We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Bookend Your CR Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Bookend Your CR Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This friendly, family run hotel is a great alternative to the massive American style hotels. The convenience of the shuttle service and the great breakfasts make Hotel Robledal a perfect place to start and end your Costa Rica trip if flying in and out of SJO. The three brothers who run the hotel are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. We look forward to a future stay with them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    41
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
55
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed here on both ends of our recent Costa Rica vacation. We found the owners to be extremely friendly, professional and helpful. We had the pleasure of enjoying several breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner and they were all wonderful. The grounds and pool were very nice and well kept and the rooms had everything we needed. Emanuel provided lots of ideas for activies on our route to Dominical as well as things to do near San Jose. A great experience and we will return on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Robledal is a pleasant family run hotel in a relatively quiet part of town about 10 – 15 minutes from the airport. We were met at the airport by Emanuel who drove us to the hotel, checked us in and showed us to our roomand pointed out some of the birds on site. All of the staff we encountered were helpful and personable - you get the feeling that they really care about their guests. We booked two birding tours with Emanuel - one to a natural area across town another to the farm across the street. Emanuel is passionate birder who is happy to share his knowledge and love of nature with hotel guests.

The hotel is gated and there were no issues with security. The property is nicely laid-out. There is a small pool and an open air restaurant. Food selection is limited, but servings are large and the food is tasty. Wine and beer are available at the restaurant bar. Our room was not fancy but it was comfortable and spacious (we had 3 beds).
My only complaint is that the air conditioning was loud. I prefer to open windows and make use of cross ventilation where possible, but the layout of our room and position of windows did not allow for that.

All and all, a nice way to begin and end our trip to Costa Rica. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this nice, friendly little hotel when we arrived in Costa Rica. Unfortunately we arrived just too late to pick up the shuttle from the airport, but it was a relatively short taxi ride and we had a warm welcome on arrival. The room was comfortable, although the fan in the bathroom was extremely noisy.

Manuel kindly tok my husband off birdwatching when he woke extremely early (on UK time!) then we were able to pay him to take us into San Jose for the day. We intrepidly found our way back on the bus!

A very friendly experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect after reading reviews but we booked for both ends of our trip We could not find the shuttle when we arrived and several drivers offered to assist us. We were a little nervous about this but one of the drivers called the hotel and the driver showed up a few minutes later. The driver was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room. It was not a balcony room as requested but we didn't care. They offered us beers on arrival. The room was basic and clean. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit, eggs, rice and beans. The grounds were beautiful, flowers everywhere. The pool was refreshing. We returned on a Sunday and they let us check in early. They helped order a pizza and sold us some beers as the restaurant was closed. It was fairly cool and I was looking forward to the hot tub but it was cold. We had hoped to use the computer to check our flights but they said they could only call for us but did not have the number. We had a very early flight and a very pleasant man came out to meet us in the dark and was ready with a smile on his face. Very friendly and interesting people, we would return.

Room Tip: Balcony over pool looked nice but you get what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Non-chain, family-owned Costa Rican (read: non-US-style) hotel with lovely lush grounds, calming feel, incredibly helpful and friendly staff that at the same time are not at all pushy. We got in late and hungry (restaurant long closed) and they ordered pizzas for us. I left my husband's meds on the plane, and one of the brothers took me to the local pharmacy the next morning and helped with translation to get refills. The main staff speak great English. Wonderful little open-air restaurant, where the kitchen has specific hours, but they will get you drinks or bar drinks or coffee or ice cream I suspect anytime. Great little pool has beautiful blue tile and a waterfall, and a shallow end with stairs not too deep for my 6yo to stand in. The kids chased butterflies and birds and lizards all around. It's not "in town", but it's a great place to stage-for or wrap-up an adventure--the large rooms make re-packing easy. We stayed there first night in and last night out, and it was a great decision.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Terri,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit in our hotel...! Our goal is that every single guest have a real Costa Rica's experience with an excellent service.

Thank you for your comments!

Josue Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel Robledal was a good fit for our first night in Costa Rica. We had a very friendly pick-up at the airport and drop off at our car rental place. Our room was decent, pretty generic, and we slept well. The next day we had a splendid included breakfast. Service was friendly and helpful at all times. We didn't have time, unfortunately, to make use of their relaxing looking pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.