We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good choice"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Good choice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed there before our return flight to home. We were really satisfied with the people, service etc. Room is nice, clean, comfortable beds, you find everything what you need. Nice swimming pool, unfortunately it was rain when we were there so we didn´t try it. In the evening we relized that we can have a dinner so it was a big disapointment for us as we had already had the dinner in restaurant. So, maybe it would be good to give this information to your website as you mention there that your restaurant is open only for lunch!!!The shuttle servise to the airport was perfect and in time. As we left the hotel at five in the morning they gave us some sandwiches and bananas. So nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
68
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

pros: staff was friendly, the ac worked and it was close to the airport.
cons: bare light bulbs and some that didn't work, loud bath fan, small beds, found bugs in the room, depressing and dark room (#16).

if we hadn't found the bugs, we would have found this fine for our purposes as an overnight before an early flight.
i would not advise anyone I know to stay here. it's more suited to hostel type of travelers.

Room Tip: Don't get room #16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Silverfilings,

We are sorry that your experience in our hotel was not satisfactory.

Regarding to this room, as all others, it has black-out curtains so our guests can have a good sleep in a dark quiet room during the day, but it can be also very bright when curtains are open, All our rooms have a front large window.

Our beds are full-size, and that is what we advertise. Regarding to light bulbs, we always keep spares, and they are replace immediately as reported. This kind of issues can be fix immediately or we can provide a different room, please head to our staff when this happens.

Bugs (little beetles or ants) sometimes are found around the common areas during the beginning of the rainy season, (May-June) since our hotel is open to the gardens and this is a tropical country. That is why we recommend to have always doors and windows closed, but the truth is we have minimal issues with insects.

Our visitors from all over the world are mostly families, and honeymoon couples. The atmosphere at our hotel is clean, natural and very family-oriented.

Regards,

Josue Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here coming in and going out of San Jose airport. The hotel is small and operated by a family. Breakfast is included and they have a great menu and food for dinner. We were picked up by personal shuttle and returned to the airport, which is about 10 minutes away.

We had a basic room, 2 beds. The room was clean, the hotel was quiet. Most of all the family was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We didn't have time to use the pool or take the bird watching tour across the street. Consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This friendly, family run hotel is a great alternative to the massive American style hotels. The convenience of the shuttle service and the great breakfasts make Hotel Robledal a perfect place to start and end your Costa Rica trip if flying in and out of SJO. The three brothers who run the hotel are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We look forward to a future stay with them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed here on both ends of our recent Costa Rica vacation. We found the owners to be extremely friendly, professional and helpful. We had the pleasure of enjoying several breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner and they were all wonderful. The grounds and pool were very nice and well kept and the rooms had everything we needed. Emanuel provided lots of ideas for activies on our route to Dominical as well as things to do near San Jose. A great experience and we will return on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Robledal is a pleasant family run hotel in a relatively quiet part of town about 10 – 15 minutes from the airport. We were met at the airport by Emanuel who drove us to the hotel, checked us in and showed us to our roomand pointed out some of the birds on site. All of the staff we encountered were helpful and personable - you get the feeling that they really care about their guests. We booked two birding tours with Emanuel - one to a natural area across town another to the farm across the street. Emanuel is passionate birder who is happy to share his knowledge and love of nature with hotel guests.

The hotel is gated and there were no issues with security. The property is nicely laid-out. There is a small pool and an open air restaurant. Food selection is limited, but servings are large and the food is tasty. Wine and beer are available at the restaurant bar. Our room was not fancy but it was comfortable and spacious (we had 3 beds).
My only complaint is that the air conditioning was loud. I prefer to open windows and make use of cross ventilation where possible, but the layout of our room and position of windows did not allow for that.

All and all, a nice way to begin and end our trip to Costa Rica. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this nice, friendly little hotel when we arrived in Costa Rica. Unfortunately we arrived just too late to pick up the shuttle from the airport, but it was a relatively short taxi ride and we had a warm welcome on arrival. The room was comfortable, although the fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy.

Manuel kindly tok my husband off birdwatching when he woke extremely early (on UK time!) then we were able to pay him to take us into San Jose for the day. We intrepidly found our way back on the bus!

A very friendly experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.