We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, near airport, superb service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Maria Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Maria Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   800 M NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value, near airport, superb service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are a bit hesitant about getting that reliable taxi to a selected hotel when flying into San Jose, Costa Rica, chose Santa Maria Inn, because they will have a driver at the exit gate of the airport when you pass through customs with your name on it and take you straight to to this cute little hotel only about 10 minutes from the airport just outside of the town of Alajuela (the airport is not actually in San Jose). I felt secure and well looked after. The room I had, #7, was for a single person, plain, but with private bath, TV, and clean. In the morning you get the continental breakfast that was included on my Nov. 25, 2012 overnight stay -all for only $60 (and that included the shuttle service back to the airport). I had the chance to briefly meet the couple who run the small hotel (less than 10 rooms). All persons I came into contact with were very courteous and helpful. As you might expect, some understood English better than others, but communicating was really no problem. There's no restaurant within walking distance as you're not in the center of town, so get some food at the restaurant at the airport or bring some with you if you arrive around meal time.

Room Tip: Bring food or eat before you arrive around meal times as there are no restaurants within easy walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi:

Thanks for your valuable comments. We are here to serve you. We continue to improve the welfare of our guests. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Pura Vida. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
22
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Hotel Santa Maria is pretty much as it is pictured. It is small, but clean and has everything you need. We chose it because we couldn't find a place that would allow us to bring out miniture poodle. But we had to keep it "in it's jail". Not gonna happen. They also request that you put the used toilet paper into the trash and not the toilet (NGH either). They do have a free shuttle both to and from the airport. Breakfast was as you ordered it. If you speak Spanish, that makes it easier. The room we had was also small, but clean. They would also drive you to a place for dinner, if you needed it. This was a good price with friendly people. Staff did speak English. Long term stays might be tight on space.

Room Tip: Our room had a queen bed that filled the room. Ask about the size and number of the bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hi:

We were first time from the US, and a bit nervous. The 4 workers (family owned) all treated us with great care. They picked us up twice @ the airport (for a 1 night stay).They speak good English, and all all super friendly.

Sincerely,
Dale & Karen Collins
From Crossville, TN

Room Tip: I don;t know about a fitness room or pool. We got in too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our flight got in late and fortunately the owners answered the bell at 1040pm. The room was functional and clean. The shower had very little flow, just a little blob of water coming out of the middle. IT was advertised that there was a breakfast from 7am to 10am. We got up at 7 and got ready to go. We had an early meeting in San Jose so at 8am we left. The owners were just getting up and made no offer to make us anything. We were the only guests so maybe they forgot we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi, Peter:

Your comments have been very valuable to us, thanks for your positive comments about our property. For the rest, take their opinions and we are always willing to improve.

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is very useful when you have to leave by plane. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There is a nice breakfast and free transfer to the airport. The room has WIFI. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi, my friends:

Thanks for your coments. Nice to meet you ! Pura Vida !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very friendly help with directions, etc. Staff took time to make sure I understood how to get to where I wanted to go. Place was clean and breakfast was good with a variety of food. I would highly recommend staying here. Linda

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi, my friends: Thanks for your coments. Santa Maria Inn is your house in Costa Rica. Pura Vida !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here our last night in Costa Rica...the proprietors were friendly, more than accommodating (they picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, and even took us to a local gas station when we need an ATM!). Make sure you have cash to pay for the room, and expect a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santamariainn, Propietario at Hotel Santa Maria Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi, Abigail:

Thanks for your response ! Nice to meet you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Maria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria Inn

Address: 800 M NE From the Pacific Gas Station, Rio Segundo de Alajuela, Costa Rica, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santa Maria Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria Inn located just 5 minutes away from the SJO international Airport will bring you a night full of rest and relax after or before taking a long flight. Our staff will bring you a great service with an important free airport shuttle, to and from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Maria Inn Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Maria Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.