We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little but full of charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Willis, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Little but full of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms are clean, the hotel beautiful and the people warm, welcoming and generous. Breakfast is included and the food was nicely done and tasty. They were extremely helpful with directions, speaking the language and offering items to make our stay nice. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    22
    11
    13
See reviews for
16
51
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We got in to San Jose airport, SJO, late at night and got a taxi ($6) for our check in at Hotel Mi Tierra. It was clean, small room but enough for 4 to sleep comfortably (double bed, bunk beds, small dresser and enough room to walk through) and the floor fan was superpowered awesome! We really enjoyed the breakfast: eggs (to order), fruit, rice/beans, toast and preserves! Staff was very friendly & helpful! They helped us find a place to eat/drink & watch futbol with the locals late on a Saturday and for us to find the public bus in the morning. If you need a place to stay on way in or out of San Jose, you've found the spot!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times and each time found it clean, quiet and decent breakfast. The staff are friendly and always helpful and the pool is nice. Good value for the price. we would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mi Tierra the first and the last night in Costa Rica, is has a very convenient location near airport (6-7$ for a taxi). It's within walking distance to local super, shopping area and a park, which is useful if you need to kill a few hours in Alajuela.

The hotel itself is very clean and the breakfast was delicious (local fruit, coffee, eggs, toast). Our children enjoyed the little pool while I enjoyed watching birds perching on the trees on the patio. They have a mango tree and one other fruit tree I failed to identify, which attract a lot of birds, including parrots.

Ivannia has been very helpful, on my asking she had dinner waiting for us the night we came (we flew in late, with two children) and she also helped us dealing with car rental company, saving us an unpleasant trip to San Jose. She recommended an excellent nearby soda (El Banco), thank you, Ivannia for all your help!

Overall, the hotel feels like a safe base in Alajuela.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived in Alajuela very late and found this place from the internet. It is near the airport and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean, but not to big. The Costa Rican Breakfast was delicious. Its really a good place to stay. We will surly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invermere, bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mi Terra is a good choice for an overnight stay near to the airport. Ivannia is friendly and helpful and that generally holds true for the rest of the staff. She directed us to nearby points of interest and we felt completely safe walking through the area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in a cozy open courtyard, but didn't take advantage of the small, nearby pool.

Our room was small, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. There wasn't much hot water in the shower, but you don't need much in Costa Rica. However, it is cooler in Alajuela than much of the rest of the country. One extra that we appreciated was safe storage for a bag while we toured elsewhere.

Mi Terra would probably be a good choice as a base for short day tours in the area. In addition, Ivannia's husband, Roberto conducts a variety of longer tours all over the country.

Don't hesitate to stay here, because of the lack of an airport shuttle. We found it incredibly easy to get a taxi for the short $6 ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for only a few hours while we waited for our friends to arrive in Costa Rica. I got in touch with Ivannia only a couple days ahead of time and she was able to provide us with a spot to keep our luggage and let us hang out for the morning for a small fee. She was extremely friendly and helpful and it worked out great being so close to the airport (about a $6.00 cab ride). Very grateful for accommodating us on such short notice!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.