We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Hotel Robledal on our last night of our 3rd trip to Costa Rica. We decided to avoid the chain hotels by the airport this time and patronize a local business. Unfortunately, we arrived later than we had expected but the owners of the hotel were waiting for us with a shuttle from the car rental agency. They also kept their restaurant open for us more than 2 hours past closing time so we were able to enjoy a wonderful meal in the open air restaurant. The next morning we had to leave very early to catch our plane and our driver was smiling as he drove the short distance to the airport. He even gave us each a breakfast to go so we had something to eat at the airport!
The flowers and grounds were immaculate and we felt like we were in a private oasis in the city!
We will definitely stay at Hotel Robledal again! I wish every hotel was as service oriented as this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    43
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
65
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the hotel at the start of our vacation in January. The three brothers who run the Robledal are very friendly and helpful. By chance, we found out the Emanuel is a skilled birdwatcher and he walked us around the property looking for birds of interest. The following day we took an excellent personalized three hour birding outing with him to the local countryside. He proved to be a very good guide with a lot of knowledge of the birds and their habitats. Emanuel also offers an day tour to Poas Volcano.

The hotel features an "executive lunch", for about $8.00. It includes very generous servings of your choice of meat, and well prepared rice, beans, and salad. A tasty fruit drink and dessert are included. It is a favorite lunch stop of the local business community.

This is a nice place to stay when you want to be close to the airport. There is some air traffic noise, but it is quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days upon our arrival in Costa Rica in December 2012 and for one day in January 2013 just before we flew home. It is a very neat and clean family-run establishment close to the airport with a free shuttle both arriving and leaving. The staff are very friendly and answered any questions we had. Breakfast is included in the price and we also had dinner at the hotel which was very good. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool which is well maintained. As we didn't have a car it was a little awkward getting around the area although there is a bus to downtown Alajuela (not much of interest to see or do there though). However, with a car it would be an excellent base from which to explore. The staff could use a little training in making out the bill as we noticed some problems with the arithmetic. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it for staying in the area for a short time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

. We just finished a fantastic breakfast at Hotel Robledal. A beautiful, serene finale to our second vacation in Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

The staff is very friendly, provides transportation between the hotel and airport and are very meticulous in caring for guests and the beautiful gardens of this property. Thanks again for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We started and ended our stay in Costa Rica at Hotel Robledal. It is near the airport and has a free airport shuttle both ways. The people were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and nice-sized. The kids had a good time in the swimming pool and we enjoyed the breakfast that was included. I would highly recommend this as a starting and ending point to a Costa Rica vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This sounds like the same review of this hotel I did a few years ago. I just love this hotel and I really like it when I am greeted by name as I arrive. This is still my home away from home. A a nice family run establishment and they ACTUALLY care about you. I would love hot water at the vanity sinks but other services and smiles make up for that!! Don't hesitate...just stay there...you will like it.

Room Tip: twin double beds are in the rear building....other rooms are smaller with one double bed. WIFI work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The brothers that run this hotel are all very very kind and helpful. The beds may not be the most comfortable plush things on earth but the customer service is amazing. The food is very good and certainly their casados are some of the best I had in Costa Rica. All the ingredients are super fresh and the cook knows what she is doing! They have a shuttle to and from the airport and can drop you other places if you need. This is a good base of operations for your San Jose area needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.