We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mi Tierra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mi Tierra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mi Tierra
2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is everything we look for when staying close to an airport. It is convenient, clean, very reasonably priced and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. It's location in Alejueala is walking distance to many good restaurants and stores. Unlike downtown San Jose, you feel safe walking the streets. Roberto also does guided tours in Costa Rica, speaks very good english and is a lot of fun.
We live and work in Costa Rica and have looked for something like this for years. Thank you very much Ivana, Roberto and Warner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    22
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
51
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I definitely recommend this friendly little hotel. It is a good stopping off point for the airport being about 10 minutes taxi ride. It's excellent value, the breakfast is wonderful and it's very clean. It also has a nice little pool. The staff were so helpful in recommending and booking the best tours in Costa Rica - nothing was too much trouble for them. I can't praise it enough. There's a little kitchen where you can prepare your own food. It's very close to Alajuela centre. If you want good value and a good hotel close to the airport, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best! I have stayed several times and they always recommend the best things for the conditions & weather. Great location close to the airport great rates, with a pool. 5 star service with great prices. Gracias Cacho can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

After arriving in CR via our red-eye flight from FLL, we easily found our way to Hotel Mi Tierra. Located very close to SJO, and yet no noise from jet traffic.

Awoke, showered and had a terrific, authentic breakfast in the peaceful setting of the pool area. Breakfast (included in the room rate) consisted of; rice/beans, toast with jam, eggs, fresh fruit and beverage (chocolate: malted hot chocolate powder and warm milk... definitely recommend), or coffee. Portions were satisfactory.

Great staff. Comfortable rooms and beds. Quaint eating area in common area near pool. Parking was secured, however quite steep and narrow - set your parking brake.

Neighborhood looks a bit "rough" in the dark of night. However, proven contrary in the light of day.

Loved the stay. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Private bath not necessary. Community bath is sufficient, as this is a single shower room with toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a pretty place on a quiet street. It has an interior court yard with a pool where breakfast is served. I came with a group, so we had a number of rooms. The rooms are nice enough, although the showers did not get hot (and yes I know that you have to turn them on and wait). The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel Mi Tierra is a great stop-over hotel when you are arriving or leaving Costa Rica. We stayed in San Jose on our way in (which I highly recommend against - San Jose SUCKS!), but stayed in Alajuela for a night before flying out.

The staff are very friendly, and serve a great rice/beans and eggs breakfast for free in the morning. The rooms are relatively small, but clean. There is a living room area with a computer and some couches to hang out on, and the location is great - close to banks, grocery stores, and the Parque Central.

Also, its only about a $8-10 cab ride from the airport (there is no shuttle service offered).

I would not stay here for any extended time, only because Alajuela does not have much of anything to offer. However, this is a great hotel to use as the start or end of your trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for two days and we felt very happy with our choice. The rooms were very clean, the washrooms were spotless. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and it had rice, eggs, coffee/ cocoa, orange juice, marmalade, bread. The owners and the personnel are very helpful and friendly. It is a nice family business setting.
We had access to kitchen, pool, and surroundings. From the outside it did not look like much, but once you are in, you feel very cozy and secure. The hotel has also two parking spaces inside the front yard - the gates are closed during the night but you are provided two keys: room key and main gate key.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends like I did, you may choose to share the washroom with them - it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mi Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Tierra

Address: 2nd Ave. entre calles 3 y 5, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay close to the airport in San José, Costa Rica. Located in Alajuela, only 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flying route. We are a family business; enjoy our relaxed atmosphere. Hotel and tour services customized trips, cultural and adventure tours. Let us help you on your trip: we are travelers like you. Why going to the traffic and noise of the capital? Stay in relaxed Alajuela, the gateway to: Monteverde, Guanacaste, Arenal, Manuel Antonio, Poás Volcano, and the Pacific Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Mi Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Tierra Hotel
Hotel Mi Tierra Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mi Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.