We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

has to be one of the nicest families in costa rica. always on time for drop offs and pick ups. hotel is gated and safe. any need you have they will try to make it happen for you. we have done tours and a five day road trip with emannuel and it simply could have not been better. they will watch over you with where to stay, eat, and guide you with a fair cost of things. for costa rica standards you will be pleasantly pleased at this little hideaway. we have toured the whole pacific coast and always have to spend a couple of nights to unwind before heading back to florida. you arrive a tourist and leave a friend. it is nice to be liked when your out of the u.s. thanks, vinton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    44
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
66
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

When I called this hotel to let them know I was ready for pick up, I was told a van would be there in ten mins and sure enough, that van was there. The driver was very nice, friendly and helpful. He asked us if we had eaten dinner and when we said no, he said our kitchen is close but let me see what we can do for you. We arrived and before we could get our luggage totally out of the van, the kitchen's light were on. We gave our order and dinner was prepared and service as soon as we returned. Home cooked, hot and good. This family owned place is almost too family in a good way. We felt welcome and treated like family. While we stayed less than 24 hours, our short stay was perfect for us. Hearing different noise is expected when you enter a tropical land and while some high priced franchised hotel might have provided some Americanized great location, we rather stay local which turned out to be very nice which was better than great!

Room Tip: If your looking for the Marriott than stay there, but if you want something Americanized then stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night upon arrival in Costa Rica. The shuttle service was prompt even though our flight was over an hour late landing. The staff was very friendly. The grounds were very clean. It was conveniently located close to the airport. It was exactly what we were looking for, an affordable place to stay for a night before traveling to other parts of the country.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night. Room too small, only 1 straight chair, and door scrapes on floor. Not enough towels, bathroom tiny and beds hard. Dining room service terrible but food is OK. The shuttle works well. No business office to print boarding passes. Roosters crow all night and planes fly very close on takeoff and approach. There are much better choices!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Frank,

We are sorry that you qualify our service as awful, speacially after our shuttle service waited more than one hour on the pick up location.

We offer standard rooms with an area of 280 sq feet. Door scrapes a little on the floor because they have an anti bug band to avoid having them inside the rooms, however doors can be opened or closed without any problems.

We always are able to offer as many towels as our guests needs. Bathroom towels or swimming pool towels can be requested at our front desk, as indicated in our room directory.

"No bussiness office to print boarding passes", We offer printing service at our front desk, as you were able to get your 6 copies for boarding passes for all your flights.

We appreciate critics when they are based on objective and well sustained reasons, but it seemed everything was wrong at the hotel, and yet we did not received any complains while you stayed with us, we even though you were very satisfied all the time, as our staff members were tipped (including the restaurant waiter)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way in and out of Costa Rica. The shuttle service was great and efficient. The hospitality of the family that runs this place is unmatched! Our flight got delayed several hours upon arrival, so when we showed up the kitchen had just closed. They agreed to open it back up and cook us an amazing meal with very fresh fish. Nice garden surrounding grounds and even a large field nearby where my buddy and I threw the Frisbee. Why stay in some corporate owned hotel near the airport when you could support a local hotel that has it all! I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Robledal one night before returning home recently. Everyone is very friendly and the food was good. The airport shuttle was a great convenience and one of the reasons we chose this place. The room was ok, but the beds much too hard for our comfort. There was no hot water at the sink in the bathroom, but for one night it was not really a problem. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there before our return flight to home. We were really satisfied with the people, service etc. Room is nice, clean, comfortable beds, you find everything what you need. Nice swimming pool, unfortunately it was rain when we were there so we didn´t try it. In the evening we relized that we can have a dinner so it was a big disapointment for us as we had already had the dinner in restaurant. So, maybe it would be good to give this information to your website as you mention there that your restaurant is open only for lunch!!!The shuttle servise to the airport was perfect and in time. As we left the hotel at five in the morning they gave us some sandwiches and bananas. So nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.