We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas "El Colibri47"

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas "El Colibri47"
Save
You added Cabinas "El Colibri47" to your Saves list
Villacares, lote # 47 | Turrúcares, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for several nights during the first few weeks of March at El Colibri47. This was our "home" base for an extended vacation throughout Costa Rica for which Jan was our tour guide. Within 15 - 20mins from the airport, the cabinas and friendly welcome provided us with the first indication that this will be a wonderful vacation. The first great birding photos were also taken in the garden, so definitely a great start. Jan is very knowledgeable about the country which resulted in us seeing new places and new fauna and flora every single day. I would highly recommend a stay at the cabinas as well as using Jan for trips throughout the country. The personal knowledge and friendliness made this a vacation to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibri47, Owner at Cabinas "El Colibri47", responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for the stay and the trip, even for me it was a wonderful experience showing the most beautiful birds and animals to you and the rest of the group. It is a great pleasure serving people like you. Thank you very much! Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I planned to stay at El Colibri47 the night I arrived in Costa Rica, and to travel on to Liberia in the north on the following day using a tourist shuttle. My plans were upset by a storm which led to me being in Panama City overnight and arriving nearly a day late in San Jose. Rosy met my delayed flight and sorted out all my transportation problems, ensuring I got the public bus to La Cruz the following day. I cannot thank her enough. Later in my trip I returned to El Colibri47 and spent three very pleasant days with Jan, visiting San Gerardo de Dota, where we stayed in Los Lagos Lodge, walked to a lovely waterfall, saw quetzals without really trying, and ate wonderful food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibri47, Owner at Cabinas "El Colibri47", responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much, we try to help our guests with everything what is possible for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaarndam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

By chance we met a Dutch couple who told us enthousiastically about Colibri47. This should be a place to be, with all the birds like toucans in the garden and other birds.
Since my wife is a nature lover, spending a lots of time making pictures of all these creatures, we were happy with this news. So we called Jan who just happend to have a cabin free for us.
From the moment that we arrived we knew that the Dutch couple had not said anything less then the truth: this is a place to be!
Jan and his wonderful wife were hospitable, creating an atmosphere of friendlyness and home.
He told us a lot about the country that he loves so much that he will stay there as long as it takes. He is an expert on places where not many tourists go to. He can take you to the mountains, vulcanos, trips to the inland to meet local people and eat at small sodas (local restaurants).
We had a wonderful time there. From the conversations with Jan and experiencing the land we took to love this country too.
The weather was good, not too hot and humid, warm enough to spend the day like we wanted. My wife looking for birds and other animals to picture and I enjoying myself with my books, my Ipot and enough space and time for my medidation sessions.
We have had fun in a B & B, away from the busy trafic, 20 minutes from the airport.
Jan and his wife have done everything to make our stay one that we say of: we will be back, sure!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning of our 5 weeks in CR, and it was great to be met at San Jose airport by Jan. We spent 2 relaxing days here and learned about the area from Jan and Ili, and they made many recomendations to us. Their B&B is outside a small town, so is very quiet. The cabinas were very clean, with hot showers and comfortable bed. We didn't rent a car for 2 weeks, so were able to get a feel for the driving and habits of the people. Thank goodness we didn't attempt to drive in the cities of San Jose and Alajuela-very few street sgns and crazy traffic.There is very little to do here except read, swim and enjoy the scenery, walk, and chat with owners. They are both very accomadating. Jan will take you on private tours. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Liked — very clean, great owners, breakfast, met at airport
  • Disliked — isolated if no car
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#6 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas "El Colibri47"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas "El Colibri47"

Address: Villacares, lote # 47 | Turrúcares, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Colibri47 offers only 2 comfortable rooms in a quiet countryside of Turrúcares de Alajuela. Our location offers you an excellent start or end of your vacation if you like nature. We offer excellent value for your money by our unequalized service.The second option (may be the most important) is to offer quality trips for 1 to 4 people in a comfortable fullsize 4-WD, where we try to fill all your needs. Specializes in travel to the northern part of Costa Rica (Caño Negro, Río Celeste) and along the Cerro de la Muerte (Quetzal), but I can make trips to any places you like to visit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas "El Colibri47" Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas "El Colibri47", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.