We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family run hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
High River
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little family run hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Robledal early. Our room was not ready when we arrived but the friendly staff made an effort to ready it as soon as possible. We ate two lunches and a dinner in the restaurant, all of which were very good. Our flight did not leave until 6 pm the next day and for a reasonable fee we were allowed to keep our room until 3 pm. We spent the morning totally enjoying the nice pool. I think it is the cleanest pool I have ever seen and in fact the entire property is extremely well kept. There was a nice sitting area just outside the rooms. While the rooms are small
It is only required for sleeping. I would definitely recommend for staying before a flight.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    45
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
67
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Place looked nice, but I can't really say, because they gave away my room! I made a reservation and paid a booking fee several months in advance. Then we showed up here at dinner time with our kids (ages 3, 5, 8 and 10), tired from our trip and ready to just check-in and eat. But guess what- they had a big group show up earlier in the day, so they decided to give away our room!
They sent us off to another hotel (Dos Pinos, I think), about 15 minutes away. Dos Pinos had no restaurant on site and was located on a busy road where we had traffic noise all night.
The receptionist at Dos Pinos said this happens frequently because Robledal frequently overbooks and sends people away. You can give Robledal a try- it sure looks nice, but be prepared to be turned away at the door!
As Jerry Seinfeld said- "Anyone can just take the reservation... It's HOLDING the reservation that is the important part!"

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Kent G.

We are very sorry we were not able to accommodate you and your family after a long day of travel. Unfortunately yes, we experienced a water supply problem last week in one of our two room buildings during our high season. This meant we could only accommodate some of our guests as we fixed the problem, while to take responsibility for the reservations we already had. We do NOT just "turn our guests back to the road"

In this situation we provided two different alternatives for something that was out of our hands. We decided to either refund our guests in cash OR help them to find a room in another same-standard-hotel in the area and pay for their room.

For those who had already made previous arrangements, we were also able to provide transportation or set arrangements with car returns or shuttle pick up.

We are aware how unpleasant this kind of situations can be, especially when traveling with small children, that is why we are making sure this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Close to airport and town. Perfect pick-up service. Friendly staff. They have a nice backyard with all sorts of birds. Relaxing environment. All in all a very nice experience. Highly recomended for first nights in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Not too bad but more expensive than some of the other - better hotels that we stayed at. The rooms were clean and spacious but could use some updating. The food was good. We expected more for the money we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Perfect place to stay when you arrive late or fly out early from San Jose airport. They provide free shuttle to and from airport and it takes only 10 minutes. Staff are super friendly and helpful.

Rooms are ok and provide bare minimum. No safety vault. Our door did not close easily. Location is a bit remote from everything But is fine for a one night stay.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have lived in Costa Rica for 12 years and often need to stay at a hotel the night before I fly out of the country, since my home is 4 hours from the airport. I had heard of Hotel Robledal and decided to give it a try. I was THRILLED! The hotel, which is a very professionally family-run bed-and-breakfast is top-notch in comfort, convenience, and customer service. My 6-year old was thrilled that there was a small pool and garden to explore, and I was grateful for a quiet and good night's sleep - unusual when staying at a hotel close to the airport. Not only did I leave my car there for a week, they also offered to pick me up from the airport when we flew back to Costa Rica so that we could easily begin our travels back to Monteverde.
They do have a restaurant on site - we left too early to enjoy their full breakfast but appreciated having a substantial bag breakfast prepared for us. We did eat dinner the evening before, however. The quality was good but just note - the pricing was more expensive than I had anticipated. That said, if you don't have a car the convenience alone of not having to leave the property would be worth the extra you end up paying.
We will definitely consider Hotel Robledal for our future airport stays and will definitely recommend it to friends/family too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here our first night in Costa Rica and our last night. It's very convenient to the airport and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable. When we arrived after a long three days of river rafting, the kitchen had closed 10 minutes before, but they opened it up again to feed us a terrific dinner. It hit the spot.

The morning we left there was a large group of English bird watchers there. Before breakfast, they'd gone to the backyard and helped us spot all sorts of interesting birds, including a tiny owl.

Turns out this is a Tico owned place. The three young men who seemed to be in charge, looked similar to me and it turns out they are all brothers and their parents own the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.