We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base to explore the charming town of alajuela and star tyour costa rican adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great base to explore the charming town of alajuela and star tyour costa rican adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a small hotel within easy reach of the airport and in the heart of alajuela. We arrived after a late night flight and were delighted with our quiet room for 4. The hosts are a very special family with many interesting tales of their kayaking adventures and the walls are adorned with their art. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, directing us to a great italian resturant just round the corner and near the main square. Considering how peaceful it was there, you would never have guessed a vibrant town surrounds you. Breakfast was fresh and filling and after sitting by the pool ,listening to the baltimore orioles and admiring the bonsai trees in the beautiful garden, we relcutantly left to head south. A great budget resting place with secure parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    24
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
55
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is everything we look for when staying close to an airport. It is convenient, clean, very reasonably priced and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. It's location in Alejueala is walking distance to many good restaurants and stores. Unlike downtown San Jose, you feel safe walking the streets. Roberto also does guided tours in Costa Rica, speaks very good english and is a lot of fun.
We live and work in Costa Rica and have looked for something like this for years. Thank you very much Ivana, Roberto and Warner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I definitely recommend this friendly little hotel. It is a good stopping off point for the airport being about 10 minutes taxi ride. It's excellent value, the breakfast is wonderful and it's very clean. It also has a nice little pool. The staff were so helpful in recommending and booking the best tours in Costa Rica - nothing was too much trouble for them. I can't praise it enough. There's a little kitchen where you can prepare your own food. It's very close to Alajuela centre. If you want good value and a good hotel close to the airport, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best! I have stayed several times and they always recommend the best things for the conditions & weather. Great location close to the airport great rates, with a pool. 5 star service with great prices. Gracias Cacho can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

After arriving in CR via our red-eye flight from FLL, we easily found our way to Hotel Mi Tierra. Located very close to SJO, and yet no noise from jet traffic.

Awoke, showered and had a terrific, authentic breakfast in the peaceful setting of the pool area. Breakfast (included in the room rate) consisted of; rice/beans, toast with jam, eggs, fresh fruit and beverage (chocolate: malted hot chocolate powder and warm milk... definitely recommend), or coffee. Portions were satisfactory.

Great staff. Comfortable rooms and beds. Quaint eating area in common area near pool. Parking was secured, however quite steep and narrow - set your parking brake.

Neighborhood looks a bit "rough" in the dark of night. However, proven contrary in the light of day.

Loved the stay. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Private bath not necessary. Community bath is sufficient, as this is a single shower room with toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a pretty place on a quiet street. It has an interior court yard with a pool where breakfast is served. I came with a group, so we had a number of rooms. The rooms are nice enough, although the showers did not get hot (and yes I know that you have to turn them on and wait). The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is a great stop-over hotel when you are arriving or leaving Costa Rica. We stayed in San Jose on our way in (which I highly recommend against - San Jose SUCKS!), but stayed in Alajuela for a night before flying out.

The staff are very friendly, and serve a great rice/beans and eggs breakfast for free in the morning. The rooms are relatively small, but clean. There is a living room area with a computer and some couches to hang out on, and the location is great - close to banks, grocery stores, and the Parque Central.

Also, its only about a $8-10 cab ride from the airport (there is no shuttle service offered).

I would not stay here for any extended time, only because Alajuela does not have much of anything to offer. However, this is a great hotel to use as the start or end of your trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.