We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th time "A charm" again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Uvita, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“7th time "A charm" again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This sounds like the same review of this hotel I did a few years ago. I just love this hotel and I really like it when I am greeted by name as I arrive. This is still my home away from home. A a nice family run establishment and they ACTUALLY care about you. I would love hot water at the vanity sinks but other services and smiles make up for that!! Don't hesitate...just stay there...you will like it.

Room Tip: twin double beds are in the rear building....other rooms are smaller with one double bed. WIFI work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    42
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
64
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The brothers that run this hotel are all very very kind and helpful. The beds may not be the most comfortable plush things on earth but the customer service is amazing. The food is very good and certainly their casados are some of the best I had in Costa Rica. All the ingredients are super fresh and the cook knows what she is doing! They have a shuttle to and from the airport and can drop you other places if you need. This is a good base of operations for your San Jose area needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Run by a lovely family who are highly professional and very friendly. Good size rooms, well appointed, and lovely grounds and swimming pool. A very good full breakfast is included in the rate, as well as shuttle transfers from the airport. Overall hands down the best hotel I have found in the area and far superior to any others in the same, or sometimes even a higher, price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooding, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Robledal because of the price, and proxmity to the airport. I had read the reviews and I was not dissapointed. The rooms were not fancy, but they were clean and comfortable. Resturant was very nice and peaceful. Grounds and pool are beautiful. Now I need to tell you the best thing about the place, the people. Manual (hope I spelled it right) is the nicest guy you will ever meet. We flew in late Sunday night and rented a car at an off sight car rental place (another story). We had the car rental place call Manual and he came to the place and lead us to the Hotel. Then, because the resturant was closed, he ordered pizza delivered for us and let us eat it in the resturant. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast and Manual gave us a hand drawn map and suggestions of sights and tours around Quepos, which is where we were staying. We booked a room for the following week for the night before our flight out. When we returned, Manual picked us up from the car rental place after we returned our car. We arranged to have him shuttle us to the airport at 4:45 am the next morning. He was promptly waiting for us and even gave us a basket of goodies to eat on the way to the airport. All of the staff was very, very, kind and helpful. If we ever return to Costa Rica, we are sure to stay at the Hotel Robledal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was a little tricky to find if you are driving, but that was just the chaos of San Jose traffic:)

Once we found it this little oasis - our evening was fabulous. Kids jumped into the nice pool, we walked around the property and took in the lovely gardens. Which will be expanding to include an organic farm and more plantings to attract birds and other animals.

We had two rooms for 9 people (2 adults 3 kids 13, 8, 6 and 2 adults 2 kids 13, 12) - 4 people in a room no problem 5 people a bit tight (Jozue at the desk warned us) but it was one night and it was not a big deal with small kids.

Our only complaint is the mattresses could use replacing - but for a one night stay it was fine enough.

There are stores that are walking distance - road is well travelled so just be careful. We ate dinner at the hotel and the meal was good as was the service.

Breakfast was excellent!

After breakfast we got a private little nature tour of the property THANK YOU!!

Finally for our trip to Samara the staff gave us a recommendation to have lunch at Mi Finca - a wonderful restaurant with a nice surprise for bird lovers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel Robledal's staff was very accomodating. Everyone was polite, helpful and went an extra mile to make sure our stay was pleasant and relaxing. It's located about 20 mins. from downtown San Jose and shuttle service is available.

This hotel is close to the aipport, offers breakfast, free airport shuttle, swimming pool, free wifi and very clean rooms!!!

We had an early white water rafting trip with a shuttle pick up at 5 a.m. and the staff even prepared us a to go breakfast =) We truly enjoyed our stay in Hotel Robledal!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you! We are glad you had a pleasant stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We also chose this small hotel from the reviews on TripAdvisor, and we agree with the reviews. Clean and comfortable, with a really tasty breakfast. Best of all, and most important, the people who work there are amazing! They were very helpful with travel tips and advice. But, one story may help to illustrate this better than any other.... As we were getting ready to depart, I was paying our bill, and left my credit card at the desk by accident. I didn't realize my mistake until we had landed in Puerto Jimenez later that day. Fearing the worst, I frantically called VISA from our next stop 24 hours later to put a hold on the card, but found that there were no other charges. In fact, after calling back to Hotel Robledal, they patiently made arrangements for my card to be flown via Sansa the next day to Jimenez, where our hosts found it and delivered it to us! My opinions about the goodness of people in general, and of Ticos in particular, were never higher than during this trip! Thank you, Hotel Robledal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.