We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
invermere, bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mi Terra is a good choice for an overnight stay near to the airport. Ivannia is friendly and helpful and that generally holds true for the rest of the staff. She directed us to nearby points of interest and we felt completely safe walking through the area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in a cozy open courtyard, but didn't take advantage of the small, nearby pool.

Our room was small, but clean, and the bed was comfortable. There wasn't much hot water in the shower, but you don't need much in Costa Rica. However, it is cooler in Alajuela than much of the rest of the country. One extra that we appreciated was safe storage for a bag while we toured elsewhere.

Mi Terra would probably be a good choice as a base for short day tours in the area. In addition, Ivannia's husband, Roberto conducts a variety of longer tours all over the country.

Don't hesitate to stay here, because of the lack of an airport shuttle. We found it incredibly easy to get a taxi for the short $6 ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
52
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for only a few hours while we waited for our friends to arrive in Costa Rica. I got in touch with Ivannia only a couple days ahead of time and she was able to provide us with a spot to keep our luggage and let us hang out for the morning for a small fee. She was extremely friendly and helpful and it worked out great being so close to the airport (about a $6.00 cab ride). Very grateful for accommodating us on such short notice!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived at airport in the midst of a heavy rain on Nature Air flight from Puerto Jimenez. We though we had a reservation here but apparently things has not gone through. The cab ride was very long because it was in the midst of rush hour.
The clerk was helpful in giving us a room for the night but did not have one for the following night which we also needed.
The hotel has a hostel atmosphere with kitchen available for guests and although everyone was friendly it was pretty noisy trying to sleep with loud music downstairs until our daughter went and complained.
The room was sparse and a little rough around the edges.
The breakfast was tipico: scrambled eggs, bread, fruit, coffee and gallo pinto.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Awful place...noisy rooms right off the street where motorcycles rev up late into the night. Flimsy curtains gave a view into the room from the street, as well as from the inner hallway!
Terrible rooms, fairly clean but so old and beat up, the bathroom is hard to look at. No hot water either. And the Tv barely functioned, an old style screen, with, what else, a broken remote control!
The only good thing was leaving the next morning. Way overpriced for what you get.
When I complained I was offered no compensation for all of these problems with the room!
Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Mi Tierra is a great place to stay when arriving and departing SJO. An inexpensive $7 taxi trip takes you to this very clean and hospitable hotel. Ivanna and Robert are excellent hosts. The hotel has a small cute pool area, a good place to relax after traveling. They serve a very good breakfast. The rooms are fairly quiet for Alajuela and price is very affordable. We would be disappointed if we did not get stay here when traveling into or leaving CR

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica for 10 days over Christmas with my husband and his mother. I booked ALL of our lodging based on Tripadvisor reviews.

This review is just for the rooms with shared bathroom.

Our first and last stop was Mi Tierra. I chose this place due to it's close proximity to the airport, the incredibly cheap nightly rate and the reviews on trip advisor, of course. The inn was perfectly close to the airport and not too difficult to find after picking up our rental car and using the GPS to find it. They allowed us to park our car within the gate on the property the first night on the way in. On the way out we parked our car around the corner in a gated lot which Mi Tierra paid for.

We booked the only two rooms that share a bathroom. The bathroom is in the hallway a few steps from the two rooms. None of us ever used the shower in the bathroom so I cannot comment on it. But the bathroom was fine. The rooms were fine but the curtains were quite ratty. The beds were pretty comfortable. There was bunk beds and one queen bed in each room. The down side was that the rooms were a bit noisy and fairly bright without a way to block the light out even at night. However for the price, $35 (single) $40 (double) everything was perfectly acceptable.

The breakfast was fantastic! We were very impressed with our first breakfast in Costa Rica, we wished we could have enjoyed the breakfast on our way out but our flight was too early. There is wi-fi but it only works in the common room down stairs. There is also a communal computer with internet in the common room which worked just fine. However they did not have a printer and we could not print our boarding passes on our way out which would have been really helpful.

There are two nice city parks, one being central park within short walking distance along with several fast food eateries and a grocery store.

One of the front desk guys was super nice and helpful but the other we experienced was just kind of nice but had no information about anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Mi Tierra is an inn located in the heart of Alajuela, CR. It features a peaceful court yard with a pool, dining space, and a welcoming schnauzer named Cleo. It is only a couple of blocks from the center of town (Catheral, Parque Central, market, buses, etc all within five minutes walk), but is none the less a respite from what can be a lively city.

The staff is very friendly, patient with gringos, and makes a wonderful breakfast. They are quick to help you set up adventures for you, or advise you on them, though they tend to encourage the easier more touristy ones, so if you want to do some things outside of the norm, you may need to have a basic plan before arriving.

Rooms were sufficiently equipped, kept very clean, and a good size. The mattresses are not going to win any awards for support, but that is the only real down side of this place. My wife and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.