We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roosters crow all night, too near flight path and service awful.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Ottawa, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Roosters crow all night, too near flight path and service awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night. Room too small, only 1 straight chair, and door scrapes on floor. Not enough towels, bathroom tiny and beds hard. Dining room service terrible but food is OK. The shuttle works well. No business office to print boarding passes. Roosters crow all night and planes fly very close on takeoff and approach. There are much better choices!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Frank,

We are sorry that you qualify our service as awful, speacially after our shuttle service waited more than one hour on the pick up location.

We offer standard rooms with an area of 280 sq feet. Door scrapes a little on the floor because they have an anti bug band to avoid having them inside the rooms, however doors can be opened or closed without any problems.

We always are able to offer as many towels as our guests needs. Bathroom towels or swimming pool towels can be requested at our front desk, as indicated in our room directory.

"No bussiness office to print boarding passes", We offer printing service at our front desk, as you were able to get your 6 copies for boarding passes for all your flights.

We appreciate critics when they are based on objective and well sustained reasons, but it seemed everything was wrong at the hotel, and yet we did not received any complains while you stayed with us, we even though you were very satisfied all the time, as our staff members were tipped (including the restaurant waiter)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    44
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
66
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way in and out of Costa Rica. The shuttle service was great and efficient. The hospitality of the family that runs this place is unmatched! Our flight got delayed several hours upon arrival, so when we showed up the kitchen had just closed. They agreed to open it back up and cook us an amazing meal with very fresh fish. Nice garden surrounding grounds and even a large field nearby where my buddy and I threw the Frisbee. Why stay in some corporate owned hotel near the airport when you could support a local hotel that has it all! I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Robledal one night before returning home recently. Everyone is very friendly and the food was good. The airport shuttle was a great convenience and one of the reasons we chose this place. The room was ok, but the beds much too hard for our comfort. There was no hot water at the sink in the bathroom, but for one night it was not really a problem. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there before our return flight to home. We were really satisfied with the people, service etc. Room is nice, clean, comfortable beds, you find everything what you need. Nice swimming pool, unfortunately it was rain when we were there so we didn´t try it. In the evening we relized that we can have a dinner so it was a big disapointment for us as we had already had the dinner in restaurant. So, maybe it would be good to give this information to your website as you mention there that your restaurant is open only for lunch!!!The shuttle servise to the airport was perfect and in time. As we left the hotel at five in the morning they gave us some sandwiches and bananas. So nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

pros: staff was friendly, the ac worked and it was close to the airport.
cons: bare light bulbs and some that didn't work, loud bath fan, small beds, found bugs in the room, depressing and dark room (#16).

if we hadn't found the bugs, we would have found this fine for our purposes as an overnight before an early flight.
i would not advise anyone I know to stay here. it's more suited to hostel type of travelers.

Room Tip: Don't get room #16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Silverfilings,

We are sorry that your experience in our hotel was not satisfactory.

Regarding to this room, as all others, it has black-out curtains so our guests can have a good sleep in a dark quiet room during the day, but it can be also very bright when curtains are open, All our rooms have a front large window.

Our beds are full-size, and that is what we advertise. Regarding to light bulbs, we always keep spares, and they are replace immediately as reported. This kind of issues can be fix immediately or we can provide a different room, please head to our staff when this happens.

Bugs (little beetles or ants) sometimes are found around the common areas during the beginning of the rainy season, (May-June) since our hotel is open to the gardens and this is a tropical country. That is why we recommend to have always doors and windows closed, but the truth is we have minimal issues with insects.

Our visitors from all over the world are mostly families, and honeymoon couples. The atmosphere at our hotel is clean, natural and very family-oriented.

Regards,

Josue Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here coming in and going out of San Jose airport. The hotel is small and operated by a family. Breakfast is included and they have a great menu and food for dinner. We were picked up by personal shuttle and returned to the airport, which is about 10 minutes away.

We had a basic room, 2 beds. The room was clean, the hotel was quiet. Most of all the family was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We didn't have time to use the pool or take the bird watching tour across the street. Consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This friendly, family run hotel is a great alternative to the massive American style hotels. The convenience of the shuttle service and the great breakfasts make Hotel Robledal a perfect place to start and end your Costa Rica trip if flying in and out of SJO. The three brothers who run the hotel are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We look forward to a future stay with them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.