We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   800 M NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Dawson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

After being up a 4 am to travel to CR this was a great little Inn to overnight before beginning my travels through the rest of the country.....Inn is clean, comfortable beds, great shower and very friendly owners were at the airport to meet my arrival. Breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs - made to order, juice, coffee and toast was lovely way to start my day.

There is a free computer for use of the guests as well as wi-fi throughout. Not much in the area as it is very residental but its only a $ 4 cab ride to go into the city of Alajuela that has a great square and market and dining options all withing walking distance. Cabs are all lined up at the square so its easy to return to the Inn. Lots of fresh air at the inn rather than being in the town or San Jose with the heat.

There is no pool or activities at the Inn so it is best for an overnight as it's only about 5 - 10 minutes from the airport.....with no planes flying overhead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Was a pleasure to serve. Thanks for your comment. This encourages us to continue working.

Sary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
24
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We were robbed by a taxi driver in San Jose so the Hotel's shuttle service was highly appreciated.

Room Tip: Chose a Hotel that offeres shuttle service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cute and clean little inn close to the airport. They were very accommodating and helped us order takeout when we arrived late at night. It was wonderful to have someone there who spoke excellent English and was able to answer our questions. There is a very nicely outfitted tiny breakfast room with a balcony, microwave, refrigerator, dishes,etc that we were welcome to use any time and the tap water is safe to drink. The family room was very pleasant and roomy with a nice bathroom, coffeemaker and air conditioner. We would stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit a Santa Maria Inn. it was a pleasure to serve.

Pura Vida,


Sary and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night due ro early miening flight. Taxi from airport $5-7 US. Gated secure small inn. Restaurants and parks within walking distance. Very basic but clean and most friendly. Will return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to serve them.


Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night at the Hotel Santa Maria Inn on the home leg of our trip to Costa Rica. Clean, comfortable and well located, we were able to get a good night's rest prior to the long flight home.

Recommended for an overnight stop either when arriving or departing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to serve them.

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Maria Inn three times during our 3 week trip to Costa Rica in December 2012 and January 2013. On arrival we were met at the airport and driven to the hotel, which was a very nice way to start our vacation. Rental car agencies are about 5 minutes from the hotel and they picked us up for our rental and dropped us back at the hotel afterwards. Breakfast is full service rather than the standard buffet style so let the staff know when you want to eat and any preferences you have. WIFI worked well but we did have to ask to get the router restarted once. We were also given a lot of good advice for places to visit once we asked about it. As I say in the title, if you need something just ask the helpful staff. The upstairs rooms are nicest and quietest. Everything was fresh and clean for each of our stays.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are a bit hesitant about getting that reliable taxi to a selected hotel when flying into San Jose, Costa Rica, chose Santa Maria Inn, because they will have a driver at the exit gate of the airport when you pass through customs with your name on it and take you straight to to this cute little hotel only about 10 minutes from the airport just outside of the town of Alajuela (the airport is not actually in San Jose). I felt secure and well looked after. The room I had, #7, was for a single person, plain, but with private bath, TV, and clean. In the morning you get the continental breakfast that was included on my Nov. 25, 2012 overnight stay -all for only $60 (and that included the shuttle service back to the airport). I had the chance to briefly meet the couple who run the small hotel (less than 10 rooms). All persons I came into contact with were very courteous and helpful. As you might expect, some understood English better than others, but communicating was really no problem. There's no restaurant within walking distance as you're not in the center of town, so get some food at the restaurant at the airport or bring some with you if you arrive around meal time.

Room Tip: Bring food or eat before you arrive around meal times as there are no restaurants within easy walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi:

Thanks for your valuable comments. We are here to serve you. We continue to improve the welfare of our guests. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Pura Vida. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Address: 800 M NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Maria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria Inn located just 5 minutes away from the SJO international Airport will bring you a night full of rest and relax after or before taking a long flight. Our staff will bring you a great service with an important free airport shuttle, to and from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Maria Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.