We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great first night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Let me start by telling you this was our first international trip with my husband's extended family- 9 people in total including a 12 year old and not 1, but 2- 15 month old girls (twins)...we were a bit nervous. This hotel set the tone for our vacation! From the complimentary pick up at the airport, car rental shop and grocery store, to the delicious breakfast, the GORGEOUS grounds; everything was absolutely fabulous about Hotel Robledal. The hotel is family owned this family cares about their business, their country and their guests. The grounds and rooms were immaculate and always being cleaned. Showers had hot water which we learned isn't always available in CR. The staff showed us around back of the hotel which included some plants they are growing to sustain the environment and some super awesome caterpillars! The kids loved it. On top of all of that-- they have a pack-in-play (think portable baby crib)- which they let us use for free! Only warning-- beds are a little hard--but not terrible and the goods definitely outweighed this. We will absolutely be back anytime we fly into SJO, this is a great place to stay the night before you head out to explore the beautiful country of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you Nichole for your nice comments! Hope to see you and your beautiful family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    44
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
66
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

So glad we selected this place. No issues whatsoever transferring from the airport to the hotel.... Emmanuel was right where he said he would be and brought us back to the hotel. Enjoyed a wonderful breakfast the following morning and then Emmanuel gave us a little tour of the garden area and we learned a little about Costa Rican nature/wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent from the start. They emailed a follow up to make sure their shuttle had the right flight arrival info and it was great from that point forward. Very pleasant rooms with just the right amenities, outstanding staff...from the shuttle driver to the desk attendent to the wait staff, and an evening meal that rivaled the best European 5 star restaurant. This is definitely the hotel we will use on future visits to Costa Rica. Oh and yes, the price was right!!!

Room Tip: They're all good........I said in the single story section and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family of 4, 2 adults, 2 teenage girls, stayed here our last night in Costa Rica. We had a slight communication problem with the owners picking us up from the airport - we had taken public transportation from Arenal to San Jose and I could not communicate that we were at the bus terminal so we ended up taking a cab. The cab ride was 5.00. The place itself is very nice, nice grounds, nice pool, decent size rooms. Once you are on the grounds - you don't leave - we came in late afternoon and the town of Alajuela was starting to look a little scary. We went to there bar - ice cold Imperial and dinner was available at 6:00. The dinner was awesome - bascially Piscado Casado - yum. Our room was ok, not overly clean but ok and beds were ok as well. The pool was nice to lounge by before our flight. The breakfast was really good. They did take us to the airport for our flight out and the driver was very knowlegable about Costa Rica and the area. Overall, nice family run business that is very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Depending on who answers the phone, being able to speak some Spanish is good to be able to communica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a very peaceful spot, with a great garden, nice pool area, and excellent service. The restaurant serves tasty and plentiful dishes for a fair price, and the staff are very helpful with tours, transport, currency exchange, etc.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent a relaxing last day only 10 minutes from the airport at this nice new hotel. My wife was not feeling well and wanted some chicken soup, but did not want hot spices in it. The chef made it to order just for her and it was the best either of us had ever tasted. Without hot spices, it was incredibly flavorful, with lots of tender chicken. Rooms were great with comfortable beds and a very quiet a/c system that allowed us to sleep undisturbed. Also, most rooms were ground floor, which meant no one clomping around above us at any time.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the garden level with no room over us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My daughter and I arrived from New York later than expected in San Jose and Emmanuel was there to greet us. The ride to the hotel was easy and quick in a lovely air conditioned van. We had previously scheduled 3 days in Alajuela visiting the sites with Emmanuel as our guide. We had a wonderful and interesting time. We traveled to the Zoo, Poas Volcano, Butterfly Farm, and the Doka Coffee Plantation. Each day with Emmanuel was a great learning experience with the three of us speaking Spanish as much as possible and English when necessary. My daughter and I were delighted to practice our Spanish and Emmanuel taught us about the country side, the history, and many details about the plants and animals.

Hotel Robledal was clean, spacious, and lovely. The breakfasts were a terrific way start to the day and we took advantage of the pool in the late afternoon.

Thank you Emmanuel and all the people at Hotel Robledal for a great visit in Alajuela.
Susan Sadowski - Madison, Connecticut

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you Mrs. Sadowski...!

We hope to have you in our hotel very soon!

Pura Vida,

Emmanuel Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.