&B is at the last bus stop & we caught the bus into town which costs about 300 Colones each (one-way). A taxi back cost about 5,000 Colones.
Breakfasts were great.... eggs, bacon, yogurt, toast, fruit, coffee. Owners Julia and Vladimir are nice people and helped out with arranging private driver for half-day trips to nearby Poas volcano & Doka Coffee Plantation.
The Mango Valley B&B is a splendid place to stay as the owners have really made this place an excellent B&B. We will certainly consider stay there again if our travels bring us back to Grecia.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mango Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Valley

Address: 300 mts. antes de Pipasa | Carbonal arriba de Grecia, Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Valley 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Valley, perched in the lush green mountains surrounding the quaint town of Grecia, is just 40 minutes drive from San Jose International Airport (SJO). It's close enough to provide guests with a convenient and relaxing stop-over as they arrive in or depart from Costa Rica. But it's far enough from noise and hassle to allow visitors to relax, recharge and tour the sights of the Central Valley. Hotel Mango Valley is an excellent base from which to explore the abundant sights of this Central Valley region. You can gaze at the Poas volcano from the terraces of our cottages. La Paz Waterfall Gardens is an excellent spot to admire magnificent waterfalls, while getting close to rare tropical birds, butterflies, frogs, jungle cats and more! If you are adventurous, you must visit the canopy at Colinas de Poas. If you are more on the arty side, be sure to visit Sarchi, the famous town of Costa Rican artists. Hundreds of species of local plants are awaiting you at Else Kientzler's botanical gardens. And these are just a few sights among many in close proximity to Hotel Mango Valley! At Mango Valley the comfort and tranquility of our guests are our priorities. Wake up every morning to birds singing outside your window, enjoy a full breakfast while admiring the views of surrounding coffee plantations, swim in the pool to stretch your tired muscles, relax with your book on the terrace, lifting your eyes now and then to enjoy the sight of majestic Poas, watch the stars... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mango Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Valley Costa Rica/Grecia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.