We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just an overnight stop.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“just an overnight stop.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Close to airport - A taxi ride way awaits a smaller hotel I would have thought it more a Hostel than Hotel. The room (Limon) was bare basics. It could sleep 4 in a pinch - double and single bunks. As we only needed a bed overnight it fit the bill. Rooms clean, but the pillows, not so nice.
The bathroom is located outside the door and down some stairs which I found to be slippery. There is a pool which is small and I did find that area cluttered however my plans did not included and dip. There is locked parking (for 2-3 cars) however by the time we arrived we had to park a block or so way (Hotel paid for parking) and it is very important to NOT leave anything in vehicle. Breakfast included - pico de gallo and was wonderful. Owner was super friendly. I would have never stayed here other than travelling with a friend who made reservations.
Would I book again?? This was my first stay in Costa Rico so I had nothing to compare with. If you are only looking for a place to sleep over and get a good start to the next day, well this place would be adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
54
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed our final night in Costa Rica at this hotel and it was very nice, clean, basic and the staff is great. The room was spacious (there were two of us and we had a double bed and a bunk bed in our room and there was lots of space for luggage, etc..). It was very clean and very comfortable. There is a TV and a fan in the room and again, its super clean. Our flight was really early so we missed breakfast, and we arrived too late to enjoy the pool, but the sitting area, pool area, and breakfast area all looks really nice (and again, CLEAN!).

The only reason I am not giving this hotel an "excellent" rating is that there was no hot water and the cold shower was rather uncomfortable. There is really no hot/cold water faucet so its just one temperature, which in our case was cold.

All in all, its a nice hotel, basic, very affordable ($50/night if you are paying cash) and I would likely stay here again before an early flight out.

Its a $5 cab ride, about 5-7 minutes, so its super convenient for an early or late flight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

You might be surprised, after reading all of the positive reviews, at the bare-bones basic level of comfort here. Yes, the staff is nice and it's a quick taxi ride to airport (not free shuttle). Our tiny room "Alajuela" had the double bed with threadbare sheets jammed against the corner, a huge window to nowhere, paper thin walls, and dim lighting. It felt a bit like a jail cell. The common area was basic with grungy furniture. The stone floor was slippery and I saw a woman fall. The stairs leading down to our room were dangerous. The wifi only worked by the reception desk. I guess that young backpackers, and adventurous kayakers are happy here, but even though I prefer modest, locally owned places over hotel franchises, this hotel was NOT mi tierra. Baby boomers beware!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room "Alajuela."
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our flight was cancelled due to a snow storm. We were supposed to stay 2 nights. Roberto forgave our first night even though he would not have been able to rent it out last minute. This gesture was very much appreciated. We arrived at 3am a day late, as our new flight was also late. They opened the gate for us, and let us park our car inside the gate. We never got a chance to meet Roberto and say thanks in person, as we left in the morning and he was out with a tour. The room was basic, but had everything we needed. We had breakfast in front of the pool, watching birds. It compensated for a terrible start of our vacation due to weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had a good night's sleep here at the start of our trip - room was clean and comfortable, pool and garden were inviting, and breakfast was a great gallo pinto with eggs! Bring cash to pay for the reservation if you don't pay in advance - as far as I could tell they didn't take cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great place to begin your stay in Costa Rica. It is close to the airport and close to the main attractions in Alajuela. The staff is quite friendly, easy going, accomodating, available, and, of interest to those with limited Spanish, the owner and front office staff speak English. The accomodations are simple and fitting to the lifestyle in Costa Rica. There is a breakfast and wifi in a little open-air nook next to the pool. They have maps of the town and in 5 or 10 minutes you can walk to the central market, a deliscious little seafood place, local museum, church and park, or to the bus stop for a day trip. As a first time visit it was fun for us to be able to walk the streets and practice a little Spanish in transactions at the market, restaurants, and on a bus ride to the zoo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

All good, room was clean, pool was nice, bathroom was clean too. Roberto was cool and we chatted about kayaking for ages a nice guy. He helped us with finding places to eat and booked me a taxi etc.

Thanks for a nice last night in CR.

Pura vida

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
2.3 mi away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.