We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi Tierra was a disappointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mi Tierra was a disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We paid for a room with two beds, a private bath, a working TV and internet. We were put in a room with two beds but the bathroom was shared with the manager of the hotel, down the hall. We tried to turn on the TV and it couldn't be plugged in and did not function. The internet was not strong enough to access from the room. We went to lock the room and the key would not turn the lock. I complained to Roberto the manager and he put us in another room with a private bath. In that room the TV had just a few snowy channels and the fan was not functional. He also asked us to pay a higher price for the room that he moved us to. All in all we paid for things we didn't have. I travel down to Costa Rica several times a year and Mi Tierra will NOT be on my "return to" list!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
53
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Roberto and his staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel and our small room was clean, as was the pool. We were in a room at the back of the property and if it hadn't been for the dozen or so Canadian teenage boys on a trip we would have given the property 5/5. Unfortunately the boys were noisy until 1am approx. I did ask them to be quiet a couple of times with only moderate success. It appeared the the adult/s with them were in another part of the hotel so were not around to quieten them down for sleep.
The hotel was convenient to SJO, right in Alajuela so good for eating options within walking distance, and just another short taxi ride to Denny's for our shared shuttle pick up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Mi Tierra is in a good location for walking to sites and restaurants in Alajuela. And it is quite cheap. Beyond that I haven't great things to say about it. The staff are friendly but sometimes not as informed as one would hope. The room was clean and very basic. If things like maid service during your stay, or a towel that fits around you, or sheets the right size so they stay on the bed, or a safe in the room etc, etc. this isn't the place for you. We travel on a bit of a shoe-string but when in Alajuela in the future I was spend a bit more to get a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our first night was at Hotel Mi Tierra. It worked out beautifully. There were only maybe two other people staying there that night. Breakfast was lovely and everyone was friendly and helpful. We had the number of beds we requested.

When we returned for our last nights the place was packed with teenagers and we were not provided with the number of beds we had reserved and the next night we were told we could get two beds but we would share a bathroom. I could not tolerate that situation at that time. We had to go elsewhere. The young man at the desk had to call his supervisor and he then accepted that we would not pay for what we did not receive.

If you are ok with noise and crowds and can handled anything out of the blue then this will be a fine place for you. I wish the owners and employees of Hotel Mi Tierra well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Mi tierra was a good spot to overnight on the begining of the trip. Breakfast was filling an delicious and the staff was very helpful in getting our day started. The owner was really friendly and had great suggestions of what to do if you were staying in the area. More of the hostel feel rather than a hotel but for the night I really couldnt complain!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Montana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport, and convenient. The staff stayed till I got in, which was late. They are very accomodating, and speak English, for those who do not speak Spanish. I had a room with shared bathroom, as that was all that was available. The room was "bare bones", but clean. The neighborhood is not too quiet, but welcome to the city! Breakfast is good, and they are helpful with taxis, and other transportation. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I should start by saying that I never actually stayed at Hotel Mi Tierra. I originally booked this through Hostelworld.com which clearly indicated a 24 hour cancellation policy for the hotel. Four days before staying here we had to change our plans and contacted the owner directly so they could have as much advance notice as possible. The owner told me that we would still be charged for our entire reservation as he had a 5 day cancellation policy! His reasoning was that he wasn't responsible for what was listed on Hostelworlds webpage as he had his own web page. I explained that if he didn't want to be responsible for a third party's webpage then he could simply not allow them to book reservations for him. It should be noted that he can provide whatever special terms and conditions he wants on Hostelworlds webpage. I never went to his web page and would have no reason to believe anything other than the terms and conditions listed on the webpage I booked through. He stated quite frankly that he didn't care and would be charging me for both nights of my stay. He did indicate if he booked the rooms then he wouldn't charge me but quite honestly how can you trust the integrity of someone who won't honor the terms and conditions stated through a reputable booking site! I contacted Hostelworld and in the long run they made sure I was not charged for the two nights. I am thankful I had booked though them and would encourage anyone to be wary of this establishment as there is a lack of integrity in the management!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.