We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel Robledal was a good fit for our first night in Costa Rica. We had a very friendly pick-up at the airport and drop off at our car rental place. Our room was decent, pretty generic, and we slept well. The next day we had a splendid included breakfast. Service was friendly and helpful at all times. We didn't have time, unfortunately, to make use of their relaxing looking pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
68
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heridia, CR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Quiet. Away from tourist areas. Good place to spend a few days reading, enjoying the weather, and laying out at the pool.
Food is great and reasonable. I eat there regurlarly.
They offer tours to points of interest.
Staff speaks English.

Room Tip: Have not stayed overnight there but have seen the rooms. Nice and clean. I eat lunch there often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My son and I stayed at Hotel Robledal our first night in Costa Rica and then our last. This family and their staff are amazingly kind and their hotel is perfectly situated to launch and end a Costa Rica adventure if you are flying in and out of San Jose. It is top notch all the way around - the rooms, the service, the breakfast, the dinners, the shuttle. Getting there our first night, in the dark, with a rental car was quite an adventure - as you drive through the narrow motorcycle and bike filled dark bumpy streets past the factories, little shops and houses you may wonder "am I going the right way?" or as my son said at one point "Mom, were those Trip Advisor reviews from 8 years ago?". But then you see the beautiful hotel sign, pull in, and it is a slice of silent heaven after a day of travel. We got in late but they had put aside a couple of delicious salads for us and boy did that taste great. Then, the next day they assisted us in determining the best route to take up to Monterverde, including stops at the fruit stands along the new toll Highway 27 (this is a much better option that CI 1. After 2 1/2 weeks of travel Costa Rica it was great to know we would end our trip at Robledal, with their restaurant, shuttle, and friendly service. Just note, when you come back into Alajuela on Highway 27, follow Robledal's driving instructions! If you miss the exit, you'll find yourself taking a tour of San Jose, which on a Friday afternoon during rush hour shows you a wholel different side of Costa Rica (a whole other story)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Robledal was a welcome oasis of calm and tranquillity after the hustle and bustle of Alajuela! We had decided to have a day and night of relaxation before flying back to the UK and could not have chosen a better place to do it. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with a small swimming pool, complete with little waterfall and the grounds are well maintained and very pretty. The room was large, with a king size bed and two singles (we had the last available room). It had a nice shower with plenty of hot water (although in common with most sinks in Costa Rica) only cold in wash basin. The room was very clean and the bed lining and hand towels pristine. An added bonus was the onsite restaurant (substantial breakfast included in price) where you could also have a really good evening meal (the fillet of Red Snapper was gorgeous). You can also have lunch if you fancy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and it helped that a lot could speak very good English!
We can really recommend this hotel as a stop when flying in or out of San Jose (only some 6km away) or even as a base to explore the immediate area. We are really glad to have used Trip Advisor to find this gem.

Room Tip: Book early as it is obviously popular! You may not want the extra beds! We did have very effective a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Gerente at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your kind comments...! We hope to have you as our guest soon...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Quiet location. One downside was bathroom light was broken so we had to have the very noisy light/fan combination on if we wanted light. We were assured it would be fixed the next day but were only staying the one night. The front desk staff was very friendly. Typical short stay hotel, very close to airport with airport transfer included. Located in a subdivision of Alajuela and gated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for our last night before flying home at Hotel Robledal. The staff was some of the friendliest we had encountered on our trip to Costa Rica.
The food was a great price and more than delicious! We enjoyed an amazing lunch ( that local business workers also come to enjoy) a beautiful dinner and a wonderful breakfast the next morning (which was included)
We arrived early in the day and arranged with one of the family members running the hotel ( i feel horrible that i cant remember his name) to go to a local souvenir factory which was good. He was so awesome showing us around the grounds at the various flowers and plants. Very client oriented!
The room was very large and exceptionally clean! The beds a little hard, as we found all over Costa Rica.
We will be staying here again when we bring our kids in December. Excellent hotel that I can not recommend enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Hotel Robledal on our last night of our 3rd trip to Costa Rica. We decided to avoid the chain hotels by the airport this time and patronize a local business. Unfortunately, we arrived later than we had expected but the owners of the hotel were waiting for us with a shuttle from the car rental agency. They also kept their restaurant open for us more than 2 hours past closing time so we were able to enjoy a wonderful meal in the open air restaurant. The next morning we had to leave very early to catch our plane and our driver was smiling as he drove the short distance to the airport. He even gave us each a breakfast to go so we had something to eat at the airport!
The flowers and grounds were immaculate and we felt like we were in a private oasis in the city!
We will definitely stay at Hotel Robledal again! I wish every hotel was as service oriented as this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.